FLYTIP: Dog-Ear-Me-Not

FLYTIP is an original feature hosted by Lonna @ FLYLēF in which she generously shares free blog graphics and advice as well as taking part in related discussions. Every other Saturday, there is a different prompt that participants can take part in, so be sure to check out her site for more info. This is my first time participating and I confess I’m really excited about today’s topic. Speaking of, today’s topic is “FLYTIP: Dog-Ear-Me-Not || What are some creative ways you’ve saved your place in a book?”

A few years back, I never went out of my way to find something I could consistently use for a bookmark. I would usually just grab a scrap of paper, receipt, or even a candy wrapper to hold my place. I’m much more consistent these days…well, kind of. I’ve never dog-eared my books and probably never will. One of my greatest pet peeves is when I’m reading a library book and discover that someone has dog-eared it. Why?!?!?! I’m all for people treating their own books however they want, but a library book? It’s a travesty! For this post, I’m sharing a few different ways I save my place while reading.


1. DIY Bookmark – I literally never buy myself bookmarks. I like the idea of a pretty bookmark, but I’m also really cheap and figure, why buy a bookmark when I can just make my own? I actually made the above one from a lovely gift bag and will probably have to replace it soon as you can probably tell from the picture above. I wouldn’t consider myself to be particularly crafty, but I find sitting down and making something to be a really relaxing activity.

HTML5 Icon
2. Spine-Up – I know, I know. This is a terrible thing to do to your books. It could break the spine. Don’t I have any kind of respect for my books? Of course, I do! Sometimes I even remove the dust jacket (see all photos) while I read because I don’t want to accidentally damage it, but when you need to put your book down real quick and your bookmark mark is nowhere to be found, turning a book over is the quickest solution.


3. Review Notebook – I almost never read unless I have my review notebook close at hand. It is unbelievably helpful to have a few notes jotted down when it comes time to write a review and it’s even more helpful when you can just stuff the entire thing into a book to save your place.


4. Pen – I cannot count the number of times I lose my pen. Am I the only one who has this problem? I have lost several and I’m convinced they hide out where all those missing socks from the dryer go. Sometimes I’m a little too quick to jump to conclusions because I’ve panicked that I can’t find my pen, only to discover that I’d been using it as a bookmark the whole time.


5. Cat’s Tail – I have one of the fattest, laziest cats in the world. He will literally let me do anything, so when I was taking photos for this post he decided to camp out on my bed and it was just so hard to resist using his tail as a prop.

How do you save your place in a book? Are you a traditional bookmark user or do you use other unconventional methods? Let’s discuss in the comments!

9 thoughts on “FLYTIP: Dog-Ear-Me-Not

  1. I love the idea of taking bag designs to make markers! Why that’s brilliant, Alicia! I might have to “borrow” that idea. 😀 Oh that cat of yours, how naughty of him (or is it her) to be hindering you from reading. Pretty tail, though. Thank you for joining up with me this week, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m getting more used to actually using bookmarks. However, I’ve been known to use receipts or the plastic strips pills come in. Really, just anything that’s nearby when I need a stopping point.
    No cat tails for me though, I’m allergic 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May ’17 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

