Top Ten Tuesday: 2020 Summer Releases I’m Excited For

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Books on My Summer 2020 TBR.” Sorry not sorry, but I had to make this list fifteen books long. I could not narrow it down anymore. Also want to note that I didn’t list books I have already read (**cough** Mexican Gothic **cough**) because I wanted these to be books I am personally looking forward to, even though I am personally looking forward to other people reading Mexican Gothic, haha. Also these should be in publication date order but with everything moving around, it was a losing battle to try to get it to be so. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Please take a few minutes to sign petitions here and here. Donate to The Okra Project which works to support the Black trans community.

 alt=

1. Running by Natalia Sylvester

Publication Date: July 14, 2020

2. The Year of the Witchling by Alexis Henderson

Publication Date: July 21, 2020

3. 10 Things I Hate About Pinky by Sandhya Menon

Publication Date: July 21, 2020

4. Court of Lions by Somaiya Daud

Publication Date: August 4, 2020

5. Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi and Yusef Salaam

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

6. You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria

Publication Date: August 4, 2020

7. Paola Santiago and the River of Tears by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Publication Date: August 4, 2020

8. Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger

Publication Date: August 25, 2020

9. Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica, Sarah Moses (Translator)

 Publication Date: August 4, 2020

10. Wayward Witch by Zoraida Córdova

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

11. Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

12. Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

13. Prime Deceptions by Valerie Valdes

Publication Date: September 8, 2020

14. Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Publication Date: September 15, 2020

15. Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

Publication Date: September 15, 2020

Are you looking forward to any of these as well? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

Top Ten Tuesday: Books You (and I) Should Pick Up This Summer

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Books I’ve Added to my TBR and Forgotten Why.” I actually forgot to do this week’s topic but since I didn’t post last week’s Books that Give Off Summer Vibes post, I will do so now. Reminder that as people begin to go back to their normal routines, there are still people protesting and fighting for justice. I encourage you to visit this site if you aren’t quite sure where to get started. There are so many resources out there and there is no excuse not to stay informed. For this topic, I am listing five contemporaries that are perfect to pick up this summer as well as five that I plan to pick up. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Five Books You Should Pick Up:

 alt=

1. Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno 

2. Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann

3. Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud

4. Love From A to Z by S.K. Ali

5. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Five Books I Should Pick Up:

6. Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

7. You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson

8. The Perfect Escape by Suzanne Park

9. The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

10. If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann

Which contemporary book are you planning to pick up this summer? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

Top Ten Tuesday: Opening Lines I Love From Books By Latinx Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Opening Lines (Best, favorite, funny, unique, shocking, gripping, lines that grabbed you immediately, etc.).” I actually did a Top Ten Tuesday post with my favorite opening lines, which you can read here, not too long ago. So for this week’s post I’m listing favorite opening lines from books by Latinx authors minus the ones I already mentioned in my previous post. I hope these are intriguing enough that they have you reaching for these books if you haven’t already. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. The Moon Within by Aida Salazar

“There is a locket in my heart
that holds all of the questions
that do cartwheels in my mind
and gurgle up to the top of my brain
like root beer fizz.”

2. Bruja Born by Zoraida Córdova

“This is a love story.

At least, it was, before my sister sent me to hell.”

3. The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson

“Ben West spent summer vacation growing a handlebar mustache.

Seriously.

Hovering over his upper lip–possibly glued there–was a bushy monstrosity that shouted, ‘Look out, senior class, I’m gonna tie some chicks to the train tracks and then go on safari with my good friend Teddy Roosevelt. Bully!‘”

4. The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante

“We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that graces and the kind that cripples. The kind that doesn’t care what you deserve.”

5. Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno

“The Santos women never go to the sea.

Once upon a time a lifetime ago a pregnant woman escaped Cuba with her husband by climbing into a boat he had built in secret with nothing but scrap and desperate hope. They left their entire life in the dead of night. They were still too late. The storm was sudden and violent, and the baby could not wait. As he fought the raging sea, she screamed into the angry winds and pulled her wailing daughter from her body.”

6. Citizen Illegal by José Olivarez

“Mexican woman (illegal) and Mexican man (illegal)
have a Mexican (illegal)-American (citizen).
is the baby in the arms of the mother (illegal).
if the mother holds the baby (citizen)
too long, does the baby become illegal?”

7. Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

“The problem with your best friend dying is that there’s no one to sit with you at funerals.”

8. Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

“Some people are born under a lucky star, while others have their misfortune telegraphed by the position of the planets. Casiopea Tun, named after a constellation, was born under the most rotten star imaginable in the firmament”

9. Blanca y Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore

“Everyone has their own way of telling our story.

Some say it began generations ago, with a girl lured by the white birds in the woods. The moment she reached out a small hand toward their wind-fluttered feathers, a swan bit her, poisoning her blood.”

10. American Street by Ibi Zoboi

“If only I could break the glass separating me and Manman with my thoughts alone. On one side of the glass doors are the long lines of people with their photos and papers that prove that they belong here in America, that they are allowed to taste a bit of this free air. On the other side is me, pressing my forehead against the thick see-through wall. My shoulder hurts from the weight of the carry-on bag I refuse to put down for fear that they will take it away, too.”

Any of these opening lines you are intrigued by? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

The Friday 56: The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“It’s not like they can expel the entire class,” Kitay said. “I bet he’s testing us. Seeing if we really want to learn.”

“Or testing us to see how we’ll react around illegal drugs!” Venka shrilled.

“Oh, calm down,” Rin said. “You can’t get high just by touching it.”

Hello, it’s been a while since I posted a Friday 56, but I am hoping to join this meme again on a more regular basis. If I could described R.F. Kuang’s The Poppy War in one word it would be intense. This 56 is a far cry from where all these characters end up at the end of the novel. This series has been one of the most heart-wrenching fantasies I’ve ever read. I’m both excited and scared for the final book. Check out my review for this one here. My review for the second book will be going up this weekend. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

From the Goodreads Synopsis:

      “A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.
      When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.
      But surprises aren’t always good.
      Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.
For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .
      Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late. “