Armchair Book Expo: Introduction & Best Practices

I’m so happy to be joining Armchair Book Expo again this year. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to ever actually attend a book conference, but this online book event is the next best thing. Starting today through June 4th, bloggers can participate in this online book conference. There are different discussion posts for each day, twitter chats, and giveaways. I believe you can still sign-up, so if you’re interested, head on over to the Armchair Book Expo site here.

For this introductory post, we’re choosing three to five prompts from the official intro questions list. My selections are below.

Currently . . . I am on a contemporary kick. I’ve always considered my favorite genre to be fantasy, but over the past year or so, I’ve gotten more into contemporary books and I can’t get enough.

I love . . . magical realism. It’s hard for me to explain just what it is about this genre that appeals to me so much, but every time I pick up a magical realism novel, I’m filled with such awe.

My favorite . . . books so far this year include Roshani Chokshi’s A Crown of Wishes, Anna-Marie McLemore’s When the Moon Was Ours, and Tiffany D. Jackson’s Allegedly.

My summer plans . . . for the blog include the Summer 2017 Comment Challenge. Lonna @ FLYLēF and I started this challenge last summer as a way to help bloggers connect with one another. We pair bloggers together for one month and encourage them to get to know one another through comments. Stop by my blog on the 3rd to sign up for July.

Best Practices in the Online Book Community: Let’s talk about our best practices within the book community. This can range from time management to the use of social media to even ethical obligations. 

For this prompt I want to talk about my review practices. Besides writing, editing, and scheduling my review posts, I have a set checklist that I go through throughout the day.

  • I make sure to share these reviews on social media (for me that means Twitter, Tumblr, and Google +).
  • I update my Latest Book Reviews widgets and make sure my reviews are listed under author and title.
  • I also cross-post my reviews to Goodreads and Amazon.

I do all these things within a 24 hour period, so I never fall behind. Honestly, it can be a little much and I sometimes elect to skip catching up on comments the same day, but it’s also a practice that I’ve been really consistent with that I don’t really think about, it’s just automatic.

Did you participate in Armchair BEA last year? Will you be taking part in Armchair Book Expo this week? Do you ever cross-post your reviews? Leave a link to your introduction post in the comments!

27 thoughts on “Armchair Book Expo: Introduction & Best Practices

  1. Nice to get to know more about you. Love finding new blogs and visiting blogs I haven’t visited for a while.

    I like your checklist and your time frame for reviews. I am pretty strict with getting my reviews done and posted to my blog and other books sites within 24 hours too. It is automatic for me too. I have a system that works well.

    Thanks for sharing, and have fun this week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    Armchair BookExpo Introduction

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do share links my review on various social media platforms. I don’t repost the entire review on GoodReads due to their relationship with Amazon. Amazon isn’t friendly to affiliates no matter how much they’d like you to believe that they are.
    Two posts: Introductions and Best Practices

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard lots of negative things about Amazon. But I’ve also heard it’s important to post reviews on the site because after a certain number, they begin promoting books. I’ve toyed with the idea of only posting the beginning of a review and then linking back to my site on Goodreads. Honestly, I think the reason I haven’t done this is because I’ve been lazy >_<

      Like

  3. Great job being so organized with your reviews. I have a plugin that automatically posts to Goodreads, and for new books I activate that. I don’t always use it for older books because usually there are hundreds of reviews already and I feel like mine will just get lost in the shuffle.

    I enjoyed the comment challenge last year, glad you are bringing it back!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Argh, that reminds me. I totally need to update my review page… It’s been… well, let’s just say a long time. Perhaps I should be getting in the habit of doing it the same way you do. It’s definitely a goal, that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I would like to be as organized as you are with my blog – and before I had little kids, I used to be! I have started posting my full reviews to Goodreads, though. I used to post just an excerpt, but it just got too time-consuming so now I copy and paste the whole thing. Happy Armchair Book Expo!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful post!! This is my first time taking part in Armchair BEA, and I am so thrilled with how it is going so far! Here is my intro post.

    I always make a point to cross-post my reviews. As soon as I post a review blog, I upload most of that content to Goodreads. Then at least once a month I will go through and make sure I have reviewed everything on Amazon as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you’ve joined us this year. This is only my second time, but I had such a blast last year and it kind of makes up for not being able to attend the conference in person.

      So interesting to see how others approach cross-posting. Enjoyed talking with you during the Twitter chat! Checking out your post now.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m so terrible at sharing posts on social media and, especially, at also posting them on Amazon. I am good at posting each review I write on Goodreads, but for whatever reason, I struggle to keep up with Amazon. At this point, I don’t think I’ve posted a review to Amazon in about a year, and I really need to make myself start doing that again.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Armchair Book Expo: 2017 Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

