Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Novels I Struggled to Get Through

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Struggled to Get Into But Ended Up Loving or Ten Books That Were A Chore To Get Through or Ten Books I’ve Most Recently Put Down (the theme is…books you had a hard time with…tweak it how ever you need).” This week I’m going to share some popular titles that I struggled to get through. I ended up not loving any of these titles and had a number of issues with each. Apologies if any of these are your favorites. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=  

1. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro – Felt like I was reading a book narrated by a guy infatuated with the idea of a girl rather than the girl herself.

2. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – Big fan of A Madness So Discreet, but this book just did not do it for me.

3. The Diviners by Libba Bray – It’s been a while, but I didn’t like the protagonist. Forever bitter because I love books that take place in the 20s and this one seemed made for me.

4. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – Made me hate insta-love even more.

5. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – Was not in love with the world or characters.

6. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – I can’t decide if I dislike Mara or Noah more.

7. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – You lost me with the creepy incest storyline.

8. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – Pushy love-interest, clueless protagonist, years later, still regretting the money I spent on it.

9. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – Probably the one book on this list I wish I felt differently about. More interesting minor characters than the protagonist.

10. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – Can’t remember why I didn’t like this one, but I’m pretty sure it had a lot to do with the love story.

Tell me I’m not the only one who struggled with these novels. What’s a popular novel that you ended up not enjoying? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Novels I Struggled to Get Through

  1. Hahaha, I think I actually loved most of these books. Now I need to rethink life. I loved Shatter Me Series. And The Boy Next Door And Hush, Hush. They were clueless, but it was still so entertaining. I never could get into Mara Dyer. And I was thinking about reading Falling Kingdoms but I didn’t know it had incest. My Top Ten “Glad I Didn’t Quit”

    Liked by 1 person

    • With regards to Falling Kingdoms, I don’t know where the storyline went because I didn’t continue the series, but one of the characters was in love with his sister (he doesn’t know it at the time, but she not in fact his sister, which didn’t make me feel any better about it).

      Like

  2. I’ve seen mixed things about Shattered Me, and Falling Kingdoms- between that and Game of Thrones incest seems to be popping up in fantasy lately doesn’t it? Although I know GoT has been around a while now… totally get it though, that’s not the most pleasant thing to read about!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have only read A Discovery of Witches from your list and I enjoyed it. Several others you list I hope I will like better than you did because they are on my TBR pile. Maybe if I go in with low expectations. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally grew about The Female of the Species. I was so excited for it because of A Madness So Discreet, but TFotS didn’t end up hooking me like AMSD.

    I also agree about Falling Kingdoms. Although I had a few other problems with the book, the incest storyline was the biggest strike against it.

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t read any of these though I’ve heard some negative reviews for A Study in Charlotte and even worse reviews for its sequel so I’m thinking I’m skipping that one. A Discovery of Witches is another one I’ve seen mixed reviews for but I think I’m going to suffer through because it’s a series I want to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t read most of these and I did end up enjoyed the first two books in the Bone Season series, but I don’t think I’m going to finish the series after the third installment. I can’t remember anything that happened, so it must not be worth my time!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This post makes me happy. I didn’t like A Study in Charlotte, I DNF’d The Female of the Species, I didn’t enjoy The Diviners the first time around (although I did like it after I reread via audiobook), and I hated The Bone Season. 😂 I did really like My Life Next Door, though, but more for the minor characters. Maybe you’d like the sequel more? I thought it was better because it had a different MC.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

