Emma Readalong: Announcement & Invitation

emmareadalong

One of my goals for this year is to participate in a couple of buddy reads. I haven’t done many since joining the community, but I find having someone to read with can be a great motivator when it comes to tackling those books you’ve been putting off. I’m a huge Jane Austen fan. I have far too many editions of her books and literally (okay, not literally) thrive off of adaptations. But strangely enough, I have never actually read her novel Emma. I’ve seen a number of adaptations and feel like I know the story quite well, but it is the only novel by her that I haven’t read.

Earlier this year I reached out to Jolien @ The Fictional Reader to see if she’d be interested in doing a buddy read and she said yes. Beginning March 10th, we’ll be reading Emma, but we’d also like to invite you to join us! If you’re a fan of Jane Austen like I am and would like to buddy read with us, we’d love to have you! If you haven’t read anything by her or are just trying to pick up more classics, you’d be a great addition to our buddy read as well!

The Details:

  • Readalong will run from March 10th-March 31st
  • Emma is divided into three volumes, so we’ll be tackling a volume a week
  • Use the hastag #EmmaRAL to track your progress while you read
  • We’ll be forming a DM group to have more in depth discussions regarding the book

If you are interested in joining us, you can leave a comment on this post or Jolien’s. Just leave us your Twitter handle, so we can add it to the group DM. You can also reach out to us on Twitter: Jolien @fictionalreader and Alicia @booknonsense. We look forward to you joining us for this readalong!

27 thoughts on “Emma Readalong: Announcement & Invitation

  1. This is my best friend’s favorite book and she’s been trying to get me to read it for a REALLY long time. I just keep getting distracted by other books! Twitter @3714Bookdragon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awe, the original story in which a strong, beautiful, witty heroine meets a dark mysterious gentleman–a story in which retellings have been based on, re-invented, and inspired by. I’m swamped this March, but enjoy, Alicia! It took you long enough! Says the person who hasn’t read it yet. I love giving you flack, my dear. hehehe…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: March TBR

  4. This looks like fun. I read Emma long time ago and am reading Persuasion right now. But I would love to follow the readalong and see your discussion. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

