Kernels of Nonsense: When An Author Keeps Disappointing You

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a bimonthly discussion feature where I talk various bookish and blogging related topics. This past week I made a decision to not continue one of my favorite author’s series and it made me realize that it might be best to give her up altogether.

This discussion comes with a fair amount of warnings, but I promise I will mention them before diving in. This post will also be pretty ranty as I feel the need to vent, so if that’s not something you like, bail now! My number one warning is this: if Sarah J. Maas is your favorite author ever and you feel animosity toward those who might disagree with you, I apologize, but please don’t read this post.

Warning: Spoilers Ahead. The following section contains spoilers for the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas through Queen of Shadows. Please do not continue if you haven’t read and don’t want the series spoiled for you.

I am a big fan of the first few books in Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series. Crown of Midnight remains a favorite book of mine. I love the world-building and feel that Maas has improved on that aspect as the series has continued. I’ve also really enjoyed the side characters she’s introduced along the way. Celaena was a character that grew before your eyes and I loved seeing how her relationship with Chaol and Dorian evolved in the first couple of books. There was so much to like about these three characters and how important they became to each other. As most of you know, there is very large shift in the story with the fourth book Queen of Shadows. Our Celaena finally embraces who she really is as Aelin Galathynius, the rightful heir of Terrasen, and while I fully supported this, Maas also chose to go in several different directions with her characters and their relationships that felt incongruent when compared to the previous three books.

Let’s get it out of the way. I have and probably always will ship Celaena and Chaol. I shipped them in the first book when she was with Dorian, I shipped them in the second, and I hoped and prayed while reading the third. I don’t think you could rightly convince me with these first three books that Maas was looking to go in another direction. I feel that because it was always so clear who Celaena was going to end up with, Maas had to change certain aspects of her series in Queen of Shadows in order for readers to embrace this entirely new direction.

Rowan became Aelin’s love interest. As a firm Chaolaena supporter, I was heartbroken. This isn’t the first time one of my ships has crashed and burned, but it was the first time that I felt kind of used. Let me explain. It’s hard for me to fathom why Maas spent three books building up a relationship she was just going to cast aside. It’s not even the romantic aspect of Chaol and Celaena’s relationship that I’m most upset about, it’s the way they suddenly began to hate and mistreat each other in Queen of Shadows. When they were in the same room, they became characters I didn’t recognize and frankly didn’t like. One of my criticisms about this fourth book is that both suddenly took on different personalities without any proper build-up, making me wonder if I had missed about a hundred pages of character development (or regression in this case). A large part of me feels like Maas purposefully turned these two against each other in order to further Aelin’s romance with Rowan. It’s something I don’t believe was necessary because this is what happened, the fandom began to hate Chaol. A character that I always felt was essential to both Dorian and Celaena’s development and who suddenly became a casualty in Maas pursuit of a different ship.

Queen of Shadows virtually undid everything that Maas built in the first books. Like I said before, Celaena finally embracing her identity as Aelin was always going to happen, but I didn’t understand how the character so effortlessly dismissed who she was when she was Celaena. Suddenly, she wanted Dorian dead and she never loved Chaol at all, and all those years as Celaena meant nothing. While the first three books made Chaol and Dorian vital characters, their storylines took a backseat. Chaol’s character development, especially where it concerned his father and the deal he made to go home to Anielle, just sort of fell by the wayside. Dorian spent Heir of Fire learning about his magic abilities, only to do nothing but be imprisoned for the entirety of Queen of Shadows. These were two major character in the first three books who suddenly didn’t feel so important anymore.

At the end of Queen of Shadows, I found myself asking…what was the point? Why did Maas invest so much page time into a ship that was going nowhere? Why did she suddenly change her mind when it came to the direction Chaol was going in? Why was it so necessary to turn Chaol and Calaena against each other rather than letting them have an amicable end? Why was Dorian regulated to a damsel-in-distress when he was a main character in the first three books?

I still admire Maas’s world-building ability. I love how she works in so many interesting minor characters (Manon Blackbeak, anyone?). But it’s hard for me to love a series that has jerked me around emotionally with no real payoff and that has taken beloved characters and turned them into people I no longer recognize.

