The Friday 56, #112: The Raven Boys

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join us every Friday and share an excerpt from a book you’ve been reading.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Do you know how much Gansey senior is worth? I wonder if he knows what his kid spends all his time on. Man, sometimes these entitles little bastards make me want to slit my wrists.”

Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle series is one of my favorite series in the whole world. I cannot get enough of these characters and was so sad that the final book was released only a couple of weeks ago. I devoured it, by the way. This week I’m spotlighting the first book in the series, The Raven Boys. I’ll finally be posting a proper review in the coming days. This excerpt is a conversation that takes place between a couple of teachers and a secretary at a very rich private school and they are beside themselves because one of the students is obsessed with locating the Welsh King Glendower who disappeared hundreds of years ago. I tell ya, rich kids and their hobbies. Cover is linked to Goodreads.

20 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #112: The Raven Boys

    • WordPress is awful when it comes to Javascript widgets, so for the Goodreads widget, you have to update it yourself. So every once in a while I replace the code with the new one on Goodreads. Let me know if you need any assistance and I’ll walk you through it.

      Like

        • If you go into your Acoount Settings on Goodreads, there is an option for widgets and at the very bottom is the code for your reading challenge progress. You’ve just got to copy and paste that for the sidebar, the only caveat is you have to update it because it won’t do it by itself because of WordPress’ restrictions on javascript.

          Like

  1. I read this one and was like meh…. I am gonna read this other book I have here, Dream Thieves, I think, but am not sure if I will love it. Glad you did though, you are definitely with the majority on this one. 🙂 Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man I feel the same way! What would we be without those rich kids?
    Anyways, I reread the first book and made notes while reading and I’ve put them in a post, maybe you’ll be interested in checking them out…

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

