The Friday 56: The Rose & the Dagger

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Perhaps we should just stay here.”

“I think not.” Shiva’s mouth crooked into a melancholy smile. “After all, you were not looking for me when you first arrived. You were looking for him.” It was not an accusation. Merely an observation. Shiva had always been like that—incapable of withholding the truth but incapable of cruelty. A rare kind of person. The best kind of friend.

I absolutely adored Renée Ahdieh’s debut novel The Wrath and the Dawn. It took me a while to pick it up, as I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it, but it ended up being a wonderful read. I finished the final book in her duology The Rose & the Dagger not too long ago and cannot praise her writing enough. Her characters are complex and the setting is in a word, lush. I highly recommend this duology to fantasy fans or those interested in a good romance. My review of the first book can be found here and you can check out my review for this one here. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

**Side Note: Sign-ups for the Comment Challenge for the month of July are now open. You’ll be paired with another blogger and will comment on each other’s blogs all month long. It’s a great way to form new blogging friendships and increase comment activity on your blog. If you’re interested, you can find out all the info here.**

31 thoughts on “The Friday 56: The Rose & the Dagger

  1. I stared at this cover for a full minute going ‘this design looks similar to something else I’ve seen before’…then I scrolled down and realised it’s book 2 in the Wrath & the Dawn lol. And it’s true, those really are the best types of friends
    Here’s mine

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t read The Wrath and the Dawn, but I’m already excited about The Rose and the Dagger! LOL! I adore the books’ covers in addition to being intrigued by their synopses! The quote you pulled from the book definitely demonstrates the beautiful writing style of Ahdieh! Happy reading! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