Empire of Storms, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will be released in September and though I’m no longer as in love with this series as I used to be, there are still several characters that I care strongly for. But I don’t feel quite the same kind of excitement I used to and at some point I know I’m going to have to decide whether it’s worth it for me to buy the book or simply check it out from the library because as much as I want to see what happens to characters like Dorian and Chaol, I’m not sure Maas is as invested as I am in these characters anymore.

Warning: Spoilers Ahead. The rest of this discussion post contains spoilers for A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. If you do not want to know what occurs in these two books, skip the rest of this post and go directly to the questions at the end.

Unfortunately, Sarah J. Maas has a thing for laying the foundation for one ship and then taking a sledgehammer to it in the next book in order to build up another. I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses. As a lose retelling of Beauty and the Beast, seeing Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship grow was truly rewarding. Feyre goes through so much in order to rescue him, you can’t help but believe in the staying power of their relationship.

But I am no fool, reading the first book, it became clear that Maas was setting up her story to explore Feyre’s relationship with Rhysand. It didn’t matter that this first book was focused on Feyre and Tamlin. It didn’t matter that Feyre was undergoing some of the hardest trials imaginable in order to save Tamlin because she loved him. Maas was never going to let these two have a happy ending when Rhysand was there waiting in the wings.

I’ve seen a lot of arguments about Rhysand as a character. A lot of people have a problem with him and feel that his behavior toward Feyre should be considered sexual harassment. I’m not going to make that argument here, it’s an entire post for another time, but I will say that I did feel largely uncomfortable while reading Feyre and Rhysand’s scenes together, especially considering that while there was a whole lot of sexual tension between the two, Feyre was basically being held prisoner, making the whole thing feel like a case of Stockholm Syndrome.

For the past year I’ve been dreading A Court of Mist and Fury. I’ve been debating with myself for month about preordering it and finally came to a decision that I was going to hold off. A few days ago I was glancing at my Goodreads feed and someone had liked a one-star review of the sequel. Curiosity got the better of me and I read it and all my fears about the book were confirmed. Maas once again abandoned one ship in exchange for another. Everything build between Feyre and Tamlin in the first book was thrown out the window. Not only that but she also changes Tamlin’s character completely in order to make this happen. There are so many things about this type of storytelling that I hate. I can’t go from loving a character to hating him in the span of one book, especially when the transition feels convenient, rather than a natural evolution of the character.

And it kind of makes me want to scream. It was one thing to do it with Throne of Glass and if there were a few changes made to Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows, I would have probably bought into the direction she took the characters, but to do it again with A Court of Mist and Fury makes it feel very deliberate on Maas’ part. I do not understand the point of building up relationships and characters if you’re just going to dismiss all that in the next book. Now I find myself asking if I should expect the same in her next series. I value the hard-fought ships, so I can’t see myself investing in yet another relationship that is so ephemeral. I’m at the point where I’m not sure I can trust her writing and I’m beginning to realize that I’ve fallen out of love with her as an author.

Have you ever given up on an author before? Have you ever read a series where an author takes a character in a direction you don’t agree with? How do you feel when an author jumps ships? Do you have an opinion on Sarah J. Maas’s storytelling? Do I sound too bitter in this post or just the right amount? Let discuss in the comments!

30 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense: When An Author Keeps Disappointing You

  1. I’m assuming this is the discussion post you mentioned on Twitter? 😀 I do really enjoy her books, but don’t worry, I’m not easily offended. Personal preferences, right? You can’t dictate what someone else should like, and therefore it is best to accept it without argument. (I should be a philosopher, let’s be real).

    Anyway, I haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury, so I didn’t read that section. I do see your point on Throne of Glass though! It’s hard to understand the lines that connect book 4 with the previous 3. It’s a bit like the bonds were severed? I will be reading the next book, because I do enjoy the story line, but I definitely understand your point.

    When I first read ACOTAR, I was really in love. Now, while I realize I enjoyed it, I’m not dying to read A Court of Mist and Fury. I probably will read it, it’s just not a priority right now.

