Top Ten Tuesday: Books Worth Reading With Under 2000 Goodreads Ratings

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads.” I absolutely love the topic for this week. While I was making this list, a few books that I’ve always considered to be “underrated” had a surprising number of ratings. I think one reason is that I’m so entrenched in the book community, I tend to judge the popularity of books based on how often I hear about them from other bloggers. So without further ado, here are ten books worth reading that have under 2000 Goodreads ratings. Covers are linked to Goodreads. I’ve also included links to my reviews if I’ve written one. Note: Goodreads ratings listed are updated as of 7/4.

 alt=

1. Death, Dickinson, and the Demented Life of Frenchie Garcia by Jenny Torres Sanchez – Goodreads Ratings: 388 – This is the first book I thought of when I saw the topic. I haven’t come across anyone in the blogosphere who has read it yet. It’s so good! Read my review here.

2. The Weight of Feather by Anna-Marie McLemore – Goodreads Ratings: 1735 – I was actually really surprised to learn that this one had under 2000 ratings. It’s a true travesty! It’s magical realism at its finest and you must read it. Read my review here.

3. Undercover by Beth Kephart – Goodreads Ratings: 812 – I fell in love with this book way before I started blogging. It’s such a sweet little book and I recommend it to anyone who loves writing. Read my review here.

4. The Memory of Light by Francisco X. Stork – Goodreads Ratings: 1243 – This is a really powerful read that looks at what happens to a young girl after a failed suicide attempt. Read my review here.

5. A Curious Tale of the In-Between by Lauren DeStefano – Goodreads Ratings: 984 – I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this Lauren DeStefano book as neither of her YA series were favorites of mine, but the first book in her middle grade series was just so good. Read my review here.

 alt=

6. Lark Rising by Sandra Waugh – Goodreads Ratings: 1402 – I can’t recall exactly where I came across this book, but the moment it was compared to one of my favorite authors Juliet Marillier, I had to read it. Read my review here.

7. Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff – Goodreads Ratings: 587 – So I tried to stay away from 2016 releases for this list because although some books have a low number of ratings, it might be because they haven’t been out for very long. I originally was going to feature a different Brenna Yovanoff novel, but I figure that when all is said and done, this one will end up earning roughly the same amount of ratings. Review will be up this weekend.

8. Summer of the Mariposas by Guadalupe Garcia McCall – Goodreads Ratings: 420 – Another magical realism book that I really enjoyed and it’s about sisters, which, if you saw my Top Ten Tuesday post last week, is something I really love. Read my review here.

9. The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell – Goodreads Ratings: 1148 – I haven’t picked up as many middle grade novels as I used to, but I saw the cover for this one and had to read it. It’s a beautifully written MG novel that everyone should pick up.

10. Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance – Goodreads Ratings: 1579 – This book is so cute, if you like Pride and Prejudice retellings or are a fan of Veronica Mars, I highly recommend it.

Have you had the pleasure of picking up any of these underrated books? Any books you were surprised to discover had under 2000 ratings? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

**Side Note: August sign-ups for the Comment Challenge are now open. We’ll be pairing you with another blogger and all month long you will be commenting on the each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find all the info here.**

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Worth Reading With Under 2000 Goodreads Ratings

  1. I’ve added the first five on my goodreads tbr 😉 Thank you for this wonderful post, it feels great whenever I discover books that are somehow underrated but has an amazing storyline. Recently I’ve received a review copy of In The Present Tense from Netgalley and i freakin loved it!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list. I never thought The weight of feathers has under 2000 ratings. And yes to Wolf by wilder. I didnt read it. But a friend of mine who loves literary fiction read it and said its one of the best novels for a younger audience. I have been wanting to get my hands on the book as well

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m surprised a Lauren DeStefano book has under 2000 ratings, considering how popular her YA books are (I didn’t love them either.) I’ve seen The Weight of Feathers on a few TTTs today, I’ll have to check that out. I’m excited to see what you say about Places No One Knows – I almost picked it up at the library, but went with a different book instead. Maybe I’ll change my mind 🙂

    Feel free to check out my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was really surprised too, but it’s her first middle grade novel, so that’s probably why. I highly recommend The Weight of Feathers, can’t wait to read more by the author. I gave Places No One Knows a very good rating, of all the Brenna Yovanoff novels I’ve read, it’s my favorite. There’s always next time!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved A Curious Tale of the In-Between! I almost put it on my list this week, but there were so many books to choose from I couldn’t fit them all on there.

    Places No One Knows is on my tbr, and I might have to add Spies and Prejudice too!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yep! I’m also unfamiliar with all of these books. I don’t use Goodreads so I don’t think I have access to the ratings, otherwise I’d find some under 2000 books to recommend.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I might have to add Lark Rising to my list as well. I loved the books I’ve read of Marillier so far, so if they’re comparing Lark Rising to a Marillier book, that’s definitely something to read!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

