The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

secret-life-of-a-book-blogger

As many of you know, I’ve been stuck in a reading and blogging slump for over a month. I feel like I’m finally working through my reading slump (I’m actually excited to pick up a book), but I’m still working on this blogging slump. Since I haven’t done a tag post in forever, I thought I’d dig into my drafts to see what was waiting for me. I was tagged by both Shari @ YA Book Monster and Alyssa @ Alyssa is Reading for this particular tag.

1. How long have you been a blogger?

This blog was officially created in November 2013, but didn’t really find its true identity as a book blog until around March 2014, so that’s when I began to really consider myself an “official” book blogger.

giphy

2. At what point do you think you will stop?

Stop book blogging? I can’t really imagine my life without books which is about the only reason I can think of for why I would stop blogging. But seriously, if I just don’t have the time and blogging becomes a permanent burden to me, then I’ll hang up the hat.

giphy

3. What is the best thing about blogging?

Are there greater people than book people? Connecting with other bloggers who feel the same kind of enthusiasm you do over a book is really special.

giphy

4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

When Writer’s Block rears its ugly head. Sometimes writing a review is a breeze, but other times you struggle to find the right words or your brain is just so fried, there’s nothing much going on upstairs. I either push through it and just put something down (then give myself a break and edit it the next day) or close my computer, let my brain relax and try again the next day.

5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

All my graphics were created using Canva. It’s been a lifesaver. I’m not really good at creating graphics. I can obsess over creating the perfect image to use. I haven’t obsessed for a while, but when I do I can obsess for days.

12

6. Who’s your book crush?

How much time do you have? So many, so so many. There’s Richard Campbell Gansey III from the Raven Cycle (those boat shoes), Hector from Fire & Thorns (I might have a thing for Captains of the Guard), Duval from His Fair Assassin (why are you so darn honorable?), Chaol Westfall from Throne of Glass (fight me), Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice (we’ll have to work on that pride issue), Remus Lupin from Harry Potter (*cries forever*), Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows (would consider becoming a criminal for him)…etc, etc.

7. What author would you like to have on your blog?

Juliet Marillier, Jane Austen (need a time machine here), Mary Shelley (ditto), Robin LaFevers, Marie Rutkoski, Renée Ahdieh, Ryan Graudin, so many…

giphy

8. What do you wear when you write your blog?

A blanket. Seriously, I like to get comfy before I start blogging. I’m currently under a blanket now.

9. How long does it take you to prepare?

I’m sort of a note taker, so if I sit down to blog, it’s because I have something specific in mind. Of course, I can spend a long time just staring at my notes hoping for a complete sentence to form at my fingertips.

giphy

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

These are my people! No, we aren’t perfect and yes, some of us would do well to keep quiet and listen to other people who might know more than us, but we find a way to connect from all over the world over our love of books and I think that’s just beautiful.

11. What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

Have fun. Find like-minded bloggers either through memes or Twitter chats. Read what you want. Don’t stress too much. Be ambitious. Make mistakes. Be open. Learn from others.

12. Who do you tag?

Anyone who is looking to do a tag because like me they are stuck in a bit of a blogging slump.

12 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. Yeah, what is it with criminal characters like Kaz that makes them so appealing? If you want more fantastic thieves, I’d highly recommend The Lies of Locke Lamora. Locke is more of an asshole but he’s also whip-smart and basically one of my all-time favorite characters. ❤

    And I second your answer to no. 11! That's a good way to put it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