    I think this discussion reminds me of The Mortal Instruments. I was okay with book 1-3. I didn’t love them, but I quite enjoyed them still. When I read book 4 though, I was like: no. This isn’t necessary. I haven’t continued since, and probably never will. To me, that was a totally different direction too, and I just didn’t want to deal with it…

    I think this is a great post Alicia!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Yes, this was the post. I let myself have a couple of days before I glance at what I had written and I must say, I sound so much more rational after editing it. I love your diplomatic attitude, more people need to embrace such a philosophy. Yes, it did feel like all those bonds I loved in the first three books were cut by Maas and when you love a series as much as I did, it felt really disheartening to see her take this new path, especially when it was so hard to connect the dots as to why. I will probably read Empire of Storms, but as for ACOMAF, I’m going to pass, but I still would love to hear your take on it in the future.

      I pretty much felt the same way about the Mortal Instruments. I thought book three was enough to end the series, so I never felt interested in continuing. I never picked up the fourth book, so I’m not privy to the new direction, but the first three books presented so much drama and while I enjoyed it, it was down right exhausting, and I always imagined the next three held just as much drama (if not more). Thanks so much, Jolien!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel like a lot more people should have a diplomatic attitude about most things in life. It would make for a happier Earth! You’re right though. I love the series too, and I even changed my mind about Chaol too, although I adored him at first. As for the TMI series… To me, the fourth book felt like an unnecessary amount of drama and “battle against evil” tacked on at the end. Like the bug you try to kill but is somehow still alive after hitting it twice. I know that sounds rude, and I really don’t mean to be. Many people love the series. I’m just not one of them.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I wholeheartedly agree, if you hit a bug twice with your shoe, it should definitely stay dead. I’m not sure if it was the author’s idea or the publisher’s when it was decided to extend that series, but her books still remain quite popular, so I suppose it was a smart idea on their part. I don’t think you sound rude at all, just blunt, which doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

          Like

  2. Great post! Mercedes Lackey is one of my all-time favourite authors, but I stopped buying her books a few years ago because with each new one I became less and less of a fan. I feel like her writing style has changed so much, and she’s focusing on a few series that I really can’t get into, so I decided to quit while I was still enjoying her books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s really interesting and probably one of the most disappointing things that can happen as a bookworm. When you love an author, you want to devour everything, but then to discover that you no longer love their work, it’s like having to let go of a good friend. At least you can hang on to those old favorites!

      Like

  3. Awesome post Alicia! =) Where do I even begin to respond? haha
    I was already pretty skeptical of Maas’s books from the start when I first read the immensely overhyped Throne of Glass. I thought it was ok and then I read Crown of Midnight which I loved and then I read Heir of Fire..lol which I thought was ok. The thing that annoys me about her plotting is that she seems to think of each book as a standalone even if it’s part of a series. With Heir of Fire, I thought the worldbuilding was pretty good but why suddenly dump all this information in ONE book. It would have felt so much more organic if she had put little pieces here and there of worldbuilding. I guess it would have been fine if suddenly she didn’t also develop the entire witch? (Blackbeak) culture and world in ONE book as well. Like no..
    I also really hate that some plot points or backstories are just randomly placed there which seems like she just thought them up on the spot and wrote it down without regards to the previous books.
    On another note, I think I have fallen out of love with Cassandra Clare’s books. I was pretty much disenchanted after City of Heavenly Fire and will not read Lady Midnight even though I’ve heard it’s the best one of her books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds like you’ve had quite a rollercoaster of a relationship with Maas. There is that major shift in Heir of Fire as well where her universe just explodes open and while I loved it, I did wonder why it wasn’t something she really included in the first two books. There does seem to be a dissociation (is that the right word?) with how she writes her characters because though I do love the growth, there are some things that occur that just felt off when you considered what we did know of them in the previous books. Relationships were suddenly romantic when they weren’t five minutes ago, characters no longer had as much relevance, character arcs that were moving one direction suddenly deviate in another, and it’s all very frustrating to me.

      I’ve also taken a step back (way back) from Cassandra Clare’s books as well. I only finished the first three books in her Mortal Instruments series and didn’t think any more books were necessary, then I was hugely underwhelmed by her Infernal Devices series, so I’ll probably wait till she writes something else that doesn’t take place in the Shadowhunter world (something I have my doubts about).

      Like

  4. Alicia, no worries about people disagreeing with you. If any trolls drop by and say hurtful things, just say “Thank you for your opinion” and leave them be. Or, you know, delete their comments. It’s your blog – and you don’t have to suffer rude and nasty people here.

    I didn’t read the second half of the post because my copy of A Court of Mist and Fury hasn’t arrived yet but I will bookmark this and come back once I’ve read it. I really want to know your thoughts!

    The first part, however, is very close to what I’ve been experiencing during my read of Queen of Shadows. I thought that maybe the series was first planned as a trilogy and then got extended into a 6-book thing because of its success – that would explain Heir of Fire and the shift in ships, though I’m not saying it’s a good thing! But Celaena staying with Chaol from Book 2 onward would possibly become boring by the time we reached Book 6. I was a Chaolena fan, too, and Queen of Shadows just ruined things for me.

    I think it’s hard to have an unpopular opinion with books that have such a big (and, dare I say it, rabid) following. So I understand your apprehension about people reading this and feeling hurt. But we are entitled to have different opinions – and though it’s disappointing to see an author take a direction you don’t like, especially after putting so much time and money into reading these books, it just happens sometimes. I know I’ll be reading both series to their ends (do we know how many ACOTAR books there will be? I’m hoping no more than 3…) but I will only be picking up any new series by Maas if bloggers I trust will say they’re worth my trouble.

    Lovely, lovely post, as always! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such supporting words, Kaja. I don’t expect too much animosity, but just to be safe, I put the warning out there. I am already dying for you to read A Court of Mist and Fury just so I can hear your opinion, but I’ll try to be patient 😉

      Yes, I’m not sure what exactly happened with the Throne of Glass series. I’m thinking that you might be right about it being extended because like another blogger commented, there was some major info dump in Heir of Fire that didn’t seem necessarily relevant in the first two books. I suppose we’ll never really know. I see your point about a ship lasting more than a few books and I wonder if this is because of the fixation a lot of books have with the “chase” side of a romance rather than the maintenance of one, if that makes sense.

      I’ve come across some zealous arguments with regard to Maas’ problematic male love interests. I didn’t even touch on any of that as people can sometimes take things far too personally and in the end you can’t have a rational conversation with someone who is irrational. I think ACOTAR is a trilogy if I’m not mistaken. Thanks so much!

      Like

      • So! I just finished writing my own review for ACOMAF, so I could now read the rest of your post without fear of “contaminating” my opinion. I shouldn’t have worried, though, because it’s pretty much the same as yours. :/ WHY did I bother rooting for Tamlin if he was going to turn into such a beast? *ugh*
        And yeah, Feyre and Rhys had a pretty awful relationship in book 1 but Maas explains some of that in ACOMAF. It doesn’t mean I’m happy with it – I don’t subscribe to the “the end justifies the means” mentality.
        Yeah. Disappointing.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m going to hop on over and read your review right now. I just don’t understand the point and I completely agree with you, I’m not into the whole “he only did it because such and such” as a good enough excuse for past behavior.

          Like

  5. Really interesting post Alicia! I’m not as ardent a Chaolaena shipper as you are, but a lot of your thoughts on Queen of Shadows echoed my own thoughts about it, I wasn’t keen on the Rowaelin romance because I loved them as friends and it infuriates me when authors can’t just have male and female characters be friends. I also complained about the change in Aelin and Chaol’s characters, and the backseat that Chaol and Dorian took in QOS. I still enjoyed Queen of Shadows but there was definitely something about it that I didn’t like as much as the previous two books (I say previous two because I wasn’t all that keen on the first book). I will be reading Empire of Storms because I’ve invested so much time in this story and these characters that I want to read the series to its conclusion, but I’m a little more wary than I was before. As for ACOTAR, I wasn’t that keen on it, I couldn’t click with Feyre and ultimately wasn’t that invested in her relationship with Tamlin, plus there was too much detail on the sex aspect of the book. I’m still going to read ACOMAF, but my expectations this time are much lower. I hope no one gives you a hard time about this well articulated and well thought out post, just because they don’t share your views.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I so agree with you about Celaena’s and Rowan’s relationship shifting from platonic to romantic so suddenly. I thought it was pretty clear how Maas was going to move forward with their relationship in Heir of Fire. Yes, it’s so difficult to read books where an author can’t allow men and women to be friends and Throne of Glass is a great example of this. It really isn’t a criticism of Celaena for having so many romantic love interests, but a failing of the author in my opinion. Wary is exactly how I feel about the fifth book because I want so much to see the characters I love treated with care, but I’m not sure if Maas feels the same anymore about these characters. ACOTAR is marketed as YA, but I think it has much more in common with NA (which explains the much more explicit sex scenes), but hasn’t been treated as such because of her previous work. Thank you, I appreciate that so much!

