Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Reads

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Halloween related freebie” Yes, I love Halloween. If you haven’t noticed, my blog looks a little different this month and that’s because I absolutely love the holiday. I’ve also been putting together special Halloween-themed posts this month, if you haven’t checked those out, you can have a look here. This week I’ve chosen to list ten books that are perfect to read for Halloween. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winter – Pretty much any Cat Winters novel would make this list. She has a way of writing real eerie novels. Read my review here.

2. The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle – This novel is awesome. It’s super odd and atmospheric and it takes place during the month of October which is just perfect. Read my review here.

3. The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco – Fans of The Ring need to pick up this novel. If you’re looking for some chills, this one is for you. Read my review here.

4. Penpan by Dathan Auerbach – This book really creeped me out when I read it. There was some nervous laughing going on on my part, trying to lighten the mood, but inside I was crying. Read my review here.

5. Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by Various – I don’t often read anthologies, but I really enjoyed this one. There are just enough creepy short stories inside to make you double check your locks before bed. Read my review here.

 alt=

6. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – If you’re not looking for a scary novel to read, but one that is a little weird and just has that beautiful, mysterious vibe, then go with The Night Circus. It is so beautiful. Read my review here.

7. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – For those who love ghost stories and a bit of mystery, Gaiman’s MG novel The Graveyard Book is a wonderful novel to read this Halloween. Read my review here.

8. The Cellar by Natasha Preston – This book truly horrified me. I cannot imagine what it would be liked to be kidnapped and kept in a cellar for months. If you’ve looking for something a little more unnerving, reach for this one. Read my review here.

9. The Merciless by Danielle Vega – If you’re looking for a quick read that’s just as fun as it is scary, pick up this one. Read my review here.

10. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis – I just finished this book and was so enamored with McGinnis writing. If asylums interest you or if murder is your cup of tea, read this one. Review coming soon.

Have you read any of these? What’s your favorite horror book? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Reads

  1. I love the phrase “if murder is your cup of tea”! But yes I loved A Madness so Discreet! I also really liked how the stories in Slasher Girls and Monster Boys really varied in whether they were just creepy or outright terrifying – it meant there was pretty much something for everyone!
    Here’s my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choices! A Madness So Discreet has got me curious now, omg. I was planning to read The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall because asylum too. Slasher Girls and Monster Boys is something I want to read too, since a lot of my favourite authors are part of this anthology.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Accident Season and The Girl From The Well both sound great- and I love it when books are set in October or the fall in general. Especially if they’re all atmospheric and dreary and stuff lol. The Cellar sounds terrifying.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: October ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

