Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would (recently or all time).” High expectations can really ruin a read if the book in question doesn’t live up to the hype. Sometimes it’s hype from fellow bloggers and publishers and sometimes it’s your own expectations that can work against you. Whatever the case, I know everyone has experienced picking up a book, so sure they’d be blown away, only to realize that no, you will not be sharing in all the hoopla surrounding said book. Here are ten books I read in the last year(ish) that I had high expectations for, but ultimately let me down. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=  

1. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – Everyone loves this one and being a huge fan of her book A Madness So Discreet, I went in thinking I was going to love this one too. I liked facets of it, but was kind of let down.

2. How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather – I’m still baffled by the fact that so many bloggers loved this, but it just ended up being okay for me.

3. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – I might be the only blogger who didn’t love this debut. I just really didn’t like any of the characters and thought the story itself wasn’t all that compelling.

4. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han – I love love love Lara Jean. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is one of my favorite contemporary books, but this sequel really let me down. The characters lacked the kind of charisma I loved about them from the first book. I was so disappointed that I’m not sure I’ll be picking up the third book.

5. The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron – I loved Rook so much, but this more recent release by Cameron did absolutely nothing for me. The story was just okay and quite honestly, I remember next to nothing about the characters.

 alt=

6. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers – We could have been soulmates! I love assassin stories, so I jumped on this one immediately despite it being a debut. I wish I had waited.

7. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – I think I need to accept the fact that this author and I don’t mesh well. I loved her debut Brightly Woven, but nothing since then has moved me.

8. Love, Lies, and Spies by Cindy Anstey – Jane Austen elements should make this one a delightful read for me, but alas, I found it pretty boring.

9. When We Collided by Emery Lord – So many bloggers love this one and I expected to as well considering how much I enjoyed The Start of Me and You, but it’s another book I’m puzzled over not liking.

10. Gilded Cage by Vic James – My most recent letdown. When I picked this one up, the Goodreads rating was really high and early reviewers were raving about it. I think I might have read a different book because I’m not sure what was so impressive about it. Yikes, that’s harsh.

I hate to ask, but…did you enjoy any of these even though I didn’t? What was the last read you went into with high expectations that ended up disappointing you? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

cc-banner-march-1Special Note: There are only a few days left to sign up for the Winter 2017 Comment Challenge for March. This is the final month for the winter challenge and we’d love for you to join us. We’ll be partnering you with another book blogger and all month long you will be encouraged to comment on each other’s blogs. Click the image to the left for all the info. Special thanks to all those who have participated this season. Note: the final day to sign-up will be the 25th.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. I’ve been on a fence about reading Gilded Cage. People seem to either adore it or abhor it. No middle ground. Last one I read that I had high expectations on was Six of Crows. 4.45 rating on Goodreads and the description seemed right up my alley. It was such a let down. I couldn’t get through more than twenty pages at a time before I’d get bored and put it down. Same with Caraval. Sounded great, so much hype, and then took the fast train to dullsville.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have Assassin’s heart and Passenger , I am hoping that I like them whenever i read them.
    I stopped reading books when there is too much hype about them, because I always expect some epic story but when i read it I get all disappointed .
    Sorry you did not enjoy the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had the exact same reaction to The Female of the Species! A Madness So Discreet is one of my favorite books, so of course I went into The Female of the Species with ridiculously high expectations… and it did not live up to them. I’m trying to have more reasonable expectations for Mindy McGinnis’ next book (This Darkness Mine) because I really want to like it.

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know I’ve seen a few of these around, and even considered reading Love, Lies and Spies, but I’ve had a few well hyped books that I was geeked about turn out to be disappointing. Always a bummer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The only one of these I’ve read and liked is P.S. I Still Love You. I thought it was really cute, even if it wasn’t as good as the first one. I was also quite disappointed by the ending.
    As for the others, I couldn’t even finish The Female of the Species or Passenger. I was also super disappointed by When We Collided after loving Emery Lord’s last book.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes I just think certain books (like To All the Boys) should remain standalones. I was really sad that I didn’t love The Female of the Species. I loved her book A Madness So Discreet. I picked up Passenger because everyone loved it, but should have listed to my gut. When We Collided was okay, but I had high expectations because of her last book.

      Like

      • I actually thought it was a standalone when I read it, so I was a little disappointed when I heard about the sequel. And now I third one! I think I’m done.

        I’m glad you liked A Madness So Discreet! It’s on my TBR.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved To All The Boys I Loved Before too, so I’m bummed to hear you didn’t enjoy the second one. I was really worried of that happening so I didn’t read it for that reason. lol! I hate when a sequel ruins the series for me. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The worst is when a favorite author’s book is a disappointment! I’ve been wanting to try Mindy McGinnis but I think I might want to start with A Madness So Discreet. It’s tragic that Love Lies and Spies didn’t work because it sounds like it has the potential to be amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I honestly liked P.S. I Still Love You but I have to agree that it’s not as good as To All the Boys… I feel that it tried to fit in a number of things in 300 or so pages since this series was supposed to be a duology. I’m still looking forward to reading the third book though.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