      Like

      • No problem! I totally agree, I was excited when Rowan was first introduced in HOF, because I thought, finally Celaena has a platonic male friend so I was shocked to say the least with the direction Maas went with their relationship in QOS (I think she did it because she personally prefers Rowan over Chaol if that makes sense?) No I agree, it’s definitely a failure on the part of the author rather than the character having so many romantic interests. It’s nice to talk to someone equally sceptical about the fifth book, I feel like so many other TOG fans loved the last book and weren’t as sceptical about it as I was, so therefore aren’t as wary about book 5! I wish they had marketed ACOTAR as NA rather than YA, it would have been nice to have prior warning about the explicit sex scenes, given that I don’t exactly love them!

        Liked by 1 person

        • I tend to agree, I think Maas took a liking to Rowan and that’s when it was decided to move past the Chaol romance storyline. Male-female platonic relationships are so rare, which can be so frustrating. Sometimes I just think there are too many men in the series to begin with and wish there were more female characters in the series. I’m glad to find so many people who feel the same as I do about Queen of Shadows, it can be rather lonely in the sea of Maas enthusiasts. And since you’re not too fond of explicit sex scenes, I’m going to warn you that I read that ACOMAF contains quite a bit as well.

          Like

  6. I tried reading A Court of Thorns and Roses and pretty much hated it. I own Throne of Glass, but haven’t read it yet..and I don’t think I want to now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s too bad about A Court of Thorns and Roses, but it might be best that you didn’t continue. I hate to say don’t read Throne of Glass at all, but I have so many issues with the later books, it’s also difficult for me to say go for it anyway. I will say that I love the first two books immensely, so at least they are worth reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lots of good points. I am not a huge Maas fan. I only read the first book in the Throne and Glass series and I didn’t like it and never went further. I did read ACOTAR and thought it was ok, but, like you, I read a review with spoilers in it for the next book and I’m in no hurry to read it now. I always liked Rhysand more than Tamlin, so I’m ok with the ship jump, but I agree that making Tamlin into a jerk shouldn’t be necessary.
    Have you ever read the Shatter Me series? (Spoilers to follow!!!)
    In book one I LOVED Adam and in book two I still liked him even though he grew a little annoying (and I was totally Team Warner by then), but in book three Adam’s character was totally unrecognizable from the first couple books. I thought Mafi changed his character way too much, just so EVERYONE would be Team Warner and no one would feel bad for Adam and I don’t think it had to be that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t blame you for not being in a hurry to read ACOMAF. It almost feels like Maas is telling two separate stories rather than one. My issue with Tamlin and Rhysand has less to so with how much I like them and more to do with consistency in storytelling and after Throne of Glass, it’s driving me insane. I’ve only read the first book in the Shatter Me series and wasn’t a fan of the protagonist or the romance, so I never continued, but it sounds like the same thing that happened with Maas. I don’t think it’s necessary to turn a love interest into something unrecognizable because you want to pursue a different ship, I think it’s just poor writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hello, Alicia! You are entitled to your opinions and you should stand by what you believe in. I am very impressed that you took the step to discuss this and don’t worry, as a huge Sarah J. Maas fanboy, I am not offended by what you’ve written.

    I guess jumping ships hasn’t been a huge problem for me, because I am such a whore when it comes to book boyfriends. But I don’t know how much this will make sense, but as I was reading Throne of Glass, like Celaena, I fell for Dorian for who he was, and the same happened when Celaena developed feelings for Chaol. The same happened with Rowan, because I was so emotionally invested in Celaena’s journey of love, I fell right into step with it.

    What you said about how the relationships should have been dealt with differently, that, I concur. Because I did wonder what happened in Queen of Shadows when Aelin and Chaol couldn’t even stand each other. Was it because she’s changed when she embraced her role as Queen of Terrasen? Or was it because of how differently Chaol saw Aelin after what happened?

