Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

I feel like I’ve been neglecting the contemporary genre as of late, so today I’m featuring Debbie Rigaud’s Truly Madly Royally. This one sounds so cute and it’s giving me major Hallmark-movie vibes. I can’t way to be utterly charmed by this one. Cover is linked to Goodreads. Also I just saw the price drop on Amazon if anyone was thinking about preordering.

 width=Title: Truly Madly Royally
Author: Debbie Rigaud
Series: N/A
Pages: 304
Publisher: Point
Release Date: July 30, 2019

      “Fiercely independent and smart, Zora Emerson wants to change the world. She’s excited to be attending a prestigious summer program, even if she feels out of place among her privileged, mostly white classmates. So she’s definitely not expecting to feel a connection to Owen, who’s an actual prince of an island off the coast of England. But Owen is funny, charming…and undeniably cute. Zora can’t ignore the chemistry between them. When Owen invites Zora to be his date at his big brother’s big royal wedding, Zora is suddenly thrust into the spotlight, along with her family and friends. Everyone is talking about her, in real life and online, and while Owen is used to the scrutiny, Zora’s not sure it’s something she can live with. Can she maintain her sense of self while moving between two very different worlds? And can her feelings for Owen survive and thrive in the midst of the crazy? Find out in this charming romantic comedy that’s like The Princess Diaries for a new generation.”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019.” Soooo many. I was able to make an only ten-book list, but I’m sure as we get closer to the second half of the year, there is going to be plenty of other books I’m going to get excited for. How am I going to be able to buy all of these?!?!?! Covers/Titles are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Ghost Squad by Claribel Ortega – Claribel was one of the first authors to throw support behind the Latinx Book Club. She’s such a cornerstone in the community. I’m also a fan of her podcast Write or Die. Her debut is coming out this fall and I am so stoked for it. Isn’t the cover so charming? Note that the release date on this changed after I made this post (now scheduled for 2020).

2. Queen of Nothing by Holly Black – So I guess we are getting the third book in the Folk of the Air series sooner rather than later. I’m not exactly sure how I feel about this but it’s coming and I better prepare myself emotionally.

3. Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi – I might need to do a reread of the first, but oh my gosh, my heart just about stopped when I saw the cover for this one.

4. Realm of Ash by Tasha Suri – I loved Empire of Sand so much. It’s definitely in my top 10 Favorite Adult Fantasy list that exists somewhere in my head. This is a companion novel and I could not be more excited.

5. The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh – Ahdieh’s is blessing us with a vampire novel this year and I am smiling wider than I ever thought I’d smile for a vampire novel. Give it to me now.

6. Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo – The day has come (or is nearly here) where Bardugo is going to give us a novel not set in the Grishaverse. I’m so excited to see what she does with this book. I’m here some very dark things about it which makes me very excited.

7. Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Easily my most anticipated Adult fiction novel of the year, Silvia Moreno-Garcia impresses me with everything she writes. I have an eARC of this one and I am so excited to read it this summer, which I better do soon since the release date was moved up to July. I read it, it’s fantastic. Of course.

8. The Never Tilting World by Rin Chupeco – Rin Chupeco is an author I feel like I’ve neglected (I will finish The Bone Witch trilogy, I will!), but I am determined not to let this one pass me by.

9. Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud – My list is very fantasy-centered so making sure I include at least one contemporary. I’m not really into royalty-based books unless it’s in a fantasy setting, but this one sounds so darn cute, straight out of a Hallmark movie, and a black girl gets to be front and center. I am ready.

10. Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin – Yes, we are back to fantasy because I keep saying this one sounds good and then I see something else about it that gets me really excited (the cover, the enemies to lovers trope) and I squeal a little.

Are these on your TBR? Which are you adding? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

The Friday 56: Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhouse

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“The blood looks like an impact stain of some kind. Something or someone was hit hard enough to spatter. Gunshot is my first thought even though the concrete bricks are intact. I examine the wall opposite me, but they’re clean too. Which means that if the blood was back spatter from a gunshot, there’d be front spatter too. And there’s nothing.”

Rebecca Roanhouse is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Storm of Locusts, sequel to Trail of Lightning, once again packs a punch. If you haven’t picked up this series yet, I highly recommend it. I can’t wait to return to this world again. Read my review here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

From the Goodreads Synopsis:

      “It’s been four weeks since the bloody showdown at Black Mesa, and Maggie Hoskie, Diné monster hunter, is trying to make the best of things. Only her latest bounty hunt has gone sideways, she’s lost her only friend, Kai Arviso, and she’s somehow found herself responsible for a girl with a strange clan power.
      Then the Goodacre twins show up at Maggie’s door with the news that Kai and the youngest Goodacre, Caleb, have fallen in with a mysterious cult, led by a figure out of Navajo legend called the White Locust. The Goodacres are convinced that Kai’s a true believer, but Maggie suspects there’s more to Kai’s new faith than meets the eye. She vows to track down the White Locust, then rescue Kai and make things right between them.
      Her search leads her beyond the Walls of Dinétah and straight into the horrors of the Big Water world outside. With the aid of a motley collection of allies, Maggie must battle body harvesters, newborn casino gods and, ultimately, the White Locust himself. But the cult leader is nothing like she suspected, and Kai might not need rescuing after all. When the full scope of the White Locust’s plans are revealed, Maggie’s burgeoning trust in her friends, and herself, will be pushed to the breaking point, and not everyone will survive.”

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

So technically I just started an eARC of this, but this post has been sitting in my drafts for a while. I meant to post it before I started it (the publication date was moved up unexpectedly), but it didn’t work out and I still really want to showcase this novel, so here it is. I am a big fan of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s work and have really been looking forward to her newest novel, Gods of Jade and Shadow. This fantasy is rooted in Mayan mythology and takes place in 1920s Mexico. The cover is stunning and I can’t wait to hold the finished copy in my hands. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

 width=Title: Gods of Jade and Shadow
Author: Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Series: N/A
Pages: 352
Publisher: Del Rey
Release Date: July 23, 2019

      “The Mayan God of Death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore, for readers of The Song of Achilles and Uprooted
      The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy cleaning the floors of her wealthy grandfather’s house to listen to any fast tunes. Nevertheless, she dreams of a life far from her dusty small town in southern Mexico. A life she can call her own.
      Yet this new life seems as distant as the stars, until the day she finds a curious wooden box in her grandfather’s room. She opens it—and accidentally frees the spirit of the Mayan god of death, who requests her help in recovering his throne from his treacherous brother. Failure will mean Casiopea’s demise, but success could make her dreams come true.
      In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City—and deep into the darkness of the Mayan underworld.”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!