Top Ten Tuesday: Hidden Gems Read in the Last Two Years

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So.” There are some books that I really love and I’m always shocked to find out that not many fellow bloggers have read them. Here are ten books I’ve read in the last two years that have less than 2000 ratings on Goodreads and that I’d like to see more bloggers read. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Iron Cast by Destiny Soria – How is it that not many bloggers have read this golden debut? Get on that now!

2. Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia by Jenny Torres Sanchez – I don’t think I’ve come across a single blogger who has read this book. Why? It’s so good!

3. In the Time of Dragon Moon by Janet Lee Carey – Technically, this is part of a series, but each book can be read as a standalone.

4. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova – This debut wasn’t perfect, but it has a lot of promise and the world building was really good.

5. Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff – I’m really surprised that not many bloggers have read this one. It’s really unusual and I just loved it because of this fact.

 alt=

6. The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth Throne – Considering how many ratings the first book got, I was surprised to see this sequel not get as much love. It’s too bad because this second book is even better than the first.

7. The Steep & Thorny Way by Cat Winters – All of Cat Winters’s books are amazing, so it astounds me that not many bloggers have picked up more of her books.

8. Silver Eve by Sandra Waugh – I’ve been waiting for news of a third book in this series, but I’m starting to doubt it will ever be published. It’s a shame because the first two books are really very good.

9. The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell – A beautifully written middle grade novel that deserves more readers.

10. Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall – I’m always partial to books featuring sisters and this one had its own brand of magic which I really liked.

Have you read any of these books? What is the one book you wish more bloggers would read? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

cc-banner-february

Special Note: The Winter 2017 Comment Challenge is well under way. If you’re interested in a fun challenge that gives you the opportunity to connect with other bloggers, consider joining us for February. Sign-ups are now open through the 26th. Click the image to the left for all the info.

58 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hidden Gems Read in the Last Two Years

  1. I’m happy to see Iron Cast on here! I’m still reading it but I can already agree with you. It needs more attention! I’ve been really interested in Labyrinth Lost, it sounds great! I”ve read a couple of Brenna Yovanoff’s books. I need to pick Places No One Knows up! Great list!
    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to add Iron Cast, Labyrinth Lost and Summer of the Mariposas to my TBR. Iron Cast is set in Boston, I’ve heard amazing things about Labyrinth Lost, and the cover of Summer of the Mariposas is so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Huh? I’ve never heard of Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall. The cover caught my attention, but you really have me at sister. I agree sisterly love has it own brand of magic. I’ll have to add that to my TBR. Great list, Alicia!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cat Winters has written so many AMAZING books. The Steep and Thorny Way was only the second book that I read by her back when it came out, but gosh I loved it so much. She has a way with historical writing that just sweeps you into the novel and makes you feel like you’re a part of it! It’s a bummer that hardly anyone I know has read this one, because it really is a gem!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

