Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’16

MonthlyWrap-UPWas it me or did July literally fly by? I swear it was June last week and now it’s already August. This month I had the pleasure of picking up seven books, most of which were four-star reads, so that was awesome. This is the final month for the Comment Challenge I’m cohosting with Lonna @ FLYLēF. It’s been a blast and we’re hoping to bring back this challenge again soon, so if you didn’t get a chance to join, there will be an opportunity in the near future.

(Book covers below are linked to my reviews, unless otherwise specified.)

Favorite Book This Month:

This month my favorite read was Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song. It was one of those books where I screamed “Give me more!” at the end of it.

Least Favorite Book This Month:

No book this month received less than three stars.

Other Reviews Posted This Month:

 
Mini Reviews:

This month’s set of mini reviews included Lisa Brown Roberts’ How (Not) to Fall in Love and Rachel McMillan’s The Bachelor Girls Guide to Murder. You can check out my thoughts on both here.

Books Read But Not Reviewed Yet:

Expect reviews for these books to go up in August. Covers below are linked to Goodreads.

 

Potterhead July Post: 

Potterhead July was hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. Bloggers from all over wrote HP appreciation posts in anticipation of the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I wrote an in depth discussion post on Ginny Weasley, who I’ve always felt was a highly underrated character. I’m really proud of this post, it took me about forever to put together, but it was well worth it. You can check out my post here: Potterhead July – Ginny Weasley: An Exposition.

Favorite Blog Meme Posts This Month:

I really enjoyed this month’s topics for the Top Ten Tuesday meme, so I actually had a hard time choosing. So I’m listing a couple of them that I loved putting together.

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Nerdy, Random, Bookish, and Non-Bookish Facts About Me

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Occupations I Wouldn’t Mind Having If I Was a Character in a Novel

Other Notable Posts This Month:

Epic Reads Book Tag – I was tagged by Nicka @ Readbynicka to do this tag and had a lovely time answering the questions included.

4th Annual ARC August Sign-Up Post – This is my second year participating in this challenge and I am really excited for the titles I have lined up for the month.

July ’16: Reading Challenges Recap – A little progress report on my reading challenges so far.

Things I’m Looking Forward to in August:

The Comment Challenge – This is the final month for the Summer Comment Challenge, co-hosted by Lonna @ FLYLēF and myself. This month I have the pleasure of being partnered with Cassidy @ Quartzfeather and Arnis @ poseidons99. Hoping to comment lots and lots on your blogs this August!

August Releases I Have My Eye On:

Month in Review

How was your July? Any new releases you’re raving about? What was your favorite read of the month? Let me hear from you in the comments and feel free to leave me a link to your own wrap-up post and I’ll be sure to visit.

17 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’16

  1. July did go by quickly! I enjoyed reading and commenting on your blog, and though I lost track of how many comments I made, I think/hope I reached my pledge. I also had a good reading month. My favorite book of the month is probably In the city of bikes : the story of the Amsterdam cyclist by Pete Jordan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. July sure did wink out of sight didn’t it? I’m excited for August. I’m that much closer to sending the kids back to school! Ha ha. I adore them, but their brain is growing and needs to be filled with academics. I’m really curious about The Last Great Adventure of the PB&J Society. What is that all about? Sounds adorable! Oh yes, I’m so ready for A Torch Against the Night! GIVE IT TO ME NOW. >_< You did so well this month, Alicia! Happy for you my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so excited to be your comment challange partner for August! I also participated in July and hand an absolute blast (my partner may or may not have been partly responsible for my new incapacitating obsession) Also I realllyy need to read My Lady Jane, but my local library doesn’t have it and I’m sorta on a book buying ban.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OOO I’m super excited to read This Savage Song! I’ve heard only good things, and I really enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic. I’m looking forward to A Torch Against the Night and Nevernight as well. 🙂 I loved The Unexpected Everything, so I hope you enjoyed that!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

