The Friday 56: Iron Cast

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“You’ve heard the phrase mind over matter?” she asked. “Well, that doesn’t apply here. When I recite, I give you whatever image I want, but I don’t have to convince you it’s real. Your own imagination does it for me. It’s a rare person who can overcome their own mind, and the better your brain works, the stronger the illusion.

I simply adored Destiny Soria’s debut novel Iron Cast. If you like your historical fiction to come with a bit of a fantasy twist, I’d recommend this one. Here one of the characters is explaining her ability to create an illusion simply by reciting a line from a book. You can read my full review here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

Goodreads Synopsis:

      “It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.”

27 thoughts on “The Friday 56: Iron Cast

  1. I’ve been seeing this cover EVERYWHERE lately, it seems, but haven’t really taken the time to look it up. After that quote, though, I think I might just have to change my mind–it seems SUPER intriguing and I want to know what’s going on! So…adding to my ‘want to read’ list? Most likely–thanks for that!

    Here is my Friday 56, if you’re interested in checking it out! No pressure or worries at all if you’re not, though. Happy book-ing to you in the near future, and happy Friday! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

