July ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

2016

So I skipped making a full post for my reading challenges last month when I only read a single book toward them. This month I have a little bit more progress to report. Looking at all the numbers, I’m fairly confident I will meet my goals for the Debut Author Challenge and the Finishing the Series Challenge. I’m a little skeptical of my progress with the Read My Books Challenge as I tend to neglect my own books in favor of library books. Why is it that I put off reading my own books after I buy them?

~~~

debutchallenge

2016 Debut Author Challenge:

2016 Goal: 12 books

Debut Books Read in July: 2

Overall Progress: 8

The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I read Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen, which was a really beautifully written book. Click on the cover below for my review. I also picked up Janet Sumner Johnson’s The Last Great Adventure of the PB&J Society, a charming and surprisingly moving middle grade read. My review for this one will be up next month, cover below is linked to Goodreads.

Debut Books Read This Month:

 alt=

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge:Finishing the Series

2016 Goal: 7 series

Series Read in July: 0

Overall Progress: 5

The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. Just a little update on this challenge to say that there is no actual updates to be had with this challenge. With all the new book releases, it’s so easy to neglected those series you haven’t finished in the past. Hopefully I can get to something next month.

2016 Read My Books Challenge:2016 Read My Books

2016 Goal: 30 books

Number of My Books Read in July: 4

Overall Progress: 18

The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. I’m trying to pick up more of my own books this summer. My physical TBR is really out of control and so I am not allowing myself to put in any new requests for the library until the end of August. Don’t know if I’ll be able to succeed, but I’m going to try. This month, I read from my own library the following books: How (Not) to Fall in Love by Lisa Brown Roberts, The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab, and My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (do physical ARCs count toward this challenge, because I’m counting this one).

How is your physical TBR? Do you read more of your own books or library books? Is there a series you are hoping to finish this year? Feel free to leave a link to your own challenge recap post and I’ll check it out.

9 thoughts on “July ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

  1. This seems like a great challenge to participate in! I was just thinking the other day that I really need to start reading more debuts; there are so many fantastic debut novels out there that don’t get enough attention because the authors aren’t ‘hyped’ enough.
    I very rarely read library books, mainly because my owned-books TBR is 60+. Every time I feel like I’m making progress, I spot a sale and lose control. XD

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

