Talk Chisme to Me: May Releases By Latinx Authors

When I first made this post, there were a good number of May releases I wanted to highlight, but this number has gotten smaller and smaller as several releases have been pushed back to later in the year (as a result, you can expect me to make posts like this for at least June and July as well). However, there are still a few books being released by Latinx authors that need our support in May. If you are able, please preorder these from your local indie bookstore. Graphics are linked to Goodreads.

1. Sal & Gabi Fix the Universe by Carlos Hernandez

Why I Am Excited? This is one of my favorite Middle Grade series. I love how much room Hernandez gives his characters to grow and thrive. I especially love that he writes sensitive male characters which I think is especially important to see in middle grade books. Also his adult characters are amazing. Read my review of this one here.

“Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the sequel to the critically acclaimed Sal and Gabi Break the Universe, a brilliant sci-fi romp with Cuban influence. Among many other challenges, Sal and Gabi have to try to make everything right with our world when there is a rogue Gabi from another universe running loose.

Sal Vidon doesn’t want to live a Mami-free life. Pulling different versions of his mother from other universes is how he copes with missing his own, who died years ago. But Sal’s father, a calamity physicist, is trying to shut down all the wormholes Sal creates, because Papi thinks they are eroding the very fabric of our world. All of Papi’s efforts are in vain, however, because a Gabi from another universe has gone rogue and is popping up all over the place, seeking revenge for the fact that her world has been destroyed. While Sal and Gabi work together to keep both Papi and Rogue Gabi under control, they also have to solve the mystery of Yasmany, who has gone missing from school. Could it have something to do with the wormhole in the back of his locker?

Readers who enjoyed Sal and Gabi Break the Universe will relish being back in the world of Culeco Academy and the Coral Castle along with such unforgettable characters as American Stepmom, the Gabi-Dads, Principal Torres, and the sassy entropy sweeper. With multiple Sals and Gabis in charge, it’s no wonder this sequel offers even more hilarious weirdness and love than the first book.”

2. Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

Why am I excited? It’s Elizabeth Acevedo!!!! Her words are magic and I am so excited for her third novel. Recently learned this one is sapphic and friends to lovers which makes me even more eager to read it. Acevedo’s work is also the only books I insist on having the audio versions of. If you have never listened to her narrate her novels, you are missing out.

“Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds of crying people…

In New York City, Yahaira Rios is called to the principal’s office, where her mother is waiting to tell her that her father, her hero, has died in a plane crash.

Separated by distance – and Papi’s secrets – the two girls are forced to face a new reality in which their father is dead and their lives are forever altered. And then, when it seems like they’ve lost everything of their father, they learn of each other.
Papi’s death uncovers all the painful truths he kept hidden, and the love he divided across an ocean. And now, Camino and Yahaira are both left to grapple with what this new sister means to them, and what it will now take to keep their dreams alive.
In a dual narrative novel in verse that brims with both grief and love, award-winning and bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.”

3. Santiago’s Road Home by Alexandra Diaz

Why am I excited? I am seeing several middle grade novels written about immigration and am happy to see Latinx writers have the opportunity to write about issues that directly affect their communities.

“A young boy gets detained by ICE while crossing the border from Mexico to the United States in this timely and unflinching novel by award-winning author Alexandra Diaz.

The bed creaks under Santiago’s shivering body. They say a person’s life flashes by before dying. But it’s not his whole life. Just the events that led to this. The important ones, and the ones Santiago would rather forget.

The coins in Santiago’s hand are meant for the bus fare back to his abusive abuela’s house. Except he refuses to return; he won’t be missed. His future is uncertain until he meets the kind, maternal María Dolores and her young daughter, Alegría, who help Santiago decide what comes next: He will accompany them to el otro lado, the United States of America. They embark with little, just backpacks with water and a bit of food. To travel together will require trust from all parties, and Santiago is used to going it alone. None of the three travelers realizes that the journey through Mexico to the border is just the beginning of their story.”

4. We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez

Why am I excited? Jenny Torres Sanchez writes some of the most heartbreaking and compelling stories. I am especially paying attention to this one as it centers Central American teens and their journey to cross the U.S.-Mexico border.

“A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border.

Pulga has his dreams.
Chico has his grief.
Pequeña has her pride.

And these three teens have one another. But none of them have illusions about the town they’ve grown up in and the dangers that surround them. Even with the love of family, threats lurk around every corner. And when those threats become all too real, the trio knows they have no choice but to run: from their country, from their families, from their beloved home.

Crossing from Guatemala through Mexico, they follow the route of La Bestia, the perilous train system that might deliver them to a better life–if they are lucky enough to survive the journey. With nothing but the bags on their backs and desperation drumming through their hearts, Pulga, Chico, and Pequeña know there is no turning back, despite the unknown that awaits them. And the darkness that seems to follow wherever they go.

In this powerful story inspired by current events, the plight of migrants at the U.S. southern border is brought to painful, poignant, vivid life. An epic journey of danger, resilience, heartache, and hope.”

5. A Taste of Sag by Yaffa S. Santos

Why am I excited? I don’t read a lot of romance, but I want to pick up more that are written by marginalized authors, especially Latinx authors. This one features food, magical realism elements, and a hate-to-love romance (which is one of my favorites).

“Lumi Santana is a chef with a gift: she can perceive a person’s emotions by tasting their cooking. Despite being raised by a mother who taught her that dreams and true love were silly fairy tales, she puts her heart and savings into opening her own fusion restaurant in Upper Manhattan. The restaurant offers a mix of the Dominican cuisine she grew up with and other world cuisines she is inspired by.

When her eclectic venture fails, she is forced to take a position as sous chef at a staid, traditional French restaurant owned by Julien Dax, a celebrated chef known for his acid tongue as well as his brilliant smile. After he goes out of his way to bake a tart to prove her wrong in a dispute, she is so irritated by his smug attitude that she vows to herself never to taste his cooking.

But after she succumbs to the temptation and takes a bite one day and is overcome with shocking emotion, she finds herself beginning to crave his cooking and struggling to stay on task with her plan to save up and move on as soon as possible. Meanwhile, Julien’s obsessed secretary watches with gnashed teeth as they grow closer and becomes determined to get Lumi out of her way permanently.”

Are you excited for these releases as well? Any releases by Latinx authors in May I might have missed that you are excited for?

14 thoughts on “Talk Chisme to Me: May Releases By Latinx Authors

  1. I can’t wait for Clap When You Land! I’ve also recently learned that it’s sapphic – and I thought I couldn’t possibly be more excited for it! …Elizabeth Acevedo keeps proving us wrong in the best way

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m highly anticipating Clap When You Land. With The Fire On High has been one of the books with latinx rep that I’ve loved the most, Acevedo’s work is truly magical. And after reading this post, I also want to read A Taste of Sage too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clap When You Land & We Are Not From Here have been on my TBR for the longest and I am so happy that I’ll finally be able to read them soon. I am sad that so many books have been pushed back because of what has been going on, but it is what it is. I am happy to say that my TBR just got larger again, Santiago’s Road Home and A Taste of Sage have been added.

    Thanks for always releasing these so I can keep up with Latinx releases that weren’t on my radar originally.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.