Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases for Second Half of 2021

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2021.” I already regret leaving titles off of this list because there are far too many books in the second half of 2021 that I am interested in. I finally settled on these ten because they are the ones I am most likely to preorder or ones that I have already preordered. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. The Taking of Jake Livingston by Ryan Douglass

2. Like a Love Song by Gabriela Martins

3. White Smoke by Tiffany D. Jackson

4. The Bronzed Beasts by Roshani Chokshi

5. Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson

 alt=

6. The Throwback List by Lily Anderson

7. Our Way Back to Always by Nina Moreno

8. Jade Fire Gold by June C.L. Tan

9. Dreaming of You by Melissa Lozada-Oliva

10. A Psalm of Storms and Silence by Roseanne A. Brown

Are you anticipating these titles as well? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Bookish Wishes.” Today I am listing the last ten books I put on my wishlist. I went a little overboard the last week buying and preordering books, so all of these will have to wait for a while. Linking my wishlist here, but do not feel obligated at all. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. The Marvelous by Claire Kann – I loved Let’s Talk About Love and If It Makes You Happy, but this book’s release snuck up on me and now I have to wait to get my hands on it.

2. Simone Breaks All the Rules by Debbie Rigaud – Debbie Rigaud’s Truly Madly Royally is one of the most underrated contemporaries I’ve read in recent years (read it!) and so I am very excited to read this new novel by her.

3. Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi – I really want to read this one as I feel like we almost never get younger protagonists in YA anymore.

4. The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He – 50% of the reason I want this one is the cover and the other half is because I’ve heard so many good things about it.

5. Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley – I’ve been excited to read this one since it came out. There is currently a sale on this one on several sites and I am tempted.

 alt=

6. Stormsong by C.L. Polk I loved Witchmark soooooo much, so the next book is of course on my wishlist.

7. Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé– This book is also on sale, the temptation!!!

8. Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo – Why haven’t I read this one yet?! Having it on my wishlist kind of makes me feel like I’m closer to reading it though. Does that make sense?

9. Goddess of Filth by V. Castro – Unfortunately, I think the only way I will be able to read this one is if I own it as my library doesn’t carry it.

10. Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado – I kind of regret not buying this when it came out earlier this year. Next time I go to the library, I might have to check this one out.

Have you read any of these or are any also on your wishlist? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Tressa @ Wishful Endings where bloggers share which upcoming releases they’re most looking forward to. Join us every Wednesday and watch your TBR list multiply.

At the top of my list of 2021 debuts that have really caught my attention is Zoe Hana Mikuta’s Gearbreakers. Using Pacific Rim as a comp was the first thing about this that won me over, but then I learned it’s enemies-to-lovers, found family, and sapphic! So many amazing things rolled into one and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Title: Gearbrakers
Author: Zoe Hana Mikuta
Series: N/A
Pages: 416
Publisher: Feiwel Friends
Publication Date: June 29, 2021

      “Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they’re fighting for a common purpose–and falling for each other–in Zoe Hana Mikuta’s high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu’s Legend series.
      We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead…
      The shadow of Godolia’s tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.
      Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.
      As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia’s reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer–as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more…”

Are you participating in Can’t-Wait Wednesday or Waiting on Wednesday? Is this book on your TBR? Be sure to leave a link to your post in the comments and I’ll visit!

Top Ten Tuesday: Library Holds

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is “Freebie.” Today’s topic is all about library holds: which books I have checked out and which books I will be putting on hold in the future. I actually went to the library last month for the first time in months and got a little carried away. My check out receipts are basically the bookish equivalent of “Biting off more than you can chew.” Sometimes I just get so excited and forget that I haven’t been inhaling books this year, so maybe checking out five books for a two-week period isn’t such a good idea. Will I ever learn my lesson? Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Please check out mutualaidindia.com for places to donate to assist in covid relief in India.

Consider donating to International Medical Corps and their work in Gaza here. Learn more about Palestine and Israeli occupation here.

 alt=

1. Witchmark by C.L. Polk – I finally have this book checked out from the library, but I’ve also renewed it twice because I haven’t found the time to read it.

2. Children of Chicago by Cynthia Pelayo – I was worried I wasn’t going to be able to get my hands on this one, but I was so happy to find that my library did order a copy, but now it sits on my dresser just waiting and waiting.

3. The Mary Shelley Club by Goldy Moldavsky – I checked this one out because I thought it would make a nice compliment to Children of Chicago, but I didn’t realize it was nearly 500 pages long and I don’t know if I can make that kind of commitment this month.

4. Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Universe by Kwame Mbalia – I need someone to bully me into requesting this one from the library already because it is far past time for me to finally read it.

5. Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland – I kept saying this was going to be the first book I checked out from the library when I went back and it wasn’t, so it automatically is at the top of my future holds list.

 alt=

6. Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas I have been waiting to read this one for ages. If I can carve out some time, I might request it before the end of the summer.

7. I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee – I’ve heard so many good things about this one and summer seems like the perfect time to read it.

8. The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart – If I can get through some of the adult fantasy books I have on my shelf, there are a few I want to check out form the library including this one.

9. Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley – I try to hold off on checking out too many newer releases from the library right away because I usually can’t renew them, but I really want to read this one.

10. Color Me In by Natasha Díaz – I can’t believe I still haven’t read this one, but it’s on my list of books I really need to get to this year.

Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave me a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit!