Latinx Book Club: June’s Book Club Pick

The Latinx Book Club is an online Twitter-based book club, dedicated to reading and boosting Latinx voices. Each month, with the help of readers, we choose a book by a Latinx author to read together. If you haven’t followed us on Twitter yet, you can do so here: @Latinxbookclub. We are also on Instagram: @Latinxbkclub. The Latinx Book Club team members are:

Cande @ Latinx Magic

Carolina @ Santana Reads

Dani @ Metamorphoreader

Jocelyn @ Yogi with a Book

Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess

And me!

We’ve been reading Lilliam Rivera’s Dealing in Dreams this month. You are always free to join. Discussion questions are posted every Friday. All info related to this month’s book club pick can be found on our Twitter, but if you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask. Today we are please to announce June’s book club pick…

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia! We are so happy to have this one coincide with Pride month. I read this one earlier this year and fell so hard for the characters. I can’t wait for everyone to meet them. Book info is listed below. We will be starting our readalong June 1st, but feel free to read at your own pace. We will be using the hashtag #Latinxbookclub all month long and encourage you to do so as well. We hope you can join us for our June book club pick. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me here or on our Twitter account. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Title: We Set the Dark on Fire
Author: Tehlor Kay Mejia
Series: N/A
Pages: 336
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: February 26th 2019

      “In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.
    At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.
      Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.
      And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.
      Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?”

Will you be joining the Latinx Book Club in June? Have you read this book yet? Let’s talk in the comments!

Advertisements

Latinx Book Club: May’s Book Club Pick

The Latinx Book Club is an online Twitter-based book club, dedicated to reading and boosting Latinx voices. Each month, with the help of readers, we choose a book by a Latinx author to read together. If you haven’t followed us on Twitter yet, you can do so here: @Latinxbookclub. The Latinx Book Club team members are:

Cande @ Latinx Magic

Carolina @ Santana Reads

Dani @ Metamorphoreader

Jocelyn @ Yogi with a Book

Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess

And me!

We’ve had such a fun time reading The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes. There is still time to join if you haven’t done so! All info related to this month’s book club pick and discussions can be found on our Twitter, but if you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask. Today we are please to announce May’s book club pick…

Dealing in Dreams by Lilliam Rivera! I had the pleasure of reading this one earlier this year, but it’s one of those novels that I wish I had someone to talk about with. There is so much I need to discuss! Book info is listed below. We will be starting our readalong May 1st, but feel free to read at your own pace. We will be using the hashtag #Latinxbookclub all month long and encourage you to do so as well. We hope you can join us for our May book club pick. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me here or on our Twitter account. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Title: Dealing in Dreams
Author: Lilliam Rivera
Series: N/A
Pages: 336
Publisher: Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 5th 2019

      “At night, Las Mal Criadas own these streets.
    Nalah leads the fiercest all-girl crew in Mega City. That roles brings with it violent throw downs and access to the hottest boydega clubs, but the sixteen-year-old grows weary of the life. Her dream is to get off the streets and make a home in the exclusive Mega Towers, in which only a chosen few get to live. To make it to the Mega towers, Nalah must prove her loyalty to the city’s benevolent founder and cross the border in a search for a mysterious gang the Ashé Ryders. Led by a reluctant guide, Nalah battles other crews and her own doubts, but the closer she gets to her goal, the more she loses sight of everything—and everyone— she cares about.
      Nalah must do the unspeakable to get what she wants—a place to call home. But is a home just where you live? Or who you choose to protect?”

Will you be joining the Latinx Book Club in May? Have you read this book yet? Let’s talk in the comments!

Latinx Book Club: Announcement + April’s Book Club Pick

Hello, friends! I’m pleased to officially introduce you to the Latinx Book Club, an online Twitter-based book club, where each month we choose a book by a Latinx author to read together. First, I’d like to introduce you to the fellow members of the Latinx Book Club team: Cande @ Latinx Magic, Carolina @ Santana Reads, Dani @ Metamorphoreader, Jocelyn @ Yogi with a Book, and Sofia @ Bookish Wanderess. I’m so excited to work with these bloggers on this project and already feel like we work well together. Also, special shout out to Isabel Ibañez, who designed our banner and logo.

The Latinx Book Club is dedicated to reading and boosting Latinx voices. If you haven’t followed us on Twitter yet you can do so here: @Latinxbookclub. We’ve already gotten such a welcoming response from everyone and are so grateful. We hope that you join us this year in reading more Latinx authors. After a Twitter poll asking readers what book they’d like our first book club pick to be, we are happy to announce April’s book club pick is…

The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes! I’ve had this MG novel on my TBR since I first heard about it and I’m so glad we get to read this one together. Book info listed below, including a content warning. We will be starting our readalong April 1st. Feel free to read at your own pace. We will be using the hashtag #Latinxbookclub all month long and have plans for some discussion questions along the way. We hope you can join us for our first book club pick readalong and the many more to come. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me here or on our Twitter account.

Title: The Storm Runner
Author: J.C. Cervantes
Series: The Storm Runner, #1
Pages: 448
Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents
Release Date: September 18th 2018
**Content Warning: ableism (internal ableism and ableist language directed at the MC)**

      “Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico, even though hiking it is challenging. He’d much rather hang out there with his dog, Rosie, than go to middle school, where kids call him Sir Limps a Lot, McGimpster, or Uno — for his one good leg. What Zane doesn’t know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world and he is at the center of a powerful prophecy.
    A new girl at school, Brooks, informs him that he’s destined to release an evil god from the ancient Maya relic he is imprisoned in — unless she can find and remove it first. Together they return to the volcano, where all kinds of crazy happens. Brooks turns into a hawk, a demon attacks them in a cave, and Rosie gives her all while trying to protect Zane. When Zane decides to save his dog no matter the cost, he is thrust into an adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods, one of whom happens to be his father. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can’t even walk well without a cane?
      Feisty heroes, tricky gods, murderous demons, and spirited giants are just some of the pleasures that await in this fresh and funny take on Maya mythology, as rich and delicious as a mug of authentic hot chocolate.”