Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Nerdy, Random, Bookish, and Non-Bookish Facts About Me

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Facts About Me (bookish or just general about you facts or ten facts about you as a blogger…whatever you want).” Lists like this are always so much fun…until you realize you can’t think of enough facts about yourself to include. I might have stretched things a bit to include ten different facts. There’s a fair chance you will all think I’m pretty nerdy or otherwise crazy by the end of the list. You can click any of the images below to enlarge.

1. I can’t sleep with the closet door open – Let’s go ahead and start off with something random. I will not, under any circumstances, go to sleep with the closet door open. Somewhere in my childhood, I was conditioned to associate the dark abyss that is the inside of the closet with something monstrous. I no longer believe in monsters, but there is just something about leaving a closet door open that invites them to prove me wrong.

2. I own a ridiculous amount of notebooks – I wish I could say that this is a picture of all the notebooks I own, but it is not. I just have this ridiculous weakness when it comes to cute, pretty or cheap notebooks. I haven’t even written in the majority of them and yet I keep buying them!

3. I’m the only bookish person in my family – I believe I’ve mentioned this one before, but I loved story-telling and books growing up, but neither of my parents or my brothers are big readers themselves. My sister-in-law and I are currently making sure my niece and nephews know how wonderful reading is though.

4. I have a bookish planner – And it is the best! It’s so much easier to keep track of all my blog posts, events, and book releases. It helps me stay organized and on top of everything. I’ve been doing a lot of blogging ahead of schedule and having a planner makes this so much easier.

5. Blogging ahead of schedule is a way of life – This year I started to blog more and more ahead of schedule. I like to find time on the weekend to prepare any memes or make last minute changes to book reviews, so when the week comes along, I have everything ready to go. Recently, I took this to a whole different level. At any given time I have about 3-5 completed book reviews in my drafts and have finished my Top Ten Tuesday and Friday 56 memes 1 to 3 weeks ahead of schedule. I am crazy.

6. I collect Jane Austen books – I shared this photo on Tumblr and Twitter a couple of weeks ago. I have an absurd number of Austen books, considering she only wrote six novels. P&P is my favorite and I currently have seven additions of the novel. Weird or not weird?

7. I kind of love reading negative reviews – Okay, so this is kind of awful. Sometimes you come across a book that you absolutely hate, but everyone else doesn’t. You start to think that maybe you read it wrong and you’re missing something, but no, you aren’t wrong and everyone else is just blind. In order to kind of validate these feelings, I’ll head on over to Goodreads to check out the negative reviews of the book. This may make me slightly petty.

8. My dog is like my child – I don’t have any kids and quite frankly, I’m not sure I ever will. But what I do have is my dog Jinx. She’s basically my child and she is perfect in every way. Except she has no self-control when it comes to food.

9. I keep a review notebook – I take notes while I read. I have a special notebook that I keep nearby and use when it comes time to write a review. Yes, this is actual footage of me flipping through my review notebook. Riveting.

10. I’m obsessed with the Hamilton soundtrack – I’m not a big musical theater person (not entirely true, I love it, but haven’t gotten a chance to see too many shows), but I have seen and love Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables (the actual shows, not the movies…not a fan of the movies). I have both soundtracks and at any given moment, I will break into song. I personally love to sing all the parts to One Day More. I finally got around to listening to the Hamilton soundtrack this year and I am in love. The problem is, the songs constant get stuck in my head and I don’t know if there’s a cure.

Tell me we share some of these strange practices. Do you have a notebook for review notes? Is there a specific book or author whose books you collect? Have you jumped on the Hamilton bandwagon as well? More importantly, are you willing to share in an impromptu rendition of One Day More? Let’s talk in the comments and leave me a link to your own TTT list, so I can visit!

