Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’17

MonthlyWrap-UPMuch to my own astonishment, I picked up seven books this month. I say astonishment because I’ve been combating a bit of a reading slump these past couple of weeks. I could read, but I really had to make myself pick up a book. This month I participated in a readalong of Jane Austen’s Emma which I found so enjoyable. I’m planning on taking a little blogging hiatus in April, so you can look for that post around the 12th. I feel myself falling into a blogging/reading funk and I don’t want to continue to force myself into finishing posts/books. This month I also posted my book haul for the last three months and surprisingly, I wasn’t as out of control as I thought I was. Progress, people.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.)

Favorite Book This Month:

If you’re breathing, you’ve probably heard of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give. If this book isn’t on your TBR, it needs to be. Buy it. Request it. Read it.

Least Favorite Book This Month:

All the books I read this month received a positive rating from me.

Reviews Posted This Month:

Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

(covers linked to Goodreads)

Notable Blog Posts This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR List – I’ve stopped making TBR lists every month, but every once in a while I don’t mind taking a look forward and sharing what books I’m hoping to get to.

2017 First Quarter Book Haul – I bought some really amazing books these last three months. I’ve read quite a few and the rest are ones I’m really excited to pick up.

Reading Challenges:

I’m starting to fall behind on my Flights of Fantasy challenge. I’ve been meaning to pick up more fantasy books, but I just haven’t really found the time.

1. The 2017 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I read two debuts: The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera and The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

  • Challenge Goal: 12 books; Current Count: 8 books

2. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017 is hosted by Alexa Loves Books and Hello, Cherry. This month I read The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco.

  • Challenge Goal: 20 books; Current Count: 5 books

April Releases I’m Excited For:

   

Month in Review

Which March read was your favorite? What’s on your spring TBR? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

23 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’17

  1. Yes it can be hard getting into a reading/blogging funk and best to take small break before big burn out. I know of a blogger whose blog and reviews I loved burnt out and never read a book for 7 months after and never came back to blogging. I have just seen the The Hate U Give on another blog as the top fav too. Very relevant to the USA and indeed even a country like my own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s always good when all the books you read are enjoyable and you feel positive about them. That makes a good month for me too 🙂

    I must get to The Hate You Give, I’ve heard so many rave reviews for it!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

