Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim (however you decide to interpret that (bought or read or something else) — I know most people read based on recommendation but we want to know those books you picked up without really hearing about or knowing much about!).” I used to pick up books on a whim constantly, that is to say that I used to browse my library or the bookstore for an hour (or two) and pick up whatever book sounded or looked interesting. Since I’ve become more involved in the book blogging community, I’ve been using a lot of resources (bloggers, reviews, publishers) to decide which books to pick up, so I haven’t really given into whims recently. I really ought to do it more as I’ve found some really wonderful books doing so. Here are ten books I picked up on a whim and ended up really enjoying. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

 alt=

 alt=

Which books have you picked up on a whim that have become favorites? Do you often browse your library or bookstore or do you stick to recommendations? Let me know in the comments and be sure leave a link to your own TTT post, so I can visit.

**Side Note: This is the final week to sign up for the Comment Challenge for the month of June. We’re pairing bloggers up every month to comment on each other’s blogs. If you’re interested, you can find all the info here. The final day to sign up is the 21st. **

49 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. I haven’t thought of Ally Carter’s series for a while! I read the first two books and I really liked them, the idea of teenage girl spies is really cool. I have to continue with this series someday soon.

    I saw your Comment Challenge and I think it’s an amazing idea, but I don’t have the time to properly commit to it – I’d end up being a bad participant. Next year, maybe? 🙂 I hope it’s a success!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to do more impulse purchases as well at bookstores. I’m with you though. Now that I blog I tend to have a giant list of books I’m interested in getting based on other resources and don’t buy much titles on a whim anymore.

    Wolf by Wolf has always caught my eye. I should probably look into borrowing it from the library.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t love The Scorpio Races as much as I’ve enjoyed Maggie Stiefvater’s other novels, but it was nevertheless a great read. I definitely agree– prior to book blogging, all of my book choices were based on recommendations from friends and family as well as randomly choosing books off of library/bookstore shelves that seemed interesting (or had pretty covers, tbh). Sometimes I like to choose books on a whim when I shop at my local independent bookstore because they have a lot of books I’ve never even heard of before. Just one of the many perks of shopping at physical bookstores!
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great list! I picked the Gallagher Girls book up on a whim as well. I liked the titled and it sounded fun. I really liked it. I also read Wolf by Wolf on a whim just recently. It had a lot of hype when it came out and I didn’t want to read it them but I’m glad I did. It’s one of my top 3 books of 2016 so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Wildwood Dancing”! I’ve wanted to read that for a while, but I haven’t purchased it yet. I picked up “City of Bone” (and most of the rest of the series) on a whim because they were all available some years back at a used bookstore. I eventually ended up giving them away without reading any of them. Eeeks!

    Hope you enjoyed these books!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The demise of my financial life can be blamed on coffee, make-up, and books, and not necessarily in that order. Forget about college 529 funds (that’s like a 403b for college education). So yes, I buy books on a whim. =) I love our local library. I take the boys there often. You don’t understand Alicia (scratch that, you totally do), my sons and I would be blowing through our finances if not for our library. He he.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally understand, the library is a lifesaver when it comes to my reading. Want to hear a crazy statistic? I’ve checked out 350 books from my library over the past four years. Also, I love make-up too. I’m a sucker for new lipsticks and eyeliner. My lipstick collection borders on crazy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • How in the world do you even know that statistic?! Hahaha. I’m a sucker for eyeshadow. 😛 My favorite eyeliner right now is Stila’s waterproof liquid liner in dark brown. Black is too harsh on me. I need the waterproof or else I’d be a raccoon by sundown. And, that’s not pretty Alicia.

        Liked by 1 person

        • My library website has an option where you can keep track of your reading history. It’s eyeopening. Speaking of which, I suck at liquid eyeliner. Like, it’s very sad how awful I am. I stick with pencil and I need black because I can’t find a dark brown that’s dark enough for my eyes. Ah, the pains of being a woman.

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Yeees for Wolf by Wolf! I loved that book. And I’m super glad you included WILDWOOD DANCING – I really enjoyed it as a teen and feel like it’s not often mentioned in the community at all.

    Doing this TTT has made me realise I often stick to recs. I do a bit of browsing but usually it’s the cover/title that seals the deal for me.

    Here’s my list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. By the time I first saw the actual book of CIty of Bones, the last book of the series was already coming out and Tumblr was full of that series. It’s a shame. Maybe I would have liked the series better if I had picked it up on a whim.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

