Top Ten Tuesday: How Do I Love the Raven Cycle? Let Me Count the Ways

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Reasons I Love Xcould be a certain book, character, author, your indie bookstore, a fandom, a tv show, reading, a hobby, a genre. Honestly anything you want to gush about.” Whoa, a chance to gush about anything? I didn’t know where to begin when I saw the topic for this week. There are so many possibilities and in truth, I think I’d like to revisit this topic in the future and share a little about my other obsessions. But for today, I’ll be gushing about one of my favorite series ever, Maggie Steifvater’s The Raven Cycle. No one quite understands my enthusiasm for this series and that’s because I work hard to hold myself back when talking about it. Hopefully today’s post doesn’t shatter that fragile facade of sanity I work so hard to maintain while speaking about these books. Covers below are linked to Goodreads. Click images below to enlarge.

The Raven Cycle:

 alt=

1. Unique Plot – I’ve never come across a series quite like The Raven Cycle. The whole concept revolves around a group of teens trying to find a missing Welsh king, rumored to grant a favor to the one who wakes him. You’re probably thinking that sounds rather unusual and you are right, it is unusual and yet it works.

2. Character-Driven – I love character-driven novels. I’m always drawn to complex characters and I loved watching these characters grow over this series of books. I could go on and on about Gansey, Blue, Ronan, Adam, and Noah. Each is truly unique and feels so dynamic, I don’t think I’ve ever come across a group of characters that feel more real.

3. Book Covers – This is a shallow reason to like this series, but can we just take a moment to appreciate how beautiful and different these book covers are? The cover art for this series is amongst my favorite and oh-so photogenic.

4. Fantastic Friendships – If you read the synopsis for the first book, you’d come to believe that this novel is essentially a love story and I’d agree, just not in the way you’d think. Friendship is a kind of love story and you will not find a set of friends more devoted to one another than the one found in this series.

5. Love Stories – Because yes, the characters do fall in love and the development is a rewarding thing to watch, especially when certain characters are very determined not to like another.

6. Interesting Minor Characters – There are no stock characters in this series to fill out the universe. And every minor character Stiefvater introduces could have a book devoted to their own story. Even the villains in the story are interesting, like how in the world did I come to care so much for a hit man?

7. The Humor – Because this series never ceases to make me smile. Whether it’s a snide remark about why someone never wanted to have a baby with another, or someone musing that lamps just aren’t their thing, there’s a quiet humor to Stiefvater’s writing that usually elicits a silent chuckle from myself.

“This is what you get, Maura, for using your DNA to make a baby,” Calla said.

8. Adult Characters – It drives me crazy when adult characters are nowhere to be found in YA books. This isn’t the case with The Raven Cycle. Not only are the present, but they are important to the story and all deliciously interesting.

bookhaulapril1 bookhaulapril1

9. Perfect Reread Material – Before the final book came out, I reread the first three books and became deeply immersed in the story, marking significant passages that I hadn’t realized were so significant the first time around. Stiefvater has written a story that deserves to be reread because oh my gosh, she foreshadowed so much.

10. Beautiful Writing – Sometimes Stiefvater’s writing is so achingly beautiful, I don’t know what to do with myself. The parallels, the foreshadowing, the lovely prose, the dynamic characters, just everything is told with such care, I’m just in awe of her writing ability.

And Because This Quote Sums Up How I Feel:

“She recognized the strange happiness that came from loving something without knowing why you did, that strange happiness that was so big that it felt like sadness.”

Are you a fan of the Raven Cycle series? Are you undecided about reading it? Have I convinced you to pick it up? Which book series are you positively obsessed with? What topic are you covering for this Top Ten Tuesday? Let me know in the comments and leave a link to your own TTT post and I’ll be sure to visit!

**Side Note: Sign-ups for the Comment Challenge for the month of July are now open. You’ll be paired with another blogger and will comment on each other’s blogs all month long. It’s a great way to form new blogging friendships and increase comment activity on your blog. If you’re interested, you can find out all the info here.**

59 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: How Do I Love the Raven Cycle? Let Me Count the Ways

  1. I have read the first three books and my personal favourite is still the first one. Sadly, Blue Lily, Lily Blue was a disappointment for me because I didn’t like how things panned out. Nevertheless, I do look forward to reading The Raven King!

    Great post, by the way, My favourite one-liners are mostly by Calla. Bless her soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes yes YES. I’ve only read the first three books in this series so far, but I’ve loved them and can’t wait to read the last one. Stiefvater is such a talented writer, and I feel as though this series really showcases that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It really *is* the perfect reading material! I recently re-read the first book and am now planning on continuing with rereading the second and third and then picking up the fourth. It’s taking me so long though cause I have no time whatsoever! But anyway, I totally agree with this list! The Raven Cycle is such a great series. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG, I’m so due for a reread of this first book and then a binge of the rest of the series. I agree that it has a unique plot, while at the same time being character-driven. I’m actually not a fan of the covers (I don’t generally like white covers except if they’re incredibly minimalistic) but I think they match the stories well. I miss the snarky humour too — definitely planning to pick this up again soon!

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You must do it soon! Rereading the books really pays off, especially if you read the books one after another. My only problem with white covers is that I’m constantly worried I’m going to dirty them. Usually that means I take off the dust jacket while reading because I’d hate to leave a smudged fingerprint behind. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series!

      Like

  5. This this this! All of your reasons are precisely why I love The Raven Cycle so much. It’s so unique, beautifully written, and the friendships and romance are done so incredibly well. There’s truly nothing like it. And yes, the covers are so gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh the infamous comforter backdrop! 😉 IT ROCKS!

    I love how you adore this series. The books are kept in such mint conditions. The color Post Its made me do a double-take! Awesome and pretty. If I ever need to answer a Raven Boys question, I will no hesitate to contact you. The amount of detail, love, and obsession…I mean intellectual pursuit…you’ve put it this these books is so, so admirable. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve had this series on my TBR for awhile – and mostly because of the covers – and now I’m even more excited to read them! I’m glad there are adults in the books. It does always annoy me when there is no adult to be found in MG or YA books except for the occasional villain. I’m excited to start the first book soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree with all of these, especially number 8! I hate it when adult characters in YA books either don’t exist or only exist just to stand in the protagonist’s way.

    Also, number 3 and 10. This series is gorgeous inside and out!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi, Alicia! 😀 I’m so excited to read The Raven Boys series! I finally got the first book and your points for loving the series make me look forward to reading Stiefvater’s work! I also finally got The Scorpio Races! Awesome topic pick this week! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That quote is one of my favorites, I definitely relate to it. Your post is so amazing and I totally agree with all of it! I love how unique the series is, they’re really hard to explain to people haha. I love all of the characters, major and minor, and how they interact with each other, how they change. You know I love the romance 😀 I definitely love the beautiful writing and it is one of the most rereadable series I’ve ever found. She is a genius the way that it’s all woven together. Can’t get over it. I hope this convinced lots more people to read the series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it always sounds really weird coming out of my mouth when I try to tell people what the series is about, but I think that’s kind of what makes it so wonderful. It must be experienced in order to fully appreciate it. Yes, to everything you said and I certainly hope so too!

      Like

  11. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: June ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