**Side Note: August sign-ups for the Comment Challenge are now open. I’m co-hosting this challenge with Lonna @ FLYLēF. For this challenge, we’re pairing you with another blogger and all month long you will be commenting on the each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find all the info here.**

76 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Nerdy, Random, Bookish, and Non-Bookish Facts About Me

  1. I love being scheduled up on my blog too. It really does make all the difference and takes some pressure away from blogging. My Top Ten posts are always done in advance. Lovely to know more about you! (By the way, did I miss being paired up for the comment challenge?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really does, I love that I don’t have to stress too much because most of my posts are ready for the week. Do you mean for July? I do not believe you signed up for July. I remember you for June though, but we’ve made sign up posts for each month to make it easier to keep track. You can still sign up for August!

      Like

  2. Your Jane Austen collection is lovely! And I like the bookish planner. Washi tape is amazing.
    I wish I was more on top of blogging. I try to get a head but then life gets in the way and I often end up missing a week or so at a time! Maybe I need a bookish planner…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was just about to step away for a shower (yes, I shower close to midnight <– fact 1), when I saw adorable Jinx. Awe…This is just too much fun reading about you. I adore your comforter as you already know. *wink* Though, I have to ask, "Do you always make your bed?" 😀 I take notes as I read, too. Or more accurately, I dictate on my phone. If I don't, I'd never remember anything by the end of the book. Truth be told though, I would rather not do that as I find that sometimes I just want to read from beginning to end and not have to process every chapter. I'm learning. One bookish fact about me is…I don't review books unless I finish it. I just don't think it's fair to rate a book marked as DNF.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I agree. Blogging ahead is a way of life. I have posts done for most of August (those that can be done) and I have a few done of September. :O

    I don’t think that is petty haha. I go looking for other negative reviews sometimes and when I like a book that others don’t seem to like as much I go in search of positive reviews. It’s validation I guess, that we aren’t weird. 😛 I don’t mind reading negative reviews of the books I love either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nice! I’m done with all my memes through this month, including reviews. It’s just a nice feeling to know it’s all done. Ha, I’m glad I’m not the only one who searches out negative reviews. I think I would search out positive ones if I was constantly being bombarded with negative reviews for a book I love, it just seems the opposite is more true for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Reading negative reviews gives me LIFE! My favorite thing to do when I finish an overhyped book I thought was garbage is to go to GoodReads and sort by their secret sauce algorithm. The highest ranked review there is almost ALWAYS a juicy, thoughtful negative review that hit on all of the problems I had (and usually point out a few more). So satisfying.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love notebooks too! I have quite a lot as well, although my collection isn’t as big as yours (yet..). And I kind of am the only bookish person in my family too? My mom really likes to read too, but she barely gets around to it. It isn’t a priority for her, so the only time she reads is when we’re on vacation at the pool. But she always encouraged me to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have a notebook but not so much for reviews/ reading notes as blog scheduling and ideas for posts, stuff like that. And I’ve been scheduling ahead a lot more too- when I first started I just was winging it, now I have to be ahead or I’d be stressed lol.

    Nice collection of Austen books, I love collecting favorite books.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I sometimes use a notebook to write down some ideas about the book that come to my at random times. Also, I enjoy reading some negative reviews from time to time, they can be really funny 🙂
    I am also the only bookish person in my family – my parents even tell me to stop reading so much and do other things.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Scheduling posts is my life. If memes don’t have a list of future topics, I don’t participate because I’m going to forget to post some weeks. I’m at least 1-2 weeks ahead and I try to be a month ahead so I can get stuck in a long book or go on vacation without a dip in posts. It’s a way of life. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have a sort of “bookish” notebook that I use to write notes while reading, drafts of reviews, and keep schedules of all of my blog posts. Speaking of scheduling blog posts… I’m obsessed! I ALWAYS schedule posts. I just love the feeling of knowing that you’re ahead of schedule and that you have some wiggle room when it comes to getting those drafts polished up. Also, I’m super jealous of your Jane Austen collection 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Scheduling post is so nice, it feels like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders when I schedule stuff for the week. Oh man, I never set out to collect Jane Austen books, it just sort of happened. I’m trying to be more picky when it comes to adding to the collection though.

