Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books on My Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Bookish Wishes.” I actually had to update my wishlist for this topic because it looked more or less the same since the last time we did this topic. But, of course, there is no shortage of books that I want. If you are interested in checking out my full list, you can do so here. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Witch Hat Atelier #4 by Kamome Shirahama – I am so excited to continue this series after reading the first, but my order for this fourth one had a mix up and was sent back. I got a really good deal on it too.

2. Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao – I have a feeling that I am going to really like this one. The world building sounds pretty amazing and I have a soft spot for books with mechas.

3. Sal & Gabi Fix the Universe by Carlos Hernandez – I would love to complete my collection of this duology with this one.

4. Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho – This one just sounds so cute, so I added it to my wishlist just because, haha.

5. Love Radio by Ebony LaDelle – Okay, fine, I’m a romantic at heart which is why this one also sounds absolutely perfect and I want it.

 alt=

6. A Pho Love Story by Joan Le – I listened to the audiobook of this one from my library and absolute loved it. I would love a physical copy of it as a result.

7. The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams –  Another library read I absolutely devoured. I would love to own this one as well.

8. The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes – Probably the one book at the top of my wishlist is this one. It’s my favorite read so far this year and I am honestly just waiting for a coupon or something to buy it myself.

9. Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse – This is one of the most fun and charming middle grade books I’ve read. I am obviously on my way to owning all of Roanhorse’s books at this point.

10. Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert – This is the only Brown Sisters book I don’t own. Boo.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

One of my favorite debuts last year was Ava Reid’s The Wolf and the Woodsman, so as soon as I saw that Juniper & Thorn was in the same universe, I had to add it to my TBR. Then I learned that it was gothic fantasy book and there was no hope for me. Definitely one of my most anticipated releases of all of 2022. Please note that this one deals with sexual assault. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

 alt=Title: Juniper & Thorn
Author: Ava Reid
Series: N/A
Pages: 368
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: June 21, 2022

      “From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.
      A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.
      Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city’s amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.
      As Marlinchen’s late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father’s rage and magic. And while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: Give Me More Books in These Universes!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Books I Wish Had An Epilogue.” I’m a greedy reader and I don’t just want an epilogue, I want more books in these universes! Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Sands of Arawiya by Hafsah Faizal

2. Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

3. The Books of Ambha by Tasha Suri

4. Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

5. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

 alt=

6. Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

7. Sal & Gabi by Carlos Hernandez

8. Brooklyn Brujas by Zoraida Córdova

9. Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

10. The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water by Zen Cho

Have you read any of these books/series? Would you like to see more from these authors in these particular worlds? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Titles Related to Time

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Books With a Unit of Time In the Title.” Why was this week’s topic so hard?! I had a really narrow view of what was expected for this prompt, but when I remembered things like the time of the day or seasons are also units of time, it was way easier. Though it was difficult not to just name a bunch of books with “night” in it, haha. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg

2. The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson

3. Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

4. All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

5. The Mirror Season by Anna-Marie McLemore

 alt=

6. Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

7. Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

8. Our Way Back to Always by Nina Moreno

9. Night of the Mannequins by Stephen Graham Jones

10. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

Did you find this week’s topic difficult? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!