Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’16

MonthlyWrap-UPYes, this wrap-up post is a little late and that’s because I had some expected and unexpected excitement happen at the beginning of December, but that’s for a different post. If I could describe November in one word, it would be stressful. I ended up taking a few days off earlier in the month and never really felt like I ever got back into the swing of things. I’m hoping to regain my blogging focus in December, doing more blogging ahead of schedule and tackling a couple of discussion posts. This month my reading took a big hit. I read only four books, well almost, I had a few pages left to finish up on the first. Honestly, now that I’ve met my Goodreads challenge goal, I don’t feel the need to read as many books.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.)

Favorite Book This Month:

Loved Ryan Graudin’s follow-up to her Wolf By Wolf novel. Blood For Blood was everything I expected and this may go down as my favorite duology ever. Cover is linked to Goodreads, review will be posted soon.

Least Favorite Book This Month:

I only read four books this month and all of them received positive reviews.

Reviews Posted This Month:

Mini Reviews:

I’ve had mini-reviews for Meg Medina’s The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind and Sharon Cameron’s The Forgetting in my drafts for about forever. I finally got an opportunity to post my thoughts on both, which you can check out here.

Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

Look for my reviews of Nicola Yoon’s The Sun Is Also a Star and Mindy McGinnis’s The Female of the Species in December. I enjoyed both, though in entirely different ways. Covers linked to Goodreads.

Favorite Blog Meme Posts This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read if Your Book Club Likes Grey Characters was a really fun post to put together to start off November’s Top Ten Tuesday memes. I’m still looking for suggestions if you have a favorite book that features grey characters.

Reading Challenges:

Once again I’m including my reading challenge progress in this month’s wrap-up post. I feel like I’m really good shape when it comes to accomplishing all of these before the year is out. I hope.

1. The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. I did not have the pleasure of picking up any debut novels this month.

  • Challenge Goal: 12 books; Overall Progress: 10 books

2. The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. This month I read Ryan Graudin’s Blood For Blood, Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s All In from my shelves.

  • Challenge Goal: 30 books; Overall Progress: 28 books

3. The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. This month I finished Ryan Graudin’s duology Wolf By Wolf.

  • Challenge Goal: 7 series; Overall Progress: 8

Books I’m Planning to Read in December:

Month in Review

How was your November? Did you enjoy Thanksgiving? Are you reading more or less as the year comes to an end? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

Special note: The Comment Challenge is back. If you had the pleasure of joining us for our Summer 2016 Comment Challenge where we paired bloggers and encouraged them to comment on each other’s blogs throughout the month, we’d love to have you join us again. And if you aren’t familiar with the challenge, we’d love to have you as well. Sign-ups for January will be open through December 26th. Click on the image to the left for all the info.

13 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’16

  1. I’m sorry Nov. was a stressful month. I hope your grandfather is well.

    Congratulations on achieving your Goodreads challenge. I haven’t, yet. *fretting* I’m excited about your reading selection for Dec., especially Salt to the Sea. I still haven’t read your review for Blood for Blood, so excuse me while I hop on over there. Oh, Yael….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arriving a little late on this post! Sometimes life does get in the face of our reading! I have joined the comment challenge again for January. It is a creative challenge I believe. Off to read your grey characters post!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