      Like

  11. I am totally with you on reading negative reviews. I actually think I love them more than positive reviews, because I read negative ones no matter what. I may love a book and still read negative reviews for it, and I may hate a book and still read the same. It’s cathartic to me, and I find that they’re usually very coherent and well-written!

    Also I have not yet listened to Hamilton. For someone who’s pretty constantly on the internet, I’m surprisingly blind to these things…

    Here’s my TTT, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. When I was a kid I had nightmares that Richard Nixon was in my closet (it was the 70s and my mom was a Democrat, what can I say?). Surprisingly this does not make it difficult to fall asleep with the closet door open, although I generally hate open doors and cabinets (my kids feel differently).

    I’ve gotten better at scheduling posts ahead this year, but I actually have nothing to post today. Maybe I’ll make my own TTT?

    I’m obsessed with Hamilton too. My other favorite musicals are Fiddler on the Roof and Camelot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, Richard Nixon, that is hilarious, but also, kind of understandable. I do not understand leaving cabinets, drawers, or doors open. Also, it drives me crazy when people leave lights on when they aren’t in the room. Yes, you should make your own TTT. Hamilton is so good! I haven’t listened to Fiddler on the Roof, but I think it might be on Amazon Prime Music, I will have to check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Ok I’m the odd man out. I like my closet door open. That way I can see if the bogey man is coming for me. Anything could be behind the closed door, but with it open, I know nothing is there.
    Also, I’m totally obsessed with the Hamilton soundtrack. My goal in life now is to one day see it!

    Here’s my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I have a ton of notebooks too. But I use mine, usually to write down some ideas or scribble some thoughts down. Blogging ahead is definitely a way of life! I do it a lot too. I usually have things a week or two in advance which sounds a little crazy. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Definitely use them, that’s what they’re there for. Haha.
        Oh yeah, it’s comforting to know that the next two weeks are accounted for, but sometimes it lures me into a false sense of security and next thing I know, I’m rushing to get the post done for next week.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. I also kind of like reading negative reviews… It’s nice to feel reassured that you didn’t totally miss/misinterpret something. Plus there’s a lot more room for humor in a snarky negative review than a glowing positive one, so a lot of the time they’re more entertaining, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yeah, I’m pretty much the only bookish person in my family, too. I mean, my mom likes reading but not the same sorts of things as I do, and not near the volume either. 🙂

    I totally feel you on reading negative reviews – sometimes it can be cathartic! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Is it weird that we share three of these “strange practices”? I, too, am also the bookish person in our family. I tried converting my sister not too long ago so I bought her the foil edition boxed set of The Hunger Games (partly because I wanted it too but she doesn’t need to know that). I ended up having new gorgeous books and a non-bookish sister. I also have an uncontrollable addiction of buying notebooks I don’t actually need (I get away with it as long as I mention the word “school”). I think I’ll keep a review notebook too so I can actually put some of the notebooks to use, and I think it’s such a clever and organized idea as I usually just put review notes on my phone or random scraps of paper. Lastly, I have this weird thing of reading negative reviews of books I absolutely loved. Please hear me out before you think I’m mental. Frankly, I (currently) believe that no book is perfect. Each one should have at least one negative despite all of it’s positives. I may be making zero sense right now, and this comment has become way too long than I intended it to, so I apologize and I’m gonna stop now. Thanks for sharing, I had fun reading these interesting facts about you and I feel like I got to know you more (well, I kinda just did). I’m so sorry for rambling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I love that story with your sister, very clever of you 😉 School is a great excuse for new notebooks. I usually obtain more when stores have their yearly school supply sale. Having a review notebook is so helpful, you can use one of your notebooks! I usually find it reassuring to know hyped books have negative review, so I think I know where you’re coming from. No worries, I love a good bookish ramble 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: July ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

