Top Ten Tuesday: Romance Tropes I Kind of Love

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “All About Romance Tropes/Types — top ten favorite hate-to-love romances (from books or movies or tv), top ten favorite (or least favorite) instalove romances, favorite slow-burn romances, favorite starcrossed lovers, etc. etc. Can go so many ways with this one).” This week I’m listing romantic tropes that I find really hard to resist (though I admit, some are harder to resist than others like the slow burn and love/hate relationship). Last year I listed romantic tropes I can’t stand (click here to take a look), so this year I thought I’d stay more positive. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Slow Burn – My all-time favorite romantic trope is the slow burn. I live for the slow burn. I love the agony of waiting, I love the build up of tension, I love the ultimate payoff of seeing the relationship develop and then happen (hopefully with a swoon-worthy kiss). I’m always, always up for a slow burn romance.

  • Book recommendation: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

2. Enemies to Lovers – I think part of the reason I like this trope is the slow burn aspect of it (if it isn’t slow burn, you’re doing it wrong). I love the potential for character development with this trope because it means that both characters’ world views are going to be challenged.

  • Book recommendation: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

3. Fake Relationships – Is the fake relationship trope extremely predictable? Yes. Do I end up enjoying it despite this fact? Absolutely. Sometimes you should just enjoy the ride.

  • Book recommendation: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

4. Friends to Lovers – This trope sometimes works for me and sometimes doesn’t. I have to really believe that the two characters have a connection beyond friendship.

  • Book recommendation: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

5. Arranged Marriage – I never thought that this would be something that I’d really enjoy, but you know what, I kind of really enjoy arranged marriage plots, especially when it’s a slow burn (anyone really surprised?).

  • Book recommendation: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

 alt=

6. Assassin to Lover – I’m not sure what the official name for this type of plot would be called and I know some people may lump it in with Enemies to Lovers, but I’m particularly prone to love any plot that starts off with one character wanting/ordered to kill another and failing for whatever reason. I haven’t found too many books like this that I love, but I’m always intrigued whenever a book with this plot creeps up.

  • Book recommendation: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

7. Former Love Rekindled – This is one trope that I never really thought I was interested in, but there are some really good ones out there and I’d really like to see more of it.

  • Book recommendation: For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

8. Fairytale Retellings – I love fairytale retellings so much. Really, I’m up for anything, but I will say that less-familiar fairytale retellings are much more interesting.

  • Book recommendation: Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

9. Love/Hate Relationship – Another trope that I’m not sure what to call it, but I always associate it with Pride and Prejudice. It’s that I-really-don’t-like-you-but-somehow-we-still-have-this-connection-and-I’m-going-to-deny-it-for-as-long-as-possible kind of thing (slow burn here).

  • Book recommendation: Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

10. You’ve Got Mail – Pen pals without knowing the other person’s identity? Yes, I will read all the books that do this! Like the fake relationship trope, it can be predictable, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it.

  • Book recommendation: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Do you enjoy any of these romantic tropes? What is your favorite romantic trope? Have any recommendations based on the tropes I listed? Please share! Be sure leave a link to your own TTT post as well, so I can visit.

cc-banner-march-1Special Note: Sign-ups for the Winter 2017 Comment Challenge for March are now open. This is the final month for the winter challenge and we’d love for you to join us. We’ll be partnering you with another book blogger and all month long you will be encouraged to comment on each other’s blogs. Click the image to the left for all the info. Special thanks to all those who have participated this season! Note: the final day to sign-up will be the 25th.

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Romance Tropes I Kind of Love

  1. I’m totally into #1, #2, #3, #4, #7, and #9!! Slow burn might just be my fave though ’cause I don’t want characters getting things on right from the first few chapters or something. just not. And now, I should finally read Grave Mercy. it’s been sitting on my kindle for a couple of years now.

    awesome list, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I love your take on the freebie! So creative. I also agree with so much. I really enjoyed The Winner’s Curse (need to read the rest of the series though) and The Wrath & the Dawn is also a favorite. And Truthwitch was a love one too. Some of the other recommendations I haven’t read yet but I do like those types so will have to check them out! The Lost & Found is good for #10 also! My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a fantastic post! I love all the tropes you included in this list. One that particularly caught my eye was assassin to lover. As I haven’t read Truthwitch yet, I didn’t know that was the trope that took place, but now I am incredibly intrigued to read it immediately 👀. Tell Me Three Things was one of my favorite reads last year! It was a very cute and quick read that lifted my spirits tremendously. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 Here’s my Top Ten for the week if you’re interested!

    Lillie @Little Lillie Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Love Truthwitch, but will say that this particular trope is kind of an ongoing thing, but the slow burn is kind of my thing, so I totally approve. Yes to Tell Me Three Things. When I want a pick-me-up kind of read, the You’ve Got Mail and Fake Relationship books are the ones I reach for.

      Like

  4. Awe…these are wonderfully romantic choices. Your TTT has really put me in the mood for a slow-burn romance. And, I absolutely agree that the payoff makes it so enjoyable. I’m curious about Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier. I’m not familiar with this one. I love that I can always count on you for something new and interesting. Happy Val’s Day, Alicia. Eat an extra chocolate, buy another book…you well deserve it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m a big fan of the arranged marriage trope. I have no idea why but it hooks me every time! Fairy tale retellings are one I really want to read more of. I’ve really enjoyed the ones I’ve read but I haven’t read nearly enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “if it isn’t slow burn you’re doing it wrong”. This speaks to me on a spiritual level. I’m such a sucker for any kind of slow burn romance.
    Also, thank you for reminding me that I really need to read Grave Mercy. Great list 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Slow burn is the ultimate!!!! And you’re right, it goes so well with enemies to lovers (my other fave) for obvious reasons. Fake relationships are so fun; there’s a reason I love predictable tropes because when they’re done well they are So. Good. And I don’t care that they’re predictable! Oh man Love/Hate is THE BEST. I guess I lump it with “enemeies” a lot even if they’re not enemies. I love that you named it You’ve Got Mail! This is an excellent list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’17 | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

