Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If Your Book Club Likes Grey Characters

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _______________ (if your book club likes historical fiction, inspiring stories, YA books, non-fiction, controversial books to debate about, or pick a specific book).” I love grey characters. I think there is so much to explore when dealing with moral ambiguity. You’re never really sure where these characters stand and often it’s so easy to love them despite the awful things they may do. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling – I think most people think of Snape when they think of a grey character in Harry Potter, but in the Half-Blood Prince, Draco really became a standout character who struggled with his conscience.

2. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – For someone who has stopped reading this series, I sure do mention it a lot. I am of the firm opinion that Manon may be the best thing to come out of this series and you really never know what you’ll get with her.

3. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater – I’ve said it before that I love the villains in Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle series and I think the Grey Man (Did she name him this on purpose?) really exemplifies the…grey character (again, on purpose?).

4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I love love love the characters in the Six of Crows duology. I think you can make an argument that each of them take part in questionable behavior that you really have to label them antiheroes and not traditional heroes.

5. And I Darken by Kiersten White – I love you, Lada, but you’re crazy. This girl is one of the most ruthless characters I’ve come across and yet I find myself moved by those small moments where she shows that she really does care.

 alt=

6. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke – When I finished this book, I took a good five minutes trying to figure out what I had just read. Just when you think you know who to root for, the author throws you for a loop.

7. The Young Elites by Marie Lu – A better title for this series is How a Villain is Born. In The Young Elites we see the young Adelina get closer and closer to embracing the darkness inside her.

8. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – I love the two leads in this novel, but I really think the mysterious Aeduan steals the show. I don’t know what to make of him, but I like to believe that down the road we could call him a good character.

9. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – One of the reasons I really like this series is how far Ness pushes his characters. Though there are obvious “villains” in the series, the leads often don’t make the best decisions. It’s difficult to remain strictly good when you live in a world that forces you into bad situations.

10. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Can you even point to a character in this novel who you are supposed to root for? They are all just awful and yet I’m intrigued.

Who are some of your favorite grey characters? I’d love recommendations for books that feature grey characters, so please share in the comments. And be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If Your Book Club Likes Grey Characters

  1. Manon is my favourite character in the series, and she is so amazing. In Queen of Shadowsyou can see she’s clearly struggling with her decisions whether to blindly follow with what they’re ordered to do.
    Adelina is amazing and I understood her motivations, but it doesn’t mean I loved everything she did. She could be quite impulsive, and too caught up in revenge at times.
    Yes to all the characters of Six of Crows! omg

    All of these other books are on my TBR so I can’t wait to meet the other characters you mentioned!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This list has certainly given me some TBR fodder. I now need to go read The Young Elites. I just read Vicious by V.E. Schwab. I am not sure if he is gray or the book is just told from the villains point of view. Could be both.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love characters with moral ambiguity. Six of crows looks tailor made for that, and Truthwitch I still haven’t read but including tha there has me curious. I do want to get to that book. And of course Gone Girl. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi, I love your list! Especially since morally grey characters have always been close to my heart. I’ve had Gone Girl on my TBR list for some time, but haven’t got around to reading it yet. Perhaps I will soon. And The Half Blood Prince is my favorite Harry Potter book for this very reason. I feel sort of inclined to post this link from a couple of weeks ago, since I talk about those two guys specifically and you know what I mean Bad Boys with Depth

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I like the idea of looking at Grey characters. I like your list though I have not read them all but heard about them 🙂 Snape and Draco are great characters and added to the book series!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many amazing selections here. In particular, Raven Cycle. Yes, the Grey Man is definitely a grey character. I also think Ronan represented a person who wasn’t black and white.

    And Snape, I think that he was a grey character but on the other hand his actions were all love inspired. I think Draco is definitely even more grey because his decisions were strictly made on his own morality.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: November ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

