Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Rate Higher or Lower

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.).” I have this general rule for myself that I’m not allowed to change ratings I’ve given books unless I reread them. This ensures that whatever new feelings I have are not something I’m just inventing inside my head. Despite this rule, changing book ratings is still something I often think about, especially the more time passes and I just can’t recall those feelings I once had when I first read certain books. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Books I’d Rate Lower:

 alt=

1. Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund – I am so in love with the first book in this series, For Darkness Shows the Stars, that I think I was more forgiving about the parts of this sequel that I didn’t enjoy as much.

Original Rating: 5/5; If Rated Today: 4/5

2. The Life of Glass by Jillian Cantor – Ask me what I remember about this book. Yeah, I don’t actually remember anything. I couldn’t tell you one thing about it. I think if you can’t remember anything about a five-star book, it probably doesn’t deserve a five-star rating.

Original Rating: 5/5; If Rated Today: 4/5 or 3/5

3. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – I don’t have quite the love-affair I once had with Cassandra Clare. Her Mortal Intruments series was one of the first YA series I ever got into. I haven’t reread this series, but I have a strong feeling that it probably doesn’t stand the test of time when compared to other series I’ve read.

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 3/5

 alt=

4. The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey – I love, love, love The 5th Wave. I was really looking forward to the sequel and found myself pretty disappointed. I don’t want to go into specifics because of spoilers, but it really bugged me when the first book was 457 pages and this one was only 300. What happened?

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 3/5

5. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch – You know when one great character makes a book feel wonderful? I think this is what happened with me. I love Prince Theron, he immediately breathed life into this book and I forgot about the issues I had with the world-building. Love is blind, people.

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 3/5

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – When this book was first published, I felt an unshakable loyalty to Sarah J. Maas and so things I didn’t like in this novel went unsaid. I’ve recently broken up with her (figuratively) and feel that I can say out loud (without feeling like I’m betraying her writing in some way) that I’m not a fan of the way she writes fae men, either in this series or Throne of Glass. They come across as so possessive and sometimes really aggressive, especially when it comes to their female love-interests, and it just makes me really uncomfortable.

Original Rating: 4/5; If I Rated Today: 3/5

Books I’d Rate Higher:

 alt=

7. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson – My love for this series has grown over the years and I haven’t even had a chance to reread it! I still maintain that I think the final two books are best, but looking back, I think I’d enjoy this first book more the second time around.

Original Rating: 4/5: If Rated Today: 5/5

8. Uprooted by Naomi Novik – I was super impressed with the world-building in this one. And the magical system in this novel is probably one of the favorites I’ve come across. I haven’t gotten around to rereading this one, but I’m pretty sure I would enjoy it more.

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 5/5

9. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – I love this book! I think I love it more with each passing day. I have no real explanation for why I didn’t give it five stars initially, but I’m pretty sure I would today.

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 5/5

10. The Wrath & the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh – I just read the sequel to this one, which I absolutely adored. It gave me a different perspective on this first book and I think it’s the kind of duology that you find more to love about as time passes.

Original Rating: 4/5; If Rated Today: 5/5

Do you ever change ratings after you’ve read books? Do you find that you want to rate most of these books higher or lower? What are some reasons you might have rated a book too high or low initially? Let me know in the comments and leave a link to own TTT post, so I can visit.

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Rate Higher or Lower

  1. Cool list. I really like how you’ve put this one together. Excited to someday read ACOTAR (sorry it wasn’t a great read for you; that’s always a bummer) and have to confess, I’ve never been anxious to jump into Cassandra Clare’s world. After the big- and small-screen adaptations (both of which I did like for various reasons), I read more about the books, and they didn’t seem like my cup of tea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, we clearly think the same because I only change ratings after a reread these days too. But the ones I’d rate lower are usually not the ones I’d reread. Yeah, the Infinite Sea was not the best second book ever. But The Last Star comes out today so hopefully that will redeem the second book a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like how you included ones you would rather lower as well as ones you would rate higher. I definitely would rate City of Bones lower. It was a nice escape from the stresses of college and field experience, but honestly…I had to stop reading the series because I just lost my love for it. I also have similar feelings towards ACOTAR.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a copy of Uprooted on order and when I read ACOTAR, I thought I was odd because I didn’t love it as much as many did. As time has passed, I have seen that I am not the only one who was on the fence. I liked the writing ok, but Feyre bugged the crap out of me!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ROFL, apparently I just trust myself and my initial thoughts, b/c I’ve never considered changing my rating of a book unless I reread it and then find myself feeling differently. I just don’t trust myself enough without actually diving in again. I guess I have feelings that I *might* feel differently if I reread it (like Twilight), but I just wouldn’t trust it until I did reread. Not sure if I’m making sense…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re still not very harsh with your lowered ratings. 🙂 And yeah, I understand your feelings about City of Bones and ACOTAR. Sometimes, I think I rate a book higher just because it’s so READABLE – and Clare and Maas definitely have that going for them.

    By the way, I *just* finished reading Schwab’s This Savage Song and it’s really good.

    Also, I need to get to The Wrath and the Dawn soon, I have it on my Kindle already!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me, harsh? Only when I’m offline 😛 Yes, both are great series if you’re just looking to devour something, but when you look closer, issues arise. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed This Savage Song. I was on the fence about preordering it, but I gave in because I love her Shades of MAgic series. I hope you enjoy the Wrath and the Dawn, it’s wonderful.

      Like

  7. I think quite a few people broke up with Maas after reading A Court of Mist and Fury. I had only read A Court of Thorns and Roses by her, but I agree. I really didn’t like the way she wrote Tamlin or Rhys. Rhys was straight up abusive and really creepy. So the fact that’s he’s the hero of the next book makes my skin crawl….I’ll probably still read it though because I’m glutton for punishment. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually haven’t read ACOMAF, but that’s because I value a positive state of mind and would probably want to throw the book at the wall if I’d read it. Yeah, Tamlin’s behavior was a bit troublesome, but Rhys was down-right horrific and I just can’t put myself in the kind of state of mind needed to forgive his behavior. I’d love to hear what you think about it if you do decide to put yourself through it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You’ve put several books on here that I could’ve listed on my TTT. If I were being completely honest, I could put City of Bones on there, as I KNOW there are issues with it, but it’s just more of a guilty pleasure for me. One of my biggest issues with Clare is that her female leads are kinda all Clary clones and she repeats usual tropes throughout different books. But, I still eat the books up like potato chips, lol.

    I was pretty conflicted with Uprooted. On the one hand, I liked the issue with a malevolent forest, the setting and pretty imagery, but I just couldn’t find myself relating to the characters. The Dragon disappointed me especially, seeing as I thought of him as something akin to The Darkling (who I /adore/ >.>;;)

    Overall, you made an awesome list!!

    Brittany @ Space Between the Spines

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Agreed. Agreed. Agreed…As I was reading through this, I feel like you’ve read my mind!! Ha! Since The Last Star is due out soon, I’d like to focus on The Infinite Sea. If I were to rate it now, I’d probably give it a 3 or 3.5 (it’s currently 4, too). I just felt that the characters I loved in The 5th Wave were gleamed over (chocolatey-eyed Evan of course) and the focus was on RInger. I mean, I like her, too! Still, it’s a slight disappointment. I have my eyes set on May 26th! FINALLY…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m working on a book blitz at the moment so I don’t have to worry about it during Memorial weekend. Happy holidays! Do something fantastic this weekend, Alicia!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

