Kernels of Nonsense: End of the Year Slump

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a discussion feature on the blog where I discuss blog and book related subjects. I haven’t done a discussion post in a long while, but I wanted to make sure I at least got one more in before the end of the year.

Today I’m discussing something I’ve been experiencing in my reading and blogging life for the last month and that is an end of the year slump. November was an incredibly stressful month for me. I won’t get into all the specifics, but it just felt like everything was going wrong. I took a mini-hiatus from blogging in order to regain my focus, but I never really did get back into the swing of things.

My blog posts for the month of November equaled about half of my posts in October. The only reason I really was able to post anything during and after my hiatus was because I blog a lot in advance. I usually manage to read around seven books a month, but in November I was barely able to finish four. Aside from being pretty busy, I just found it really hard to sit down and focus on reading. Usually my reading slumps are over in a week (if not less). I don’t think I’ve ever been in a reading slump that surpassed a week and a half. It now feels like I’ve been in one for a month. I thought this reading/blogging slump was just a temporary feeling and that by the end of November, I’d finally feel like myself again, but it is now December 11th and I’m not sure the end is coming any time soon.

Instead of enjoying blogging and reading, I’ve had to really push myself. I had planned to do a lot more discussion posts before the end of the year and although I’ve managed to compile quite a list of topics, nothing has me itching to write. In terms of reading, nothing on my shelf is truly speaking to me. I made a November/December TBR list that has very little hope of being fulfilled. I’ve been able to read and get through a few books, but when it comes to sitting down and writing down my thoughts, it’s a struggle (I mean, more of a struggle than usual).

Meeting my Goodreads goal early hasn’t helped things. I’m the type of person who has to meet my goal no matter what. Not having it complete is all the motivation I need, but that’s completely disappeared now that I’ve met my goal. On top of that I’ve reached almost all of my other yearly goals that I signed up for, so that ever-elusive motivation is even harder to find.

Have you experienced an end of the year slump? How do you stay motivated when you’re just waiting for the year to be over? How do you get yourself out of a blogging and/or reading slump? Let’s discuss in the comments.

16 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense: End of the Year Slump

  1. I think for me it works opposite, I’m blogging and reading more near the end of the year. Maybe it’s because I’m more in a homework slump, I just keep procrastinating doing it until the Christmas break. So I have more time to blog and read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If there is one book or series that helps me get out of a reading slump, it’s anything to do with Harry Potter, even if it’s just reading the stories on Pottermore or reading fan fiction. I haven’t really ever been in a blogging slump if I take a break it’s not becasue of a slump, it’s because I need a break. While I do take breaks, I still remain active in the community by reading and commenting on the blogs of others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am actually definitely feeling this right now with reading! Usually it’s the opposite (I read a lot fairly easily but it’s hard to find the energy/time/motivation to come up with blog posts) but now I find that I’m having more post ideas, but I’m currently in the middle of 4 books with no real motivation to pick any of them up. I don’t know if I should just power through or start a new book and see if that gets me out of my slump.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not sure – right now, I’m so busy I barely have time to blog, answer comments, or comment on other people’s blogs. It’s not a blogging slump, really, it’s just this complete lack of time to do it. I’d suggest taking a step back and just… recharging. If you’re forcing yourself to write, you’re probably not enjoying it, which kills the purpose of having a book blog in my opinion.

    Don’t be too hard on yourself, it’s only natural that you’re feeling burnt out and tired after the emotional rollercoaster of the last two months. Take a break, watch some cheesy romance movies, and start again fresh in 2017. Your wellbeing is the most important. We’ll still be here when you come back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, if you’re not enjoying blogging, then what’s the point? I’m just trying to ride it out as I feel pretty confident that this won’t go on forever. I love cheesy romances, especially this time of year. Thanks, Kaja, your words are so encouraging 🙂

      Like

  5. I feel like everyone went through a slow blogging/reading month in November. It really was an AWFUL month. Also, I went through a terrible reading slump for most of last year. What got me out of it was reading the first page of every single book on my shelves until something felt right. And it worked for me because I clicked with a book and read it in a day. I don’t know what to do in case of a blogging slump… you probably just have to wait it out. When you’re reading again, you’ll probably want to blog again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. At the end if the year my teaching gets crazy because the grading piles up, so despite wanting to read very badly, there’s no time. I thought I’d noticed you weren’t around as much as usual! 😔 You could pick five books that you own that look interesting and have everyone vote on which on you should read by Christmas! WordPress has a poll thing you can use.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

