Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This meme is on hiatus until August 15th. *insert sad face* I really enjoy doing these posts each week however, so I’ve decided to take a look at past topics and maybe do a few while the hosts are on break. This week I decided to go with “Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read.” There are some books that I puzzle over the fact that I’ve gone all these years without picking up. Hoping to find a few bloggers who also haven’t read these, so I don’t feel so alone, haha. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=  

1. Matilda by Roald Dahl It is my firm belief that I would have devoured this one as a kid. Unfortunately, it never ended up in my lap as a child and so here I am, an adult who has never read Matilda. I do want to change this soon.

2. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – It’s strange that I never read this one in high school. I always meant to pick it up on my own, but have never got around to it.

3. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez – I love magical realism, so it’s a real mystery why I haven’t read this classic. I actually have a copy of it on my shelf, so I need to read it soon. Buddy read, anyone?

4. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – This really goes for all Charles Dickens’s books as I’ve never read anything he has written.

5. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – I think I once checked this one out from the library, but didn’t have time to read it before I had to return it. I don’t think I have a proper excuse for why I have’t tried again though.

 alt=

6. Wonder by R.J. Palacio – I’ve heard such wonderful things about this one. Everyone seems to love it and I really need to finally get to it myself. Even my niece and nephews are insisting I pick this up.

7. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White – Another children’s classic that I never got the opportunity to read when I was a kid.

8. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson – It’s unfathomable that I haven’t had the pleasure of reading this one. I might end up reading it soon for the Summer 2017 Bookish Bingo challenge.

9. Beloved by Toni Morrison – This is one of those books that I wish I would have had an opportunity to read in high school, but it’s up to me to find the time to read it, so no excuses here.

10. American Gods by Neil Gaiman – I’ve enjoyed all the Gaiman books I’ve picked up and don’t know why I haven’t checked out this one yet.

Any of these that you strongly encourage me to read? Which book are you most surprised that you haven’t picked up before? If you did a freebie Top Ten Tuesday this week, leave me a link, so I can visit!

Sign-ups for the Summer 2017 Comment Challenge for August are now open! If you’d like to challenge yourself and make a new blogging friend, consider joining us. We’ll be pairing bloggers and encouraging them to comment on each other’s blogs all month long. Signups close July 26th. Click the image to the left for all the details!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

  1. I feel the same way about American Gods, The Handmaid’s Tale and One Hundred Years of Solitude. I want to read all three since so long. I hope you pick up Matilda, it’s a short and amazing read! A Tale of Two Cities is a really good book too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bit of advice: Brave New World is a HORRIBLE book to read. The way it’s formatted makes it lose a lot of the meaning. I highly recommend the audio version read by Michael York. He interprets what’s on the page wisely and gives it depth. I’ve never read The Handmaid’s Tale either, mostly because Atwood wasn’t on my radar until…jeez, I think after college! According to Goodreads I read it in 2012, which means I read it after I finished my second round of grad school. At this point, with The Donald in the driver’s seat and Pence as his wingman, I’m not sure I could stomach The Handmaid’s Tale right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think audio versions of classics I’m not confident I can work my way through is a really good idea, so thank you for the rec. I definitely hear you on The Handmaid’s Tale and…that. It’s one I’d have to go into calmly, but not sure I wouldn’t get even more agitated with…that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Some classics are harder to get through with audio books. For instance, when I tried to listen to anything by Jane Austen on audio, it’s way too fast for my brain to process. The thing with Huxley is his writing–how it’s actually written on the page–doesn’t help readers with tone or who’s speaking. Sometimes one leader is talking but there are bits that come in from the students’ point of view. That’s not really obvious on the page.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. When I contemplate the books I haven’t read, like your list here, I get this feeling like I want to read them all right now but that isn’t possible, so instead I don’t read them at all. Sigh. A few years ago I embarked on reading books which were on the high school reading lists like Lord of the Flies, Brave New World, To Kill a Mockingbirdh, Beloved, etc. With each book I found such joy because these books were really, really good. No wonder they were on the high school reading lists. The other thing about these books, most of them have cliff notes or other reader helps, which I find tremendously helpful in understanding the text. I had Shmoop open the whole time I read One Hundred Years of Solitude. I ended up loving the book, or more accurately, I loved the experience of reading that book and, with the help of Shmoop, understanding the book.

    That said, I haven’t read A Tale of Two Cities or American Gods either. Perhaps I should apply my own line of attack to these two books, also.

    Read WONDER first. It is WONDERful and it will be a fast read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read Matilda and Charlotte’s Web but all the others are on my TBR list as well! The worst thing is I actually own some of them, I’ve still never read them. Which one are you leaning to reading first?
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Matilda was one of my favourite books as a child! A book about a fellow book lover? I fell in love before I even read the first page! Charlotte’s Web was great too, although I didn’t read a Tale of Two Cities until much, much later.

    It’s great that you’re continuing TTT with old topics!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t think I’ve ever read Charlotte’s Web either, but I watched the animated flick a TON as a kid. Also, I’ve been seeing “Wonder” around because of the film adaptation, but it’s another one I know little about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

