Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Most Recent Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “My Ten Most Recent Reads.” I have not read a ton of books this year and it’s something I’m kind of sad about. I feel like I am missing out on so many books because I am not picking up much. But I am hoping to read more starting this month. I’ve enjoyed pretty much everything I’ve picked up so far this year, so that’s something to celebrate. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

If you are able, please consider donating to Trans Lifeline here, an organization dedicated to providing both emotional and financial support to the trans community.

 alt=

1. Oculta by Maya Motayne – This is my most recent read. It’s the sequel to Nocturna and oh my gosh, I hope I don’t have to wait too long for the next book because the ending for this one took me out. If you enjoy fantasy that delves into colonization, you need to pick up this series.

2. Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert – I needed a book that would make me feel happy after reading the some pretty heavy books and Talia Hibbert did not disappoint. It was the perfect swoony read.

3. The Mirror Season by Anna-Marie McLemore – Anna-Marie McLemore’s novels are always heartbreaking and hopeful all at once. The Mirror Season is no exception, but out of all their books, it was probably the most difficult to read as it deals with sexual assault in such an unflinching way.

4. One of the Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite – This was an incredible read about police brutality, sisters, and grief. You know those books that are just so good that you have to put them down just so you can take a breath? This is one of those books.

5. The Midnight Bargain by C.L. Polk – I really want to read Witchmark, but started with this one because it sounded like the perfect fantasy romance, but unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to all my expectations.

 alt=

6. Once Upon a Quinceañera by Monica Gomez-Hira – I didn’t love this one as much as I hoped, but I can see contemporary fans gobbling this one up.

7. Hide and Seeker by Daka Hermon – This was such a great horror MG. I am so glad to see Daka Hermon got another horror book deal because she does horror so well. I’m going to need to see this one turned into a movie.

8. You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson – I should have picked up this charming read sooner. I absolutely loved Liz and her story. If you are looking for a feel good, sapphic contemporary, look no further than this one.

9. Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson – Nobody rips the rug out from under me like Tiffany D. Jackson. Every novel I have read from her has left a lasting impression. I have never been so angry reading a book and so justified in relishing a character’s death.

10. Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko – Unique magical systems, found family, and a protagonist who creates her own destiny, Raybearer is a must read for fantasy readers.

Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Counting Down with You by Tashie Bhuiyan

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

I am so stoked for the many fake dating books coming out this year and one that I have high on the TBR is Tashie Bhuiyan’s Counting Down with You. Fake dating is one of my favorite tropes. I don’t care if it’s predicable or how many times I read these books, they always feel like a warm cup of hot chocolate on a cold night. Also, peek at the page count on this one. I can’t remember the last time I read such a long contemporary book. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Title: Counting Down with You
Author: Tashie Bhuiyan
Series: N/A
Pages: 464
Publisher: Inkwell Press
Publication Date: May 4, 2021

     “A reserved Bangladeshi teenager has twenty-eight days to make the biggest decision of her life after agreeing to fake date her school’s resident bad boy.
     How do you make one month last a lifetime?

     Karina Ahmed has a plan. Keep her head down, get through high school without a fuss, and follow her parents’ rules—even if it means sacrificing her dreams. When her parents go abroad to Bangladesh for four weeks, Karina expects some peace and quiet. Instead, one simple lie unravels everything.
      Karina is my girlfriend.
      Tutoring the school’s resident bad boy was already crossing a line. Pretending to date him? Out of the question. But Ace Clyde does everything right—he brings her coffee in the mornings, impresses her friends without trying, and even promises to buy her a dozen books (a week) if she goes along with his fake-dating facade. Though Karina agrees, she can’t help but start counting down the days until her parents come back.
      T-minus twenty-eight days until everything returns to normal—but what if Karina no longer wants it to?”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: 2021 Releases with Great Color Schemes

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Colorful Book Covers.” I wasn’t sure how I was going to approach this week’s topic, but I was looking through 2021 book covers and there are so many colorful covers out there. The ones that really stand out to me are the ones with great color schemes, so I am sharing some of my favorites with you. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

If you are able, please consider donating to Trans Lifeline here, an organization dedicated to providing both emotional and financial support to the trans community.

 alt=

1. Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L Browne

2. Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

3. The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

4. Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

5. Where the Rhythm Takes You by Sarah Dass

 alt=

6. Black Water Sister by Zen Cho

7. Misfit in Love by S.K. Ali

8. Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar

9. The Wild Ones by Nafiza Azad

10. Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury

Which of these color schemes is your favorite? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Illusionary by Zoraida Córdova

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

I am so excited for Zoraida Córdova’s Illusionary, the sequel to her YA fantasy Incendiary. The first book had one of my favorite twists and I really want to reread it before this one comes out knowing what I know now. If you like fantasies with unique magical systems and a flawed MC, you should check out the first book in this duology. Cover is linked to Goodreads. Also, hello, I think I am back for real this time >_<

Title: Illusionary
Author: Zoraida Córdova
Series: Hollow Crown, #2
Pages: 368
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 11, 2021

      "In Zoraida Córdova's thrilling sequel to Incendiary, Renata embarks on a dangerous journey to bring justice to the kingdom -- perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas.
      Reeling from betrayal at the hands of the Whispers, Renata Convida is a girl on the run. With few options and fewer allies, she's reluctantly joined forces with none other than Prince Castian, her most infuriating and intriguing enemy. They're united by lofty goals: find the fabled Knife of Memory, kill the ruthless King Fernando, and bring peace to the nation. Together, Ren and Castian have a chance to save everything, if only they can set aside their complex and intense feelings for each other.
      With the king's forces on their heels at every turn, their quest across Puerto Leones and beyond leaves little room for mistakes. But the greatest danger is within Ren. The Gray, her fortress of stolen memories, has begun to crumble, threatening her grip on reality. She'll have to control her magics--and her mind--to unlock her power and protect the Moria people once and for all.
      For years, she was wielded as weapon. Now it's her time to fight back."

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!