Top Ten Tuesday: Summer 2022 TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Books On My Summer 2022 To-Read List.” I was originally going to list summer 2022 releases I’m excited for for this topic, but after peeking next week’s topic (most anticipated releases for the second half of the year), I decide to scrap the idea as these lists would end up being very similar. So I guess I am actually going to do a TBR list. I don’t make many of these so always take them with a grain of salt. If I get to 50% of them, I’ll call it a success, especially since I’ve been an very moody reader this year. Most of these will be books on my shelf since I am guilty of neglecting so many of them. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Witch Hat Atelier, Vol. 2 & 3 by Kamome Shirahama – I’m not sure how far I want to get with this manga this summer, but these two volumes are definitely on my read list since I do own them.

2. Witchlings by Claribel A. Ortega – I need a little magic in my life this summer, so I will be reaching for this one in the near future.

3. Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan – Crossing my fingers I can shake off this fantasy slump, so I can finally pick up some amazing titles that have been sitting on my shelf for months.

4. The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – I do have a few summer releases on my TBR including this one. I actually have an eARC, so will be getting to it very soon.

5. A Proposal They Can’t Refuse by Natalie Caña – Ironically, I couldn’t refuse this one and I am so ready for the swoons.

 alt=

6. Bad Witch Burning by Jessica Lewis – I think I’ve put this one off for too long. It has so many elements that I am sure to love.

7. My Mechancal Romance by Alexene Farol Follmuth – Summer calls for all the sweet, romantic contemporaries.

8. Love Times Infinity by Lane Clarke – I won an ARC of this one from Goodreads (an enormously rare occurrence!) and am hoping to get to it before it comes out but if not, I will definitely be getting to it sometimes in the summer.

9. She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan – Starting to feel real guilty about having this one on my shelf for so long. It’s the fantasy slump, I’m telling you!

10. What’s Coming to Me to Francesca Padilla – I am so excited to pick up this debut. I have an eARC, so it will definitely be one I pick up this summer.

Have you read any of these or are you planning to? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Godslayers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

Zoe Hana Mikuta’s Gearbreakers was one of my favorite 2021 reads. Sapphic romance + mechas + found family made it an unforgettable read. I am highly anticipating the sequel, Godslayers, which concludes this action-packed sci-fi duology. If this series isn’t on your radar, what are you doing? Pick it up now! Cover is linked to Goodreads.

 alt=Title: Godslayers
Author: Zoe Hana Mikuta
Series: Gearbreakers, #2
Pages: 416
Publisher: Feiwel Friends
Publication Date: June 28, 2022

      “The only way to kill a god is from the inside…
      The Gearbreakers struck a devastating blow against Godolia on Heavensday, but the cost of victory has been steep. Months later, the few rebels who’ve managed to escape the tyrannical empire’s bloody retribution have fled to the mountains, hunted by the last Zenith–Godolia’s only surviving leader.
      Eris has been held prisoner since the attack on the capital city, which almost killed her. And she begins to wish it had when she discovers Sona–the girl she loves, the girl she would tear down cities for–also survived, only to be captured and Corrupted by the Zenith. The cybernetic brainwashing that Sona has forcibly undergone now has her believing herself a loyal soldier for Godolia, and Eris’ mortal enemy.
      With the rebellion shattered and Godolia moving forward with an insidious plan to begin inducting Badlands children into a new Windup Pilot program, the odds have never been more stacked against the Gearbreakers. Their last hope for victory will depend on whether Eris and Sona can somehow find their way back to each other from opposite sides of a war…”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books on My Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is Bookish Wishes.” I actually had to update my wishlist for this topic because it looked more or less the same since the last time we did this topic. But, of course, there is no shortage of books that I want. If you are interested in checking out my full list, you can do so here. Covers linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Witch Hat Atelier #4 by Kamome Shirahama – I am so excited to continue this series after reading the first, but my order for this fourth one had a mix up and was sent back. I got a really good deal on it too.

2. Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao – I have a feeling that I am going to really like this one. The world building sounds pretty amazing and I have a soft spot for books with mechas.

3. Sal & Gabi Fix the Universe by Carlos Hernandez – I would love to complete my collection of this duology with this one.

4. Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho – This one just sounds so cute, so I added it to my wishlist just because, haha.

5. Love Radio by Ebony LaDelle – Okay, fine, I’m a romantic at heart which is why this one also sounds absolutely perfect and I want it.

 alt=

6. A Pho Love Story by Joan Le – I listened to the audiobook of this one from my library and absolute loved it. I would love a physical copy of it as a result.

7. The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams –  Another library read I absolutely devoured. I would love to own this one as well.

8. The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes – Probably the one book at the top of my wishlist is this one. It’s my favorite read so far this year and I am honestly just waiting for a coupon or something to buy it myself.

9. Race to the Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse – This is one of the most fun and charming middle grade books I’ve read. I am obviously on my way to owning all of Roanhorse’s books at this point.

10. Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert – This is the only Brown Sisters book I don’t own. Boo.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

One of my favorite debuts last year was Ava Reid’s The Wolf and the Woodsman, so as soon as I saw that Juniper & Thorn was in the same universe, I had to add it to my TBR. Then I learned that it was gothic fantasy book and there was no hope for me. Definitely one of my most anticipated releases of all of 2022. Please note that this one deals with sexual assault. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

 alt=Title: Juniper & Thorn
Author: Ava Reid
Series: N/A
Pages: 368
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: June 21, 2022

      “From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.
      A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.
      Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city’s amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.
      As Marlinchen’s late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father’s rage and magic. And while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!