Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

stalking-jack-the-ripper-by-kerri-maniscalcoTitle: Stalking Jack the Ripper
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper, #1
Pages: 326
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson
Release Date: September 20th 2016

      “Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.
      Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

swirl (2)

“Everything was most certainly not okay, and this was no mathematical equation; my hands were covered in blood. I frantically wiped them off on my bodice, but it was no use. Blood stained my fingers in a crimson accusation.”

Stalking Jack the Ripper is a nice blend of thrills and mystery. With a likable protagonist and detail-oriented story, this work of historical fiction was really fun to read. Jack the Ripper stories can be really intriguing as they are based on a mystery that’s never been solved and authors can do what they will when it comes to filling in the blanks. Though novels that center around the idea that the forward-thinking protagonist is not like other girls in her time period can be annoying at times, I still enjoyed reading about how Audrey Rose defied societal expectations and appreciated that most of the men in her life helped her instead of hindering her ambitions. I also liked that the author was sure not to put down other females or femininity itself in order to elevate the protagonist.

Aside from a couple of instances where I found it frustrating that Audrey Rose made the foolish mistake of wandering alone at night by herself with a serial killer on the loose, the protagonist was a character I could really get behind. Her interest in science stems from her mother’s passing and her eccentric uncle’s work with the dead, both as a professor and an assistant to the police, help her achieve her goals. Despite Stalking the Ripper‘s commitment to detail, the story does gloss over the fact that Audrey Rose’s grandmother was from India. I think this could have been a really defining and interesting part of the protagonist’s identity, but only a couple of times is this mentioned and I would have liked to have heard more about this part of Audrey Rose’s family.

I really liked the exchanges between Audrey Rose and her uncle’s assistant Thomas. He’s a little too sure of his deductive skills, which may drive the protagonist crazy, but also challenges her to be better herself. There were also times where he was sociably awkward one moment and adeptly flirtatious the next, which could be confusing. Stalking Jack the Ripper‘s mystery wasn’t too hard to unravel, as I had a pretty good idea of who the killer was pretty early on, but it was still entertaining to see the mystery unravel and I’m looking forward to seeing what new mystery Audrey Rose solves in the next book.

Rating: 4/5

★★★★

<

30 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

  1. I’m always intrigued by mentions of Jack the Ripper and this one had me so intrigued that I when I scheduled books to read for 2017 this was on my list. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it despite some lost opportunities for the author. And seriously – why do they always go out by themselves when there is a serial killer loose? Never a good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really happy to hear you liked this one! It’s been on my TBR list for ages, but I’ve seen so many mixed reviews of it that I keep putting it off. Clearly it’s amazing, and I’m going to have to pick up a copy and get reading! Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m really glad you liked this because we have pretty similar tastes but I wasn’t sure I would like it because these kinds of books have burned me before haha. I also recently checked it out from my library just to skim over and see if I would like it but now I’m excited to read it! Thanks for the review =)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “…foolish mistake of wandering alone at night by herself with a serial killer on the loose”<–Oh don't you just find that so annoying? There's inevitably always one of these scenes in every thriller/mystery, like main character runs in dark alley with no back-up, or human goes into evil supernatural creature's lair. Haha. It's irritating and silly. Nevertheless, glad you still enjoyed this one, even though you figured who the killer is early. Great review, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: January ’17 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. Pingback: The Friday 56: Stalking Jack the Ripper | A Kernel of Nonsense

  7. I was intrigued with the title of the book!
    It sounds like a good read with a nice balance of thrills and mystery. I guess it’s not too graphic if at all?

    Great review Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

