Spring Cleaning: Bookworm Edition

If you’re like me, when it comes to your books (physical, digital, or ones you only wish you had), you’re a little disorganized. I have an absurd amount of books on my TBR and this number just seems to grow every week. The books on my shelves have no real order and if I’m honest, I own far too many which I’ll probably never open again. My Goodreads shelves lack the kind of organization I see from other users, making me question my lackluster methods. And when it comes to knowing exactly what’s on my TBR, I don’t always know because my Amazon wishlists do not always match what’s on my Goodreads TBR. There’s also the blog to think about as well, I’ve been sitting on a number of posts and I’m not sure they’ll ever be ready to publish. So this month and next, I want to spend some time cleaning out and organizing my bookish life. There is obviously so much to get to, but I wanted to share ten ways I plan on tackling the disorganization and hopefully this gives you a few idea if you’re looking to do a little spring cleaning yourself.

1. Deleting Books on My TBR – If you have only 30 or 300 books on your TBR, it’s always a good idea to evaluate which books you really intend to read and those it’s okay to cross off.

  • What I’ll be doing: Going through the 380 books I currently have on my Goodreads To-Read shelf and delete books I know I won’t be reading. I’m hoping to bring this number way down (under 300?), though that might be too optimistic.

2. Organizing My TBR – Sometimes there are certain books on my TBR that I want to read before any others, but I’m not always good at keeping track of these and before I know it, a year has passed by.

  • What I’ll be doing: Creating a shelf of high-priority reads, so next time I’m trying to figure out what to read next, I’m considering these books first.

3. Book Unhaul  It’s time. I can’t recall when my last unhaul was, but I’m feeling the need to get rid of several books from my shelves.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: Asking myself the tough questions – Do I need this book? Will I reread this one? Is it important for me to keep an old favorite if I’m not really interested anymore? Will I ever finish this series and if not, why do I need to keep these earlier books?

4. Reorganize My Bookshelves – I’ve been meaning to move my books around. There’s really no set way I have them all set up and I’d like to change this.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: I’ve tried almost every way imaginable to organize my shelves and I think the one that works out the best for me is alphabetically. It may seem boring, but I like knowing where books are right off the bat rather than have to study my own shelves to quickly locate a book.

5. Clean Out Blog Drafts – I can’t even tell you how many of my blog drafts are actually posts I plan on publishing. I’m pretty sure some of them are titled but are completely blank.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: Completely all those drafts I have that are currently collecting dust. Deleting any I haven’t the time to do or are not interested in anymore.

6. Create/Organize Library Holds Lists – My library’s website allows me to create lists of items and I’ve been using this to try and keep track of books I’d like to request, but they are currently not as organized as I’d like.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: Creating several different lists to help me decide what to request for hold next. This should also help when I’m floundering about what to read next.

7. Reconcile Amazon and Goodreads Lists – I have several (small estimate, it’s probably in the dozens) books on one platform that aren’t on the other.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: Doing a lot of back and forth between the two platforms to ensure whatever books are on my TBR on one are also on the other.

8. Get Blogging Planner Up-to-Date – Whenever I get into a slump, I start slacking when it comes to my blogging planner. I have been slacking big time.

  • What I’ll Be Doing: Take some serious time working on my blogging planner. The farther ahead I plan, the better.

9. Put Unwanted Books Up For Sale – This is something that’s been bouncing around in my head for a while, but I’m thinking of putting the books from my unhaul up for sale.

  • What I’ll Be Doing – I’m giving myself until the end of summer to sell any books I can and whatever is left over, I’ll be donating. I really have no idea how I’ll be doing this, but if you have any experience doing so, I’d love to hear from you. I’ve been thinking of putting them up on half.com, Amazon, or setting up a Paypal account and doing it myself.

10. Lowering the Number of People I Follow – Do you ever look at your Twitter, Bloglovin, or WordPress account and wonder why you follow so many people if you don’t interact with them?

  • What I’ll Be Doing: I’ve already started cleaning out my bloglovin account. It’s actually kind of sad seeing how many bloggers I still follow whose blogs are no longer active. I also want to evaluate who I’m following based on if we interact and if I ever visit their blog. I really want to clean up my feeds, so the people and blogs I’m interested in following don’t get lost among the ones I’m not.

Are you planning any Spring Cleaning this season? When’s the last time you did a book unhaul? How do you organize your TBR list? Have you ever sold any of your books online? Let’s discuss in the comments!

51 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: Bookworm Edition

  1. Good tips! I’ll definitely be organising my goodreads shelves, I think I’m going to add some specific shelves for different topics etc, the priority shelf is a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post really inspired me to do some spring cleaning as well! 🙂 My TBR is a mess and there’s probably loads of books that I added years ago and am not interested in reading anymore. The same applies for some unread books on my shelf! I really don’t know what’s the best way to get rid of these books, I’ll probably just end up donating them! Loved the post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I can totally relate because I always spring clean my TBR when I have the time, and I’m glad to know you have a library request list too. I thought I was alone because it seems many readers would rather buy than borrow books.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like a great plan! I love re-organising my shelves and always get so invested in it once I get started. I definitely need to clear out some of my blog drafts, I think I have about 12 sitting there waiting to be finished right now, so knowing that you’re going to be doing that is inspiring me to do it too. Thanks for being such a great comment partner during March. I’ve loved interacting with you and it’s been so much fun to discuss a variety of different topics with someone new! I’ll definitely be checking out all your new posts, regardless of the fact that it’s now April! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I actually remove people that follow my blog if they don’t interact. I love my blog planner, I don’t plan too far in advance, I just plan week to week. These are amazing tips. I have A running unhaul stack, meaning I just keep adding books to it until there’s enough to unhaul. These are some really useful tips and tricks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I struggle to stick to a TBR so tend to only look a few weeks ahead – concentrating on arcs and recent releases. There are so many books on my kindle and bookshelves that I haven’t read and can’t see myself getting to anytime soon! Love the idea of a spring clean and focusing on what you really want to read. I also need to get a blogging schedule in place – mine are all over the place at the moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is the perfect time for this list Alicia! I need to go through and reevaluate my GoodReads TBR but I hate how slow that page is. I’ve actually got a day planned for going through my “library” (aka the cat’s room) to clean up bookstagram stuff and any books I need to get rid of!

