Monthly Wrap-Up: December ’16

MonthlyWrap-UPThis wrap-up is going to be pretty quick. The beginning of December went as well as November, but getting a chance to spend time with family during Christmas was a really great way to end the month. I still feel like I’m shaking off that blogging and reading slump that crept up during the month, but I have high hopes for the new year. I got through five books which isn’t bad considering the slump and the holidays.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.)

Favorite Book This Month:

Catherynne M. Valente’s The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making was the final book I read in 2016. It’s a really charming MG novel and I’ll have much more to say in my review soon. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Least Favorite Book This Month:

Erin Summerill’s Ever the Hunted was so very disappointing. It’s a shame, because that cover is gorgeous.

Reviews Posted This Month:

Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

Notable Blog Posts This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books of 2016 – A look back at my favorite books I read in 2016

Winter 2017 Comment Challenge: January Sign-up – The Comment Challenge is back for Winter! If you’d like to join us for February, look for our sign-up post tomorrow.

2016 Fourth Quarter Book Haul – I really ought to buy less books.

End of the Year Book Survey – A look back on my year in reading.

Reading Challenges:

Final reading challenge update for 2016!

1. The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. I read two debuts this December: Erin Summerill’s Ever the Hunted and Kerri Maniscalco’s Stalking Jack the Ripper.

  • Challenge Goal: 12 books; Final Number: 12 books – Success!

2. The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. This month I read three of my own books: Rae Carson’s Like a River Glorious, Ruta Sepetys’s Salt to the Sea, and Catherynne M. Valente’s The Girl Who Circumvented…

  • Challenge Goal: 30 books; Final Number: 31 books – Success!

3. The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. Nothing this month.

  • Challenge Goal: 7 series; Final Number: 8 – Success!

January Releases I’m Excited For:

Month in Review

How was your December? Did you enjoy the holidays? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

29 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: December ’16

  1. Hi,
    Its Lu! I just wanted to say hi on the frstday of the comment challenge and tell you that I’m really excited to be participating!
    P.S:The books that you read look amazing! I’ve read The Sun Is Also A Star, and am about to read Salt to the sea! I havent read another’s, but they look really interesting!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That’s too bad about Ever the Hunted as that cover is gorgeous! You’ve read some fantastic books this month! Stalking Jack the Ripper and Salt to the Sea are both on my TBR and The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making has been on my radar for sometime but I need to add it to my TBR as I’ve heard nothing but raves. Hope your 2017 reading is fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know December can blunt our reading appetite. You did well with your challenges and the MG book looks darling. I am back into the commenting challenge. You two do such a great job with it. Happy New Year. Hope your reading year words out well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on completing all your challenges! It’s a shame Ever the Hunted was disappointing – it really does have such a great cover! But I guess I will give it a miss. I really need to read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland though – it’s been on my wishlist for a long, long time!
    Here’s my Wrap Up and TBR

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

