Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movie Adaptations

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Movie Freebie.” I know in the past I’ve been known for being very wary of movie adaptations and in general I really don’t look forward to them, but I thought I’d take the opportunity this week to list ten of my favorite movie adaptations. These favorites don’t change my opinion that movie adaptations in general are letdowns and sometimes it’s just better to leave certain stories on the pages, but I enjoy these quite a bit.

1. Pride & Prejudice (2005) – I know a lot of people are staunch P&P BBC fans, and although I really like it too, the 2005 movie version is still one of my favorites. This rain scene…ah, be still my beating heart. Whenever I’m feeling down, this is my go-to movie.

2. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001) – I’m not sure a movie has ever cast a spell on me quite like this first HP movie did. I saw this one in the theater more times than I will admit here, but who can blame me? I love all the Harry Potter movies, but this one has a special place in my heart.

3. The Outsiders (1983) – I adore this movie adaptation so much. I think The Outsiders was the first book I ever loved and this movie brings me to tears every time I watch it. Also, it does not escape my attention that all these boys are prettier than I am.

4. To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) – This may be the greatest movie adaptation of all time. I actually think I watched this movie before reading the novel. Both are almost flawless.

5. The Princess Bride (1987) – One of the rare cases where I actually think the movie is better than the book, The Princess Bride really is a modern classic. How can you not be charmed by this one?

6. Anne of Green Gables (1985) – I love love love this movie so much. Don’t tell anyone, but I think I may like it more than the book. Megan Follows is such an amazing Anne Shirley, I don’t think anyone else will ever compare.

7. Flipped (2010) – You know when a story is changed so much in order to adapt it to film and you hate it? This wasn’t the case with Flipped. Even though the time period is different, I loved this adaptation so much. It so cute, I can’t even.

8. Misery (1990) – This is a really good adaptation of Stephen King’s Misery. Actually, I think Kathy Bates’s Annie Wilkes is only half as frightening as the one on the page. I get chills thinking about this character.

9. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (2005) – This movie is oh so charming. The Pevensies are simply too adorable and I just love every one of them. I actually want to rewatch this one right now.

10. Sense & Sensibility (1995) – I really like this version of Sense & Sensibility, both Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet are wonderful in this one (also I just adore Alan Rickman’s Colonel Brandon).

How do you feel about movie adaptations? What’s your favorite? Did you enjoy any on my list? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

72 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Movie Adaptations

  1. I liked the 2005 P&P a lot. And the locations- the house, that gazebo thingie for the rain scene (I know it’s not a gazebo, not sure what to call it). The locations were excellent in that movie. The Outisders! Love it. And SO MANY stars before they were stars… wow. Princess Bride too- one of the best ever?

    I’m also a big fan of the ’95 S & S. Love Emma Thompson and I thought Rickman was great as Brandon. That’s a movie I’d like to own but I don’t have that one…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have watched this P&P version more times than I can count. And you’re completely right, this rain scene is EVERYTHING. I love Darcy here, even if he’s an a**hole.

    Yeah, Harry Potter was so magical. After reading the book, this movie cemented my obsession with the series.

    And I’d add The Lord of the Rings trilogy for sure, it’s fantastic. Not The Hobbit, though, we don’t talk about that. Ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the rain scene so much, I think I did a little swoony when looking for a gif of it for this post. Haha, Darcy has a good heart, despite his arrogance. I still am in awe of that first HP movie. I haven’t read Lord of the Rings (which is why it didn’t make the list), but I think those movies are utterly fantastic!

      Like

  3. I really like the Pride and Prejudice and Narnia adaptations too, and of course Harry Potter goes without saying! I always worry that the adaptation will taint the book if done poorly, which is sadly how I felt about the Mortal Instruments film, so it’s always a relief when books are adapted well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The only ones on this list I have seen are Harry Potter, Misery, and The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. I never read Misery, though. I thought the movie adaptations of Lord of the Rings were done quite well, and I was really let down with the Insurgent adaptation. I’m also weary of book to movie adaptations, as they are not always done well and just a let down.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Meghan Follows Anne is what got me reading the Anne books in the first place! I love the first 2 but refuse to admit the 3rd one exists. I can handle the 2nd being nothing like the book because Anne is still Anne and Gilbert is dreamy. I love The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe too. Everyone looked exactly like I wanted them to look. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so glad you had the 1995 Sense & Sensibility adaptation on your list! Sometimes I feel like nobody pays any attention to Jane Austen’s other works and their adaptations, but that one definitely deserves attention.

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. FLIPPED. ❤ Such a great adaption and it really does a great job staying true to the book. It's a shame not more people know about it. And, of course, Harry Potter and Narnia are fantastic as well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes yes yes! I love almost all of them! Pride & Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility are my favourite Jane Austen movies, next to Emma. I also loved the first Narnia movie and of course The Princess Bride. I will watch Misery after I read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have SO much to say!

    Pride & Prejudice – I never actually finished the book, but I want to. I watched the BBC adaptation and got really into it and tried the book again, and I got much further in to it (I think classics are easier to read and interpret yourself if you’ve seen a true adaptation). I haven’t seen this version yet, but I want to.

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s (Philosopher’s!) Stone – SO MUCH YES. I watch all the movies every Christmas. In fact, I watch them more often than I reread the books, and I want to fix that, because I know I’m forgetting SO much from the originals because I reference movie content more.

    The Outsiders – never read it, never seen it. But I want to do both, in that order. Good to know you love this one, as I don’t hear a lot of people talk about it.

    To Kill a Mockingbird – one of my favourite books of all time. I thought the movie was OK. Good for the time, if a little drawn out? But I LOVE the book.

    The Princess Bride – I want to say never read it, never saw it. But I might have done when I was quite young and can’t remember.

    Anne of Green Gables – I read the first one a LONG time ago. I know I liked it, but I’d like to reread it as an adult, and read the rest of the series. Someday.

    Flipped – never heard of it. Should I seek it out?

    Misery – LOVE the movie, even if it petrifies me. Never read the book. The movie is so good, is the book better?!

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe – never read it, never watched it.

    Sense & Sensibility – I typically struggle with the classics, but my sister wants me to watch this one, so maybe this Christmas? I plan to not move much for a week and do nothing but watch Netflix with my sister lol

    R xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • P&P is one of the few books where I think it’s helpful to watch an adaptation either while reading or before. The language is so different, it takes some time to get used to. I can’t wait for another HP movie marathon this holiday season. You must revisit The Princess Bride, it never grows old. Flipped is super cute if you’re looking for a light middle grade read. I personally thing Misery the book is better, but it’s pretty close regardless. You must watch The Lion, the Witch…it’s got the kind of story magic that reminds me of HP. I hope you get a chance to watch Sense & Sensibility with your sister!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, what a great list. I agree with you about “Pride & Prejudice” – I just love the 2005 adaptation. My favourite book to film adaptations are “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”, “The English Patient”, “Out of Africa” and “Atonement”.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