    I love how Spring makes us motivated to start afresh!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I really really really love this idea. My TBR, bookshelves and draft posts are all out of control. I tend to hoard books I know I’ll never read then go on donation spurts then hoard for another couple years so I’d say it’s about time. Your post has given me a good boost of motivation, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Only 380 books, Alicia?! I can’t even count that far. Ok, I could, but you get my gist. 😀 Good luck with you spring cleaning. As much as I tease you, it’s so cathartic when it’s all done. Personally, I don’t have any cleaning plans. Perhaps it’s because my mind is already on the sunny beaches of Hawaii.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ugh, I hate cleaning, and I even hate the thought of doing bookworm related cleaning! I have SO MANY books on my Goodreads and Amazon lists that it isn’t even funny…the Goodreads ones l leave on there for the sake of giveaways, but sometimes it gets out of control. I also have way too many books on my shelves, so I get that.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This was such an interesting post! I’m now feeling super-motivated to re-organise my bookshelves! I have recently had to go through my Amazon wish list as it was somehow full of books that I’ve already bought or have lost interest in. I really need to go through my Goodreads TBR shelf too, as there are about 300 books on there and I will have definitely lost interest in quite a few of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is such a good idea! I’m always thinking because I’m travelling that I don’t need to worry about spring cleaning my books (considering all my physical books are thousands of miles away) but my Goodreads TBR is edging up to 1000 and I have so many unread Kindle books. Organising is definitely in the cards! I think I’m going to create a shelf on books on my TBR that I actually have on my Kindle so I don’t go buying new books when I already own so many.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love that you’ve set these goals for yourself! I *started* a massive GR overhaul over the holidays and haven’t had time to finish, but I’m loving that I streamlined my shelves and I created a “High Priority TBR” shelf too (I haven’t kept up with it but I found it super helpful when I was able to!) I need to unhaul a LOT of books too. All of my unread books are on one shelf that my BF likes to refer to as my “shelf of shame” haha

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I delete books from my Goodreads TBR periodically and just got rid of 200 recently! There are still so many but since it’s my main source of literally any book I might want to read ever, it’s ok. I like your shelf idea! I do something similar; I make piles of books I want to read soon so that they’ll stay in my line of sight and hopefully actually get read! I also started keeping an Excel sheet two years ago, it’s not super involved but I needed a way to track the challenges I was part of, and I like seeing what I read arc/owned/library wise. But I use it as sort of a priority TBR too. Although the pressure was too much recently and I deleted everything I had written for the upcoming months lol (I still kept it as another tab just in case). I usually stay about a month ahead TBR wise but since I’m so moody, I don’t always stick to them or I move things around. I love making lists but not sticking to lists 😛 I have my books organized roughly by genre. Again, mood reading. Love the library holds idea! I made a goodreads shelf but I should see if my library has something… I unhauled a good number of books recently (30ish?) and it felt really good to get rid of them- I put some of the arcs in those Little Free Libraries (do you know about those?!They’re so neat!) and pubbed books to my local used bookstore. I heard the guy say as I walked away “The teen girl who comes in here all the time is going to be so excited!.” Sorry for the ginormous comment, I clearly relate to this post haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, 200? That’s pretty amazing! I have a shelf of unread books separate from my other books as well. I’ve seen several bloggers use excel sheets and the like to keep track of all there reading and while I really like the idea, I’m almost afraid I’ll fall down the rabbit whole of organization and spend far too much time organizing my books instead of reading them.

      I completely understand about mood reading. I can’t make monthly TBR lists anymore since I’m all over the place and then I feel guilty if I don’t get to everything. I have heard of Little Free Libraries. I’ve never come across one before, but maybe someday I’ll come across one.

      I loved you ginormous comment! I really appreciate how thoughtful your comments are ❤

      Like

  15. Alicia, one thing that really helped me was to organize my Goodreads shelves by where the books were actually located. I have Kindle and Nook shelves (2 separate shelves). I have so many books that I’m not willing to buy many, so I have a Want To Buy shelf (there are only about 5 books on it). I have separate shelves for the two libraries in my area. I went this route a few years ago and it has helped me stay super organized. I also wrote a post a while back about getting rid of books that I believe you commented on. My rule is I’ll re-read it, I’ll teach it, or I’m on the fence and this book is not at the library (so I keep it). In terms of selling books, I’ve discovered that unless I’m selling a brand-new, super popular book, it’s not worth it. Both Amazon and Half.com take so much money from you that you’re almost paying to sell the book. Amazon, in fact, will take part of your shipping reimbursement because they think of that as “profit.” It’s not. You can end up earning pennies, but consider the gas you used to get to the post office and you’re in the hole. I would do a yard sale instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. God I relate to this so much! Think I’ll probably follow your example on most of these (especially getting rid of books I am never going to read and sorting out my blog schedule/drafts!) – great post! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves & Wrappin’ It Up March 2017 | Confessions of a Book Geek

Share your thoughts here!

