Top Ten Tuesday: Let Us Be Thankful for the Little Things

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Thanksgiving freebie — tell us what you are thankful for! Books you are thankful for!” This is going to be a shout-out post to the little, yet awesome things in a book lover’s life. Click on any image below to enlarge. And a huge Happy Thanksgiving to all those who celebrate!!!

1. Bookmarks – I don’t have a huge collection of bookmarks, but I do have a couple that I just really love and how can anyone say no to those beautiful Book Depository ones they give you?

2. Author Dedications – I know I can’t be the only one who likes to read a book’s dedication before starting a book. C.S. Lewis’s dedication to his goddaughter in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe remains my favorite.

3. Book Swag – I tend to preorder quite a few books throughout the year. It’s nice to get a little something extra when preordering a book.

4. Post-Its – If you’re like me, you don’t like writing in your books, but sometimes it becomes necessary to make a note and this is where post-its come to the rescue. Sometimes I go a little overboard.

5. Little Extras on Hardbacks – I also have this thing where I like to take off the dust jacket to see if there’s any extra special something on the book itself. Sometimes it’s a simple as a little symbol and sometimes it’s lovely like this quote on the hardcover of Destiny Soria’s Iron Cast.

maps

6. Maps – I love maps. I find myself flipping back to a book’s map while reading because it help to picture the world the author has created. I’m all for pushing for maps to be included in every fantasy novel.

7. Pronunciation Guide – Speaking of fantasy novels…Why do authors insist on coming up with the most ridiculous names? It can be a bit much, especially when you have no idea how to pronounce the characters’ names, which is why I love it when a pronunciation guide is included in a novel where I am having trouble with names.

8. Deckled Edges – I kind of dig deckled edges. It gives off this vintage vibe which I love. The only problem is when you are trying to flip through the pages, looking for a specific passage and it becomes impossible.

9. Back-To-School Sales – If you’re like me, you like to keep a review notebook, are in love with colored pens for your blogging planner, and need all the post-it colors in the world. This can get expensive, but thankfully every July/August stores make all these available at a good price when parents are shopping for back-to-school supplies.

10. Matching Spines – Is there any greater feeling than when a series is complete and you line up the spines and they just look so perfect right next to each other?

Do you read book dedications (do you have a favorite)? Do you ever struggle with characters’ names? How to you feel about deckled edges? Let’s talk in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Let Us Be Thankful for the Little Things

  1. I really enjoyed this post. I think I just got to know you a little bit better. And yes, I love reading book dedications too. Now you can find comfort in knowing there is another out there who is as crazy about books as you. =) I also am grateful for my kindle/ipad. When I travel, I take comfort in bringing my stories with me without the heft.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love maps so much! They help me visualize the world and sometimes I get so lost without them.

    And I love that hardback of Iron Cast. That book was amazing and to get a quote like that as a bonus! Nice.

    And yeah, I read both book dedications and acknowledgements. They’re fun to read and sometimes reveal a lot about the author!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

