Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This meme is currently on hiatus until August 15th, but I’m taking the opportunity to tackle a few past topics while our hosts are taking a well-deserved break. This week I’ve chosen is “Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign.” Am I a cover snob? Maybe a little bit. I like pretty covers. I can’t help it and sometimes I end up picking up the pretty books more than the mediocre looking ones. Here are some books whose covers I’m not very fond of and would love to change. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=  

1. Beauty by Robin McKinley – I know there are several editions of this novel, but this is the actual edition I own and I’m not a fan of the cover. Don’t let said cover fool you though, this is one of the best retellings of Beauty and the Beast I’ve ever read (probably the best).

2. Chime by Franny Billingsley – One of the most underrated books I’ve ever read, Chime‘s cover is a major turn off and I wish it had a better cover because I’m convinced more people would pick it up as a result.

3. The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman – This is actually a cover redesign and I am so bitter they didn’t make it match the first book. Why?!

4. The Young Elites by Marie Lu – Come on now, an action-packed series like The Young Elites deserves better covers than these boring ones.

5. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong – I’m not overly fond of models on book covers and so this entire series needs to be redesigned.

6. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier – The Sevenwaters series is one of my favorites, but I got to say, I’m not a big fan of the art on the covers. Her Blackthorn & Grim novels have such beautiful covers, I’d redesign the Sevenwaters series to match them if I could.

7. Fire Fall by Bethany Frenette – A very underrated series and I’m really bitter about its final book not being available in paperback, plus there’s the fact that this third book doesn’t come close to matching the other two.

8. The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden – I’ve heard nothing but great things about this novel, but if I hadn’t heard anything from fellow bloggers, I’d just skip on over that cover. I do plan to pick this one up this year.

9. Warcross by Marie Lu – I’m not sure if it’s the maze or the colors, but if I wasn’t already familiar with the author, I probably wouldn’t consider picking this one up. Seriously, Marie Lu deserves better covers for her books.

10. Jane Unlimited by Kristin Cashore – I’ve been waiting for a new book from this author for years and the cover is puzzling to say the least.

Which book cover would you redesign if you had a chance? Do you judge a book by its cover? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

Have you signed up for the Summer 2017 Comment Challenge for August? July 26th is the final day you can do so. If you’d like to challenge yourself and make a new blogging friend, consider joining us. We’ll be pairing bloggers and encouraging them to comment on each other’s blogs all month long. Click the image to the left for all the details!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

  1. I honestly had forgotten I read Chime until you mentioned it! Lo and behold I journeyed into my Goodreads shelves and I don’t even have it marked as read! I seriously need to reread it now. But in terms of covers, I completely agree with you! Especially the cover for Warcross. I actually haven’t read it yet but that’s partly because I hate the cover so much. First rule of book publishing: have a pretty cover! Lovely list, Alicia!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really agree with redesigns for Dark Days Pact and The Casquette Girls as well as The Summoning. I love Armstrong but the covers on that series never sparked my interest. It’s sad but it is usually the covers that catch my eye and I’m pretty much a cover whore.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you seen the UK editions of The Dark Days Club series? You’ve been spared! Lol I see the Daughters of the Forest series around a lot, and keep meaning to keep them up, but those covers are off-putting! R xx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

