Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’17

MonthlyWrap-UPDespite only reading six books this month, I still feel like I had a really good reading month. I wanted to get through more books, but the short month made that kind of impossible (why?!) and before I knew it, I was rushing to finish my final book of the month. I bought far too many books in February and may have to restrict myself for the next couple of months. I’ll have a book haul post up at the end of March, so you can see how out of control I’ve been (so much shame).

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.)

Favorite Book This Month:

I read a couple of five-star books this month, but I really want to highlight Tiffany D. Jackson’s Allegedly. I literally finished the book, closed it, and let out a “wow.” It is my favorite book I’ve read so far this year. If you haven’t read this one, please do!

Least Favorite Book This Month:

All the books I read this month received a positive rating from me.

Reviews Posted This Month:

Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

(covers linked to Goodreads)

Notable Blog Posts This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wish Had More Relevant Female Characters – Would love it if authors put more energy into writing more than one strong female character in their books.

Top Ten Tuesday: Romance Tropes I Kind of Love – In honor of Valentine’s Day, I shared my favorite romance tropes.

Kernels of Nonsense: Are ARCs Worth it? – In which I discuss my thoughts on ARCs and my hiatus from requesting them.

The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag – Loved this tag so much. A look at some gorgeous book covers, back covers, and everything in between.

Reading Challenges:

Didn’t quite get a chance to pick up as many fantasy books as I would have liked, but still making progress…

1. The 2017 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Once again, I read three debuts (I’m on fire, I know): Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza, Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson, and Heartstone by Elle Katharine White.

  • Challenge Goal: 12 books; Current Count: 6 books

2. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017 is hosted by Alexa Loves Books and Hello, Cherry. I’m still sticking to a more rigid definition of fantasy, so even though I read a couple of books that could be considered both fantasy and science-fiction, I won’t be counting them. This month I read the following fantasy books: Elle Katharine White’s Heartstone and V.E. Schwab’s A Conjuring of Light.

  • Challenge Goal: 20 books; Current Count: 4 books

March Releases I’m Excited For:

 

Month in Review

How was your February? What’s your favorite book so far this year? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

29 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’17

  1. I’ve read several positive reviews on Allegedly and I’m hating that I still can’t find it on my local bookstores. I’m also excited for A Crown of Wishes!! Hope you have a great month ahead, Alicia! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Allegedly is second on my March TBR to The Hate U Give, which I’m really excited about. I’ve seen mixed reviews of Allegedly. I’m interested to see for myself. It looks like you read some awesome books this month. Happy March!

    eli @ the (book) supplier

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like you had a great month this month Alicia! I read Gilded Cage and Aristotle and Dante in Jan/Feb too, so I’ll have to check out your reviews of them. (I’ve reviewed Aristotle and Dante but not Gilded Cage yet.) My copy of A Conjuring of Light just arrived today so I’m going to dive into that straight away and I’m looking forward to your review! I’m also desperate to read Nimona and Empress of a Thousand Skies – looks like we have pretty similar tastes in books. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

