Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors in 2016

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016.” I read a lot of really good authors for the first time this year and it was really hard to choose only ten. Ultimately, these are the authors that I know I will continue to read books from. Some of them are debut authors, but most are authors I just never got a chance to check out until now and I’m really glad that I did. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Ryan GraudinWolf By Wolf just about ruined me, but it’s also a novel that I could see myself rereading every year (I read it twice this year).

2. Destiny Soria – Β Debut novel Iron Cast was so good. I really appreciated the magical system in this one and that it centered around a female friendship. I cannot wait to read what this author writes next.

3. Francisco X. Stork – I can’t believe I hadn’t picked him up before. The Memory of Light was really powerful and I quickly added his other books to my TBR after this one.

4. April Genevieve Tucholke – I did read a short story by her in Slasher Girls & Monster Boys, but didn’t read a full novel by her until Wink Poppy Midnight. I don’t think many appreciate her writing because she just astounds me and I cannot believe how many people don’t like this book.

5. Heidi Heilig – Another debut author on my list is the talented Heidi Heilig. The Girl from Everywhere was fantastic and I am eagerly awaiting the sequel’s release.

 alt=

6. Laura RubyBone Gap is weird and magical and I just love everything about it. I need more books by this author.

7. Catherynne M. Valente – So Deathless was my first Valente book and although I didn’t love it, I was blown away by her gorgeous writing. I have two more of her books on my shelf (Radiance and The Girl Who Circumnavigated…) which I plan to get to soon.

8. Amy HarmonΒ – Another beautifully written book, The Bird and the Sword felt both familiar and different. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this author’s other novels and I intend to pick them up.

9. Roshani Chokshi – In many ways The Star-Touched Queen felt like a debut and while the story felt a bit underwhelming, there is no denying that Roshani Chokshi is a talented writer and I’m really excited about her next novel.

10. Alwyn HamiltonRebel of the Sands came at a time when I was desperate for a really good read. It ended up being my first five-star book of the year and it was just so entertaining, I actually think I’m going to reread it before the second book’s release.

Have you read any of these authors? Who was your favorite new-to-you author in 2016? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

Special note: The Comment Challenge is back. If you had the pleasure of joining us for our Summer 2016 Comment Challenge where we paired bloggers and encouraged them to comment on each other’s blogs throughout the month, we’d love to have you join us again. And if you aren’t familiar with the challenge, we’d love to have you as well. Sign-ups for January will be open through December 26th. Click on the image to the left for all the info.

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors in 2016

  1. The Iron Cast is number one on my wish list right now! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I plan to buy it and read it as soon as my holiday shopping is done. I also want to read The Star-Touched Queen and The Bird and the Sword soon. Great list!!

    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list this week! I ADORED Deathless, myself–it was my first Valente book as well, and remains to this day one of my FAVORITE reads (I cannot wait for book two; I need it so badly!) There are a few authors on here I haven’t had the chance to check out yet…but hope to, soon!

    Thanks so much for sharing! Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday if you’re interested in checking it out. No pressure or worries if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future, and have a great rest of your Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

