The Friday 56: The Cellar

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“I curled up in a ball and sobbed so hard, my lungs started to burn. This can’t be my life. Never before had I felt so utterly alone.

Out of all the horror-themed books I picked up in October, Natasha Preston’s The Cellar might be the most terrifying. Kept in a cellar by her kidnapper, Summer must find a way to survive. Excerpt taken from page 57. Read my full review hereCover is linked to Goodreads.

Goodreads Synopsis:

      “Nothing ever happens in the town of Long Thorpe – that is, until sixteen-year-old Summer Robinson disappears without a trace. No family or police investigation can track her down. Spending months inside the cellar of her kidnapper with several other girls, Summer learns of Colin’s abusive past, and his thoughts of his victims being his family…his perfect, pure flowers. But flowers can’t survive long cut off from the sun, and time is running out…”

25 thoughts on “The Friday 56: The Cellar

  1. This book is on my kindle, waiting ever so patiently for me to pick it up and read…. I really SHOULD do that sometime soon! I imagine it’s a challenging, thought-provoking journey.

    Thank you so so much for sharing! Here’s my Friday 56, if you’re interested! No worries if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the future, and happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

