Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name Pets After

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After.” Sometimes book names can be ridiculous. Have you ever read a book where you have absolutely no idea how to pronounce any of the names? But there are times when you just love the characters so much and you don’t want to be too crazy and name a kid after them, but you’d consider maybe naming a pet after them. Not too crazy, right? Here are ten names I’d consider naming a cat or dog after (or maybe a turtle because I’d love to have a turtle). Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

1. Manchee from The Knife of Never Letting Go

2. Blue from The Raven Cycle

3. Gansey from The Raven Cycle

4. Widget from The Night Circus

5. Puck from The Scorpio Races

 alt=

6. Nobody from The Graveyard Book

7. Kaz from Six of Crows

8. Luna from Harry Potter

9.Β Mr. Tumnus from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

10. Boo Radley from To Kill a Mockingbird

Would you name a pet after any of these characters? Any character I didn’t mention in the books above that you’d consider as a name for a pet? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d Name Pets After

  1. I have Luna on my list too, and I didn’t even think to put any characters from The Chronicles of Narnia on my list. How I forgot about that series is beyond me! This is a great list, although I’ve only read two books from it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Raven Cycle characters have some of the best names. Blue is a cool name. Ronan Lynch is a cool name. Richard Campbell Gansey III is an expertly crafted name that does a lot of character building in just four words. Maggie Stiefvater is so good at showing instead of telling, and the names of things are a big part of that.

    Great list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really need to read Six of Crows at some point, but I do like the name Kaz. It has a nice ring to it. And Blue! Blue is definitely a good name, and not as commonly used as I thought it would. Lovely list! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

