Monthly Wrap-Up: April ’17

MonthlyWrap-UPThis wrap-up is a little late. I already feel like my May is going to be way busier than my April. Speaking of April, one of the defining moments from last month in terms of blogging was the week and a half I took off from blogging. I went on a blogging (and unexpected Twitter break) hiatus in the middle of the month because I had been feeling all kinds of slumpy. The break did a lot of good as I really missed being a part of this community and I feel like I’ve shaken off both my blogging and reading slumps. Despite said reading slump, I managed to read four books, reread another, and picked up two graphic novels in April. I’ve also been working on a lot of bookish spring cleaning and am hoping to continue this in May.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.) 

Favorite Book This Month:

I have a mini review for Vol. 1 & 2 of Ms. Marvel which should be up later this month. This is only the second graphic novel that I’ve picked up and it was such a lifesaver when I was not feeling in the mood to read any kind of novel.

Least Favorite Book This Month:

All the books I read this month received a positive rating from me.

Reviews Posted This Month:

Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

(covers linked to Goodreads)

Notable Blog Posts This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things That Make Me Instantly Want (or Not Want) to Read a Book – This was a really fun post to put together of some of my bookish turn-ons and turn-offs.

Spring Cleaning: Bookworm Edition – I have so much bookish organizing that I need to do. TBR books I need to delete, bookshelf organizing, book unhauls. So I thought it would be fun to put together a list of the various ways I am cleaning up my bookish life over the next couple of months.

Reading Challenges:

I might need to accept the fact that I may not meet my Flights of Fantasy goal this year. Yes, it’s still early, but I’m just not picking up a lot of fantasy so far this year.

1. The 2017 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I read one debut: American Street by Ibi Zoboi. Pretty sure I’m going to meet this challenge before the first six months of the year is out.

  • Challenge Goal: 12 books; Current Count: 9 books

2. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017 is hosted by Alexa Loves Books and Hello, Cherry. This month I read only one fantasy novel: The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig.

  • Challenge Goal: 20 books; Current Count: 6 books

May Releases I’m Dying to Read:

 

Month in Review

Which April release was your favorite? Do you have any spring cleaning in mind this season? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

If you haven’t already, be sure to enter the giveaway on my blog. I’m taking part in the May Book of Choice Giveaway Hop which ends the 15th of this month. It’s open to the US and INT, so be sure to get on that. Click on the image on the left to enter and be sure to check out all the other participants’ giveaways.

19 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: April ’17

  1. How did you like Trouble Makes A Comeback? I really loved the first book and looking forward to that one. I am really looking forward to all the May releases you’re dying to read too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. American Street looks quite interesting. I’ll make sure to visit for that post. April feels shorter to me, likely because of spring break. May feels hot (90* today!). I’m glad you took some time off. And, I love that you’re prioritizing time for self-care for the blog. I don’t think you need it. 😉 But, I know that it’ll put you in the best of moods to create content for the blog. Give me some of those discussions, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You had a good reading month despite the slump I think.American street looks great and I do like the cover for when Dimple met Rishi,looks like an interesting read.Have a wonderful May and all the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Ms. Marvel! I only read the first volume, but it was so nice reading a diverse Marvel comic for once! I’m also super excited for the new Renée Ahdieh book and When Dimple Met Rishi – there are so many amazing books coming out this month!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

