Armchair BEA: Surviving Fictional Worlds

armchairbeaWhat, Armchair BEA is almost over? I can’t believe it! This is our final post before we wrap up everything tomorrow and I’m not ready to say goodbye. I’m really excited about today’s topic, thinking about how we would fit into the fictional worlds we read about is always such an interesting thing to discuss. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

Surviving Fictional Worlds

Today we’ll talk about surviving fictional worlds. We all know that sometimes, the worlds we love in fiction can be dangerous. Which fictional worlds would you want to live in? Which worlds do you never want to dive into? Which worlds are you content to stay behind the glass, so to speak, rather than wishing to dive through the page? And once you get there, what would you do?

I’m going to tackle the obvious and say that I’d love to live in the Wizarding World. The Harry Potter series is such an important part of who I am as a reader. I’ve never loved a series as much as HP and I don’t know if anything will ever compare. I have taken various online quizzes to discover which house I belong to and they all say I’m a Ravenclaw. I love books and discovering new things and truth be told, I’m not as brave as a Gryffindor, as driven as a Slytherin, or as kind as a Hufflepuff.

Beside HP, I also wouldn’t mind being a part of the Raven Cycle world created by Maggie Stiefvater. I have a bit of a love affair with her characters. Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah are too precious for words and I’d be more than happy to help them search for Glendower. And I know it would be super dangerous, but I would love to be a part of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic series about a magician who can travel to different worlds. Just need to get my hands on a magical coat…

 alt=  alt=  alt=

If you really consider it, most book universes are pretty dangerous. Whether it’s evil rulers, blood-thirsty monsters, or a truly twisted world philosophy, most of our books take place in universes that are very unpleasant and if we’re honest, most of us probably wouldn’t survive. I recently did a Top Ten Tuesday entitled Futuristic Societies I Want No Part Of. Included is Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. I love zombies. I love zombie books, movies, and tv shows, but I would not want to live in a world where the dead rise and chase after me. No thank you.

How I’d survive: Grab a weapon and start swinging. Kidding. Kind of.

Another fictional world that I’d never want to live in is the Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness. The whole concept of this world revolves around the fact that men’s thought are broadcast aloud for the whole world to hear. I do not need this in my life. I get tired of hearing what men think when they can control their own mouths, who knows what I’d hear if it was completely unfiltered.

How I’d survive: Invest in a good pair of noise-canceling headphones.

Another story I would not like to fall into is Barry Lyga’s I Hunt Killers about a boy trying to outrun his father’s legacy as world’s most infamous serial killer. I spent so much time while reading this whole series yelling at the characters because I could not believe some of the decisions they made. It was like watching a horror film and seeing the characters investigate a noise in the basement.

How I’d survive: Get out of town quick.

Which fictional worlds would you like to be part of? Which would you run away from very quickly? How would you survive in a dangerous fictional universe? If you’re participating in Armchair BEA, leave a link to your post and I’ll visit!

13 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Surviving Fictional Worlds

  1. I agree, the worlds of HP, the Raven Cycle, ADSOM would be amazing to be apart of. Great points for those you don’t – and may I also add A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games to that list.

    By the way, originally on Pottermore I was sorted into Gryffindor and the second time when that was brought back I was sorted into Hufflepuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Armchair BEA 2016: Wrap-Up Post | A Kernel of Nonsense

  3. I recently re-took the Pottermore quiz, and it gave me Slytherin. I’ve always been a Ravenclaw though, and so (like a Slytherin) I deleted my account and re-took it and got the correct result. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

