The Friday 56: A Madness So Discreet

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“He’s not familiar with women, but there’s a degree of respect at work. He could’ve tossed her aside, left her naked for everyone to see, but he didn’t.

I accidentally forgot to post this meme during the week of Thanksgiving and then again last week when I had an unfortunate accident with a sword (yes, you read that right, a sword). This week I’m featuring Mindy McGinnis’s A Madness So Discreet. I completely fell in love with this author’s writing and Grace’s story was so compelling, it was hard to stop reading. In this excerpt (taken from page 156) a character discusses the circumstances surrounding the state of a murder victim and what that implies about the killer. Check out my full review of this one here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Goodreads Synopsis:

      “Grace Mae knows madness.
      She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.
      When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.”

31 thoughts on “The Friday 56: A Madness So Discreet

  1. I have this on my Kindle!! I’ve heard really great things about it. I really enjoyed Not a Drop to Drink by this author, so I figured I would look into more works by her. This sounds extremely intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book is waiting ever so patiently on my Kindle for me… I need to seriously make time in the future to read some of the books I’ve been wanting to read for what feels like agggggges! I mean, I love reading review requests and blog tour books…but I keep buying more on top of these, and not reading them! I have a serious book problem.

    Thank you so much for sharing! Here’s my Friday 56, if you’re interested in checking it out–no worries or pressure if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future…and happy Friday! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love Mindy McGinnis. Bit of a short story. I was dusting my shelves, went to put my sword back up and it started to fall. Went to grab it and it separated from its cover as I did so, meaning I grabbed the blade. I’ve got three cut fingers, six stitches, and am now known as Frankenfingers.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

