Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Featuring Sisters

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s Freebie week! I’m always so excited when we get a chance to choose our topic for the week. I actually went through a few topics, but decided I wanted to list books that feature sisters. Now, I grew up with two brothers, but I always wanted a sister. This is probably the reason I enjoy books that explore sisterly relationships. Here are ten books that feature sisterly relationships and why, oh why, in the world couldn’t my younger brother have been a girl? We could have done so much together! Although, there was that one time my best friend and I dressed him up as a girl… Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

 alt=

Have you read any of these books? What’s your favorite book that features sisters? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

67 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books Featuring Sisters

  1. I love books about sisters! I have a younger sister and I adore her (even though we do argue a fair bit). The Hunger Games really appealed to me because of Katniss and Primrose, in fact, they were my favourite relationship in the book. I bawled my eyes out practically every scene they were in, because I kept imagining my little sister.
    Little Women was also lovely in terms of sisterly devotion, as were Pride and Prejudice/Sense and Sensibility, although I’m not a huge fan of Austen (don’t tell anybody).
    I recently read another book centred around sisters: The Translation of Love by Lynne Kutsukake. I reviewed it on my blog if you want to have a look!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Katniss and Prim were perfect. It sounds like you have a wonderful relationship with your sister (save for a few fights, but what is a good relationship without a few fights?). I love Austen enough for the both of us, so no worries. I will have a look, thank you!

      Like

  2. Love P&P! I really need to read Sense & Sensibility and Little Women. I’ve seen the movie of the former and I own a gorgeous copy of the latter, so they’ve been on my TBR for a while. It’s good to know you really enjoyed them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, a fellow fan of Wildwood Dancing! I love that book so much, apart from the whole having to dance night after night, I’d love to live in the book. Yes, it’s been a long time since I picked up Sisters Red, but I loved that they were a team.

      Like

  3. Sisterly bonds are epic! I’m so glad you choose this for your freebie. Ha ha…that’s so wrooooonnng, Alicia, to dress the poor thing as a girl. Psst…I may have done it to mine, too. In fact, I know I did. He has these ridiculous mile-long lashes. It was begging me to use the eyelash curler. >_< I'm so glad you didn't pick Truthwitch. *wink* Glad to see Katniss and Pim's relationship in there, as well as the classics. The best ones are selfless and giving. Great selections.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You know, I never wanted a sister. I have a brother who’s 2 years younger than me and if anything, I wished he was older than me. But not a sister. I don’t know why! 🙂

    And I’m trying to think up more books about sisters… Huh. Those you listed are really good examples. I loved the relationships in Jane Austen’s books, part rivalry, part annoyance, but mostly just lots of love.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Among the books you’ve listed, I’ve only read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and The Hunger Games—which I both absolutely loved! I’m actually thinking of rereading TAtBILB this month since I was promised by my cousin a copy of the sequel. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have one sibling, an older sister, so I always appreciate books about sisters.

    I somehow missed out on Beverly Cleary as a child but recently started listening to audiobooks with my daughter of the Ramona and Beezus series. These are very funny and realistic stories about sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

