2016 Second Quarter Book Haul: A Little Bookish Insanity

Book Haul (1)It’s time for my second book haul post of the year and I’ve basically been dreading putting this one together because I knew I had somehow acquired an absurd amount of books over the course of the last three months. And I was right! When I finally took the time to gather all my new books together, I ended up with 31 new additions to my physical library. Do I have a good excuse for acquiring so many books? I do not. I’m splitting this list into sections because it will be a lot easier to get through them that way. Book titles linked to Goodreads. Images may be clicked on to enlarge.

bookhaulapril1New Books:

1. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak – I kept seeing this Anniversary Edition everywhere and it was so cheap, I ended up caving one day. A small price to pay for a beautiful hardback edition of one of your favorite books.

2. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi – I haven’t read this one yet, but I’ve heard good things and really, it was my birthday in May so I wanted to buy myself something.

3. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – It was quite the adventure getting this one. Amazon somehow ran out of this one and some of us who preordered it got a message saying our books weren’t coming. I had a mild panic-attack, canceled my order and marched over to Barnes & Noble to get my hands on a copy the day of its release. Crisis averted. My review of this one is here.

4. The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh – Loved this one and can I just say I love duologies? I need more in my life. My review can be read here.

5. The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon – I came across this one on Amazon and then started seeing some glowing reviews pop up around the blogosphere. By all accounts, this is a really beautiful fantasy read.

6. Love, Lies and Spies by Cindy Anstey – This one was a little disappointing. Anything that takes place during the Regency Era usually appeals to me, but I had trouble with how little the protagonist had to do with an important storyline. Read my review here.

7. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – I’ve been on a massive contemporary kick, so I bought this one on a whim. It was only $6!

8. The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Another book I picked up on a whim. I really enjoyed this first book in Barnes’ newest series and am dying to get my hands on a copy of the second book. You can read my review of this one here.

9. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente – I finally got around to picking up a novel by this author and can’t wait to continue exploring what other amazing stories she’s written.

Book Outlet Purchases: 

I haven’t made a Book Outlet purchase this year. I’ve been really good at resisting all those enticing emails. I finally decide I could go ahead and buy a few books with the most recent sale, but I didn’t go overboard with it, which I am really proud of.

10. – 16. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee, When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez, Frostfire by Amanda Hocking, Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking, and How (Not) to Fall in Love by Lisa Brown Roberts.

Used Books:

17. Wolfskin by Juliet Marillier – It is one of my life goals to own all of Juliet Marillier’s books.

18. & 19. Daughter of Fortune and The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende – I haven’t read anything by this (I hear) amazing author, changing this soon.

20. The Steep & Thorny Way by Cat Winter – This may be my favorite of her books. If you love historical fiction, her books are a must. My review of this one will be up soon.

21. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke – I don’t think this author’s work is for everyone, but I’ve loved everything I’ve picked up from her so far, which is why I decided to buy this one.

22. & 23. Edenbrooke and Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson – I did not expect to enjoy Edenbrooke as much as I did, so when I couldn’t find her second novel available at the library, I ended up hunting down used editions of both.

Giveaways:

I participated in Armchair BEA in May because I couldn’t make the conference in Chicago. It was a really fun experience and I was lucky enough to win a prize-pack of books by Sourcebooks Fire, which included the following ARCs + published book:

24. – 28. The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti, The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards, Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova (This is the one I’m most excited for, in case you were wondering), and The Cellar by Natasha Preston.

29. Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger – This is the second giveaway I won through Armchair BEA.

30. The Last Great Adventure of the PB&J Society by Janet Sumner Johhson – I won this cute middle grade read through a giveaway hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl for debut authors.

31. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – I won an ARC copy of this one just recently from Jade @ Bedtime Bookworm and can’t wait to read it.

Whew, that took a long time to finish. As you can see, I’ve added quite a few books to my physical library. I’m considering going on a book buying ban until October. I have a few books that will be coming in during that time because of preorders, but just to make sure I don’t go overboard again, this next book-buying ban may be essential.

Has your book buying been out of control lately? Have you made any impromtu purchases? How do you handle seeing all those enticing Book Outlet emails? Let’s talk in the comments!

18 thoughts on “2016 Second Quarter Book Haul: A Little Bookish Insanity

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of books! They’re all so beautiful. 🙂 I think you always have a good excuse to buy books and that’s because they are BOOKS! Books are like home. I have been very tempted to buy some books recently, but I’m moving soon so I don’t want to pack more books than I already have. I satisfy myself by the reassurance that I can buy books after the move as a reward. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Looks like you got your hands on some good ones! I’ll definitely be adding some of these to my tbr. 🙂

    I love finding good used books for a low price! In fact, this past weekend I went to the Half Price Books Clearance sale which was held in a building that had to be somewhere around 50,000 square feet – all of it books, movies, music, and video games! I was good in that I didn’t get a shopping cart – I limited myself to what I could carry! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You do not use the word HAUL lightly. You certainly did have a book haul. I ordered The Raven King and was trapped in the back order, which didn’t really matter because I ended up buying the audiobook since I love Will Patton, the voice actor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I had to carry them all in different piles in order to get all these pictures. Ugh, I was so upset with Amazon over that one. Of all the books in the world that that could have happened with, this was the one that I would not wait for. Glad it worked out for you!

      Like

  4. The Book Thief was at Costco for such a good price that I wavered, Alicia, and then I picked it up, and then I loved it, and then I took it home (the legal way of course!). Actually, I have been thinking of giving myself a treat and buying at least 1-2 books a month. I feel that I’ve neglected my physical library. Great book haul! Look forward to your thoughts on The Star-Touched Queen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I LOVE THIS HAUL! And congrats on winning the Sourcebook Armchair BEA Prize! That much be so awesome! I got TSTQ this week as well, and I’m SO excited for it! I hope you love all your new books (you must need a whole new shelf!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was so happy to get it, I just really wanted the Labyrinth Lost ARC so bad. I’ve heard lots of good things about The Star-Touched Queen. I actually recently did a book unhaul, so I had plenty of room. Might have to build some new shelves soon though.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: June ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  7. Congratulations in winning those pretty books. Also, I’ve been eyeing a lot of books in Book Outlet recently. I haven’t made a purchase from them because they don’t ship directly to my country but I’m looking into third party shipping services. Anyway, I can’t wait to read your reviews! Great haul!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

