May ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

2016

Like I predicted last month, my progress toward my reading challenges did slow down. During the first two weeks of May, I only managed to pick up two books (still can’t explain how this happened). I also had a couple of deadlines come up, which meant I didn’t get a chance to pick up a lot of books that would count toward these challenges. I’ve decided that I won’t be putting a lot of pressure on myself this summer to work toward these numbers because once September rolls around (have you checked out all the new releases for this month alone?), there will be plenty of books to choose from for these challenges. Covers below are linked to my reviews.

~~~

debutchallenge

2016 Debut Author Challenge:

2016 Goal: 12 books

Debut Books Read in May: 1

Overall Progress: 7

The 2016 Debut Author Challenge is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This month I only read Cindy Anstey’s debut Love, Lies and Spies. I wasn’t sure if I should buy this novel because it was a debut, but I thought I’d give it a shot. It was good for the most part, but I think I would have liked it better if it was more focused on who the protagonist was and her interests rather than the romance. Also, does it bug anyone else that this book’s title does not have an Oxford comma?

Debut Books Read This Month:

 alt=

2016 Finishing the Series Challenge:Finishing the Series

2016 Goal: 7 series

Series Finished in May: 1

Overall Progress: 5

The 2016 Finishing the Series Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook. Still don’t know if we’re counting duologies toward this challenge’s goal, but I’ve been counting them. I finished The Wrath & the Dawn duology this month and just really love how Renée Ahdieh writes this love story.

Books Read/Series Finished:

 alt=

2016 Read My Books Challenge:2016 Read My Books

2016 Goal: 30 books

Number of My Books Read in May: 3

Overall Progress: 13

The 2016 Read My Books Challenge is hosted by The Worn Bookmark. I tried to take advantage of my library this month because sometimes I have moments where I worry if I read too many of my own books, I’ll run out. It’s a crazy fear and I know it’s completely irrational, but still I panic. This month I picked up Cindy Antsey’s Love, Lies and Spies, Renée Ahdieh’s The Rose & the Dagger, and The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan from my own books.

Do you ever panic that you’ll run out of books on your shelf to read? How do you feel about the Oxford comma? Feel free to leave a link to your own challenge recap post and I’ll check it out.

15 thoughts on “May ’16: Reading Challenges Recap

  1. As an English major, I despise the thought of book titles (or anything else, really) not using the Oxford comma. It bugs me so much! My boyfriend leaves it out on purpose to tease me. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a freelance copyreader/proofreader and girl I have STRONG FEELINGS about the Oxford comma. That said, clarity trumps grammar nitpickery and so I can forgive its omission here — even if it bugs me! — as opposed to situations like “…my parents, Ayn Rand and God” or “the strippers, JFK and Stalin.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I adore the Oxford comma, and anyone who leaves it to drives me insane! At the moment I’m not afraid that I’ll run out of books on my shelves because I have SO MANY, but someday I’m sure that will be a problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It drives me crazy as well. I’m one of those weird bookworms who has read most of the books on her shelf and that, coupled with the fact that I like to read a lot of library books, means I don’t add enough books to my own library to keep up with the amount of books I read. Does that make sense?

      Like

  4. I think you’re doing so well! I agree; September will offer a plethora of to-die-for books to choose from that will give those challenge numbers an incredible boost. I plan on doing a mid-year update…I’ll know my numbers by June, likely June 30th, and not a day sooner! >_<

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha, no, I don’t worry about running out of books I own. If I stopped buying books altogether and only tried to read books in our personal library, I’d be good for AT LEAST a year, maybe more. It’s true that my husband also buys books, but still. No worries there.
    As for the Oxford comma, I use it pretty consistently but I’m not super passionate about it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

