The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Title: The Start of Me and You
Author: Emery Lord
Series: N/A
Pages: 384
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: March 31st 2015 

      “It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school…and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

swirl (2)

“I needed all three girls that night, steeling me…They were normal when I wanted to be normal, and they held me when I wanted to cry. When it all closes in, there are only two kinds of people: best friends and everyone else.”

Emery Lord’s The Start of Me and You is a delightful contemporary read with strong female friendship at its heart. To strangers Paige Hancock is the “Girl Whose Boyfriend Drowned.” She didn’t know Aaron very well and had only been dating him a couple of months, but his death had an irrevocable effect on her life. But Paige is tired of being on the receiving end of pitiful looks, of always being defined by this loss. At the start of her junior year, she’s determined to restart her life. Though part of Paige’s plan is to start dating again, I appreciated that this was not her sole focus for getting her life back together. She’s also determined to try new things, to overcome her fears, and find the courage to pursue her dreams. It is so important for me to see characters in contemporary settings with strong family ties; often, parents or siblings go missing, but I was happy to see that Paige’s family played such an important role in her life, especially her relationship with her grandmother.

Paige’s friends are a vital piece of who she is. Tessa, Kayleigh, and Morgan make up her close-knit group of friends. I loved so many things about their friendship, how they supported one another, but how their relationships still remained realistic. They didn’t always agree with each other, they clashed over differences, but in the end, they all understood that being there for one another in all circumstances was important. Of Paige’s three friends, I think Tessa is the most clearly defined and she was also the one I was most drawn to. We get to know a bit about her own home life and her interests apart from her friends. Books featuring positive female relationships are so important, especially within the contemporary genre, so this one immediately became a winner with me.

One thing I loved about Lord’s writing is that her characters feel so genuine. I immediately felt what it was like to once again be in high school when reading about these girls. They didn’t do or say anything that reminded me that an adult had written them, which can be a very jarring experience. Sometimes when teen characters talk a little too adult-like, they come across as annoyingly pretentious. Max is one character that had the potential to come across as obnoxious because of his intelligence, but instead, his nerdy ways (including all the Pride & Prejudice references, which I really appreciate) and kind heart immediately made him an endearing character.

Emery Lord’s The Start of Me and You is perfect for fans who enjoy novels about friendship and who love seeing romantic relationships slowly blossom.

Rating: 4/5

★★★★

22 thoughts on “The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

  1. Yes! I really loved this book and, as you mentioned, I especially loved the female friendships. I feel like a lot of times authors add in unnecessary drama (usually a fight about a boy) so I really appreciated that Emery didn’t break the group apart like that. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a coincidence! I just finished commenting on Lizzie’s (my July comment partner) post on this very book. It sounds like the character’s in this book are AMAZING. I love romance that blossoms in a manner that feels natural. Well, if you both enjoyed it, I think I’ll add it to my TBR. Who am I kidding? I add everything you read to my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This book sounds enjoyable! And I’m glad to hear that Paige wants to get over a label instead of heartbreak. I have a hard time handling/believing/caring about 14-year-olds who think breaking up is the worst ever. For an author to not break them up, but kill one of them, would have been just the worst, to me. *drama drama drama*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  5. Pingback: The Friday 56: The Start of Me and You | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

