Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

One of my favorite debuts last year was Ava Reid’s The Wolf and the Woodsman, so as soon as I saw that Juniper & Thorn was in the same universe, I had to add it to my TBR. Then I learned that it was gothic fantasy book and there was no hope for me. Definitely one of my most anticipated releases of all of 2022. Please note that this one deals with sexual assault. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

 alt=Title: Juniper & Thorn
Author: Ava Reid
Series: N/A
Pages: 368
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: June 21, 2022

      “From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.
      A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.
      Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city’s amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.
      As Marlinchen’s late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father’s rage and magic. And while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!