Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Set Outside The US

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books Set Outside The US.” I read a lot of fantasy books, so by default a lot of them do not take place in the US. For this list, I tried my best to include books that may be fantasy but whose lands are drawn from real-life places not in the US. From Canada to France to China, all these novels are set around the world. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

 alt=

Have you read any of these books? What is your favorite country, not including the US, that you love seeing books take place in? Is there a country you’d like to see more books set in? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

**Side Note: There is only a couple of days left to sign up for the Comment Challenge for August. We’ll be pairing you with another blogger and all month long you will be commenting on the each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find all the info here.**

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Set Outside The US

  1. Grave Mercy is on my list this week too! I just finally started that series. I can’t believe how long it took. And pretty soon I want to read Girl of Fire and Thorns, that’s been on my tbr forever.

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! 😀 I have TWATD, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Cinder, and The Star-Touched Queen on my list as well, they’re totally awesome!! Rebel of the Sands is up on my TBR but I might put it on hold ever since I saw some negative reviews about it. I’m also curious about And I Darken, I heard it’s great? I want to see more Asia and some less famous European countries on books, probably like Turkey. Also Persia & Dubai, I love exotic places! I also have Written in the Stars on my TBR and it takes place in Pakistan 😀
    My TTT : https://goo.gl/c10V02

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed Grave Mercy although I haven’t read the sequels. I seem to read a lot of books set in the UK and occasionally France, but I’d like to read more set in other European nations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I REALLY need to read Anne of Green Gables!! It sounds like such a great story– I don’t know how I made it through childhood without reading it at some point, but here I am! Awesome list!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oh my god, SO MUCH YES for Wolf by Wolf, And I Darken, and TWATD! All those are five-star reads from me and I just really, really enjoyed them (for different reasons). I also really liked The Girl of Fire and Thorns, though it’s been a while since I read it and I can’t really remember the details… just that I liked the protagonist and felt that the book had quite a lot of girl power. Great picks this week!

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I read a lot of nonfiction but I was determined to only use fiction for my top ten which made it a little bit more challenging. Anne of Green Gables is on my list too. I haven’t read your other 9 books.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the Lunar Chronicles SO MUCH. I keep mentioning the series in posts, so I figured I’d give it a break this time around, haha. I do need to read Star-Touched Queen and Rebel of the Sands as well, they sound like my kind of exotic fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned but I’m planning on starting the Lunar Chronicles soon-ish. My favorite place to see books take place in, aside from the US, is the United Kingdom. Scotland, London, you name it. I actually need to find more books in that setting though. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so happy to see And I Darken and Daughter of Smoke and Bone on your list! 🙂 I enjoyed both of those so much, especially due to the location of the setting. I haven’t read The Girl of Fire and Thorns or Wolf by Wolf yet but I really want to 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

