Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Beach Reads for the Summer

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Beach Reads Week — top ten great beach reads, ten books I plan to read on the beach, ten beach reads for those who don’t like typical ~beach reads~, ten authors who are my go-to for beach reads, etc.” Ah, contemporaries, the summer season is always the perfect time to pick you up. For those who know anything about me, I’m not a huge contemporary reader. As a consequence the list this week will feature a few books you may not expect on a list like this, but are still light enough, in my opinion, to be considered a good beach read. The first five books are ones I’d recommend and the last five are books I’m looking forward to picking up this summer. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Five “Beach Reads” I’d Recommend:

 alt=

1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – This is always the first book that comes to mind when I have to make a list of contemporaries. Yes, it’s a bit predictable, but it’s also a really cute read.

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this debut. Learning to be open to love, even if it means risking pain, is an important lesson for all.

3. Heist Society by Ally Carter – This is probably not the first contemporary book that comes to mind when you think of summer, but it has a lot of great elements that make it perfect nonetheless. A dangerous heist, a team of thieves, and a whole lot of fun. Also, I’ve always wanted to be an art thief…

4. Trouble Is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly – I gave three-stars to this read, but when I look back, I think it might have deserved four-stars. I don’t know, I go back and forth with this one. The protagonist, Zoe, gets pulled into a bunch of crazy schemes by the eccentric Digby, who is determined to solve the case of a missing girl.

5. On the Fence by Kasie West – So I’m not a big contemporary reader, but I’ve been exploring Kasie West’s books and of the three I’ve picked up, this one is my favorite. Expect a review of this one in the near future as I just finished it a couple of days ago.

Five “Beach Reads” on My TBR:

 alt=

6. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a big contemporary reader, but for the past month, I’ve been craving them. I bought this early in May because it was only like $6 on Amazon and I wanted to give it a try. Hopefully, I’ll pick it up within the next month.

7. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum – After I came across this one on Amazon, it started showing up on a couple of blogs and I’m really itching to get my hands on it. It’s not available to put on hold at the library yet, but when it is, I’m jumping on the opportunity.

8. Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson – What, what is a historical romance novel doing on a list like this? I personally don’t think you have to limit yourself to contemporary romance novels if you’re looking for the perfect beach read. I picked up Edenbrooke not too long ago and really enjoyed it and after searching and searching, I’ve finally gotten my hands on this other novel by her and I intend to read it soon.

9. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – This is the “It” book right now. I confess I really never paid attention to it until I saw the movie trailer and although I hear it’s a tear-jerker, it still sounds like the kind of book that will make you smile, which is exactly what a beach read ought to do. Also, if you do start crying, you can just jump into the water and no one will notice.

10. Your Recommendation! – Since my knowledge of contemporary books is limited pretty much to the earlier works of Sarah Dessen and the more recent novels written by Kasie West, I really need your recommendations for beach reads to pick up this summer. So hit me up in the comments with your favorite contemporary read!

What do you think makes the perfect “beach read”? Are there any nontraditional “beach reads” you’d recommend? Are you a fan of any of these books? Let me know in the comments and leave a link to your own TTT post and I’ll be sure to visit!

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Beach Reads for the Summer

  1. I am not much of Contemporary reader but I have to say Heist Society caught my eye. How can you go wrong with a heist story?? And I personally think it sounds like the perfect type of read for the beach!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love me some contemporaries, but I always gravitate towards the indies so I’m not sure if you’ll have heard of any of my suggestions. My Life Next Door actually made my list, so I hope you enjoy it! On the Fence is on my own TBR list for this summer, it’ll be my first Kasie West! Looking forward to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hardly ever read contemporaries as well, haha, so I can’t really give you a good rec. Maybe Simon vs by Becky Albertalli or something? Everything Everything still sounds interesting, and I’ve heard good things about it. Great list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Heist Society is a perfect beach read! And I’m planning to read On the Fence but I was…on the fence about it because all of Kasie West’s books have been 3 star reads for me so maybe when i need something average

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love Kasie West and Ally Carter. And I really liked My Life Next Door as well. My favorite contemporary is Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. Which is a perfect summer/beach read. Great list, and thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Here’s my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am the same way when it comes to contemporaries! I do not read them usually but if I’m heading on vacation or looking for a lighter read, than they are my go to 😀 Me Before You made my list as well. I’d recommend anything by Kelly Oram for your tenth book. Her newest book If We Were a Movie was a lot of fun. Left me grinning ❤

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • They have been my go-to read for the past month. I’m not sure how long this need for contemporaries will last, but I’m just enjoying a different genre than I’m used to picking up. I haven’t heard of Kelly Oram, but I’m looking her up on Goodreads right now. Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Blackmoore looks really interesting! Probably because I’m really into historical anything right now.

    If you’re looking to get more into contemporary, I’d recommend Morgan Matson’s books, especially The Unexpected Everything and Since You’ve Been Gone. I don’t consider myself a huge contemporary reader, but I thought those were both fantastic!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Her book Edenbrooke was great and I’ve heard Blackmoore is even better. I’ve just added The Unexpected Everything to my TBR. Morgan Matson is a contemporary author I haven’t read yet, but I’m looking forward to doing so. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed them despite not being a big contemporary reader. Gives me hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Everything Everything and The Heist Society are both high up on my TBR and The Heist Society in particular sounds like perfect beach reading to me! I’m about 60% done with Me Before You but I had to turn it back into the library and I’m waiting to get it back. I had no intention of reading it until I saw the movie previews and then there was no way I could resist! So far it’s really good though not 100% what I expected. It does get me thinking but mostly it’s just really sweet without being too sugary. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have so far! And I also hope I get to finish it really soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The cover of Heist Society reminds me of an old film with Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant called “How To Steal a Million Dollars”. This might have to be added to my TBR for that reason alone. And a team of thieves? Oooh, how Ocean’s Eleven of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great list! To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a perfect beach read – its just so cute! On The Fence and My Life Next Door are also two I hope to read soon, and if you looking for some contemporaries I’d definitely recommend any Morgan Matson book or We Were Liars 🙂
    Heres my TTT

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