    I am just about to finish ACOMAF and I feel like it was very well-explained, how everything panned back to ACOTAR. If you haven’t read ACOMAF, I really don’t want to spoil it for you.

    Nevertheless, this has been quite a thought-provoking read, Alicia! I look forward to your next discussion!

    PS. Empire of Storms is the fifth book in the series, by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate you’re willingness to discuss this topic even though our opinions don’t align. Your bluntness with regards to book boyfriends made me laugh. I too began to care about the characters, but tend to only focus a single character in a series when it involves the romance. Maybe it’s a character flaw, it’s a definite preference, but I find romance that can stand the test of time more moving than those that fizzle out so quickly.

      With regard to Aelin and Chaol, the whole shift felt so jarring because we weren’t shown why but told this was just how it was going to be. It didn’t really makes sense to me and it really bugged me that one of their arguments was about Dorian, someone they both loved, but only Chaol wanted to fight for him. I just couldn’t believe that Aelin was so willing to let him die.

      I probably won’t be picking up ACOMAF, but I’m happy you’re satisfied with it. And thank you, Empire of Storms in the fifth book in the series, whoops.

      Like

  9. Ah well, if it doesn’t work out, then, it doesn’t work out. I’ve only read ToG, which was a good start but not by any means phenomenal. I would like to one day read more or complete that series and so I had to skip the paras where you warned me about spoiler alerts. 😛 That’s very considerate of you. Though, my eyes just show something about somebody (a him) die. *wailing* So, before I find any more partial spoilers, I’m signing out. But, yes, now that I’ve read so many good books, I am more critical of Maas, and any other previous authors I’ve read for that matter. You’ve given Maas so many opportunities to whoo you. I’d say this is a fair break-up. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I’m so sorry, this post is full to the brim with spoilers! I’m going to reassure you and tell you that the “die” comment was not a spoiler per se, but just a reference that one character was okay with another dying. I’m afraid this does officially end my love affair with Maas, so sad, but sometimes you just got to move on. I would be interested in hearing your thoughts when you do finish the Throne of Glass series.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Whew! For a moment I thought for sure it was Chaol or Dorian. And, the world is right again. You’re my heroine, Alicia. He he he. You bet I will be dishing out some thoughts when I get to the books. Thank goodness books don’t expire.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Rate Higher or Lower | A Kernel of Nonsense

  11. Excellent post! I agree with your view on Throne of Glass – I really felt a shift in the third book in terms of it moving from character driven to plot driven, but I felt in Queen of Shadows that Chaol was thrown under a bus in order to develop the relationship between Celaena and Rowan. One thing that I admire and hate in equal measure about Maas, is that I find myself shipping whichever relationship she puts forward, even when I don’t want to. I was completely against Celaena and Rowan initially, but I gradually came to understand their attraction, but also how that relationship would work because Rowan understands who Celaena is, whereas Chaol struggles with the essence of who she is, which would only cause a very difficult relationship. The thing about Celaena is this will be her third big love, and that’s unrealistic in my opinion. How often does someone have three white knights waiting around for them? Lol I still hold out hope for Chaol and Celaena, but I don’t see how it can go back now. I really want to read the whole series when it’s all released, as I’m wondering if then it’ll be easier to see the shift and understand it.

    Now, on the other hand in ACOMAF, I am all for Rhys and Feyre. A lot of these books seem to attract reviewers who can spot all sorts of abuse in the relationships, and I read loads of reviews that slammed Tamlin, so now that Rhys is being slammed, I’m like guys, come on?! In ACOMAF I have to say, you can CLEARLY see how the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin is flawed. I am ALL OVER Feyre and Rhys. There is a support network, fantastic friendships, CONSENT, and such a wonderful romance. Tamlin and Feyre pale in comparison. Like first love and the sacrifices you make for it, and then you discover that you were being naive. That’s what Tamlin and Feyre were. That and they’re both basically suffering from PTSD in the story, and it’s changed their dynamic, as life-altering events can do to any relationship. The freedom also seems to have brought back the “true” Tamlin. For me, although it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling, it’s more like Maas messed with that trope, and Tamlin isn’t the beast, he’s Gaston. Have you read it yet?? R xx

    Like

  12. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May ’16 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  13. Pingback: 7th Annual End of the Year Book Survey | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

