Top Ten Tuesday: Ten of the Shortest Books I’ve Read & Loved

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Read In One Sitting Theme: ten of the shortest books I’ve read, top ten books I read in one sitting, ten books to read when you are short on time, top ten books that will make you read the whole day away, etc.” I really wanted to do ten books you can read in one sitting, but I don’t often read books this way. I need breaks (I get hungry, people), even if the book is short. I was actually surprised by the number of short books I’ve pick up when I looked at my Goodreads shelf. It turns out though, I didn’t love most of them. I was hoping to stay under 200 pages, but couldn’t quite find ten books to include that way. Anyway, here are ten of the shortest books I’ve read and happen to love.  Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=  

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Page count: 216

2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Page count: 180

3. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Page count: 179

4. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Page count: 211

5. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Page count: 224

 alt=

6. Night by Elie Wiesel

Page count: 109

7. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard

Page count: 126

8. Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Page count: 220

9. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Page count: 178

10. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Page count: 212

Do you read books in one sitting? What was the last book you did? Favorite short book you wish more people read? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten of the Shortest Books I’ve Read & Loved

  1. I am currently reading A Monster Calls. However, I have a lot going on so its taken me more than one sitting. The last book that I read in one sitting was Wrecked by Maria Padian. It was more about the book being captivating than it being short though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t often read books that are very short, but recently i’ve been looking for them more actively. It’s nice to finish a book in one sitting or 2 days. I loved the paper magician and the ocean at the end of the lane was pretty cool as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s funny how there are some great books that are relatively short. Not to mention novellas. I like a good short read once in while, they don’t all have to be doorstoppers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice list! I’ve been meaning to check out The Lunar Chronicles. I used to be able to read shorter books in one sitting, but that was before I had kids…
    Here is my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to read books in one sitting all the time but it’s gotten harder as I’ve gotten older because it seems like there’s always something that needs attention. I didn’t realize Ocean at the End of the Lane was so short. I had it in my head it was huge for some reason!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I still need to read Fairest! But I have yet to see a copy of it anywhere. And A Monster Calls was so good – I might just have to reread that pretty soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was just thinking about Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane just yesterday. I don’t think I read it in one day but maybe two. That book has really stuck with me mostly because of the tremendous writing. Same thing goes for Great Gatsby. But then everyone thinks that book is fabulous, right? I’ve heard good things about Flipped.
    My TTT, a day late

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

